We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & plenty of thoughtful touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
About Melbourne Apartments
Ranked #24 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location & plenty of thoughtful touches”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed in one of the larger apartments for 2 nights. Everything was easy, including me checking in at a later time and the location is fantastic. The apartments are filled with pretty much anything you might need during your stay, including an umbrella. It was great having a washing machine & dryer (with nice eco-store washing powder supplied). I especially liked the Boise iPod dock and the fantastic selection of dvds. Everything is spotless and of a good quality. Great view from the deck too. Just beautiful. I highly recommend About Melbourne, and have done so to colleagues, clients & friends. I think they've managed to pry me away from The Lindrum. Only thing was no internet. I couldn't find any information about this in the info folder but didn't actually enquire about it, so it may well be easily available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our Penthouse Apartment, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

At this stage About Melbourne Apartments do not provide WiFi Internet access - due to the location of our apartments (in a residential building) and the distance between our apartments (levels 1 to 9) providing a secure internet connection over so many floors is too costly at this stage and as we would prefer to keep our rates reasonable and not pass these costs onto guests we have chosen not to provide this service at this time. Thankfully Melbourne city is full of wireless hot spots, however it is something we shall keep in mind for the future.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
74
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A home away from home. Very reasonable and great service. Wouldn't think twice about staying anywhere else in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdroQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Public Relations Manager at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The apartment was clean and very modern including every appliance I could imagine wanting over the stay.
The location was fantastic and there were some great restaurants in the area. It was also right near a tram station making it really easy to get out to other areas of Melbourne.
Beds were comfy and it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner/Manager at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in February, the apartment was beautifully furnished in a modern sleek way. It was well equipped and had everything needed, laundry etc. ,downsides,no WiFi was a big problem for us but we were lucky enough to be in an apartment which picked up a nearby hotels free signal! The noisiest bottle thrower in Melbourne works in the restaurant across the lane and every hour or so in the evening would throw bottles into the recycling bin.
This did not detract at all from the great stay we had in this apartment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnBsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Manager at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that the lack of WiFi provided was an inconvenience during your stay, however we do clearly advertise that WiFi is NOT provided (nor has it ever been) in our apartments, in hopes that guests that must have access to WiFi whilst they are traveling will chose an alternate accommodation option that better suits their needs. We hope to add WiFi to our list of features in the near future, but at this stage given our location in a residential building there is not a suitable solution available at this stage.
With regards to noise we are sometime subjected to, it is just one of those wonderful things that comes with our central Melbourne city location! We always like to remind guests that noise complaints can be always be made from 11pm onwards to Victoria Police, or can simply be tolerated as part of the Melbourne City experience!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We've stayed at About Melbourne apartments three times now - I have to go there every 6 weeks for work - and this is by far and away the nicest spot of all the places I've tried. The location is truly fantastic, close to Chinatown, two great bars just across the road and loads of great cafes within easy reach. But it's still quite and peaceful with a lovely urban outlook.

The apartment itself is perfect, spacious and well equipped. There's a supermarket in a gaudy shopping centre just around the corner where you can buy provisions, although you have basic breakfast stuff.

The only problem is the ridiculously noisy and ineffective air conditioner. Melbourne can get ridiculously hot in summer and we were there for a few days of mid to high-30s temperature. With the unit on, we could only get the room temperature down to 26 degrees. And it's so loud you can't talk. If you can sleep with the sound of a jet engine in your room, you won't be perturbed by it. Unfortunately, my partner was and had to sleep for two nights on a sweaty leather couch. By our final day, she really had had enough and couldn't wait to leave.

I'd highly recommend AM but if you're going in summer, request a room on the eastern side of the building so you avoid the afternoon sun. Any other time of the year, the western side would be fine, and you get to sit on the balcony and enjoy the street life of the restaurants and bars. The western side is quieter and features a view into the lives of over-worked, under-paid architects. If you're not in that profession, this aspect can be quite uplifting in its own peculiar way.

I've probably stayed in over 40 different places in Melbourne over the years and this beats every other place hands down for its location and homely feel. As long as it isn't sweltering, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Go for the eastern side if it's hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Manager at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We were sorry to hear that the air-conditioning in the room was of such a disturbance to you during your stay! Sadly your stay fell through what can only be described as Melbourne heatwave weather of temperatures in the high 30's over a consecutive number of days. Unfortunately our building does not have central heating/cooling an oversight by the architects next door, and the installation of split system cooling is strictly regulated by Melbourne City Council and not possible in some of our apartments, hence the need for portable vented air-conditioners.
We do acknowledge that these can be quite noisy if operating at maximum capacity during this type of weather, as both our East and West facing apartments all suffer from the same problem during heatwave weather, even those with fitted quiet split system cooling sometimes struggle, as all receive direct morning or afternoon sun. To date we have made every attempt to heat and cool each of our apartments to the best of our ability using the most appropriate equipment available to us at the time, and will continue to do this in future. Meanwhile we thank goodness that Melbourne is only subjected to this type of extreme heat for only a few days of the year!

Thankfully Melbourne is now back to normal reasonable temperatures, but please rest assured we are already investigating new quieter cooling options for our apartments prior to the onset of next Summer, so as to ensure the most comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We arrived in Melbourne on a sweltering 37-degree day, and our About Melbourne apartment was an oasis of calm and coolness! Sleek design and comfortable features, combined with a great laneway location, made this a winner for us. Particularly appreciated the decent toiletries and quality linen - it is the little things that made this place stand out. We used the apartment as a base for our food and wine adventures, and nipped across to Crossley Lane most night for gin cocktails at Gingerboy. Despite the bars and restaurants that shared the lane with us, our first floor apartment was surprisingly quiet on Friday and Saturday night - a definite plus!

Melbourne is one of our favourite cities, and we'll definitely be back to About Melbourne apartments again. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Manager at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our apartments, we greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests.
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My sister and I brought my 15yr old daughter and friend down for her birthday. The apartment was fantastic. It was within easy walking distance to lygon street, chinatown, bourke street mall, and any of the theatres. I loved the New York style feel particularly with the balcony looking over the quaint laneway. We will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room looking over the laneway for a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Executive Management at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our apartments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments.

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
590 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#103 of 160 in Melbourne
191 reviews
Chinatown
Punthill Little Bourke
Punthill Little Bourke
#6 of 138 in Melbourne
701 reviews
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to About Melbourne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about About Melbourne Apartments

Property: About Melbourne Apartments
Address: 16 Liverpool Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — About Melbourne Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Melbourne Apartments is a boutique accommodation business, supplying AAA Tourism Four **** Star rated modern, spacious, luxurious One and Two Bedroom self-contained apartments to accommodate both the corporate and leisure traveler to Melbourne. About Melbourne Apartments are located in the east "Paris End" of Melbourne CBD, in a residential building designed by renowned architecture firm Daryl Jackson. The building is located in Liverpool Street, a lane way which runs between Bourke and Little Bourke Streets (parallel with and in-between Exhibition and Spring Streets). Our apartments are located in the heart of Melbournes' theatre district in between Her Majesty's Theatre and Princess Theatre, near China Town, major Bourke Street tram stops and Parliament Train Station, and are located a short tram or train ride from Melbourne's best attractions, renowned shopping precincts, bars and restaurants. We are within easy walking distance to Melbournes' sporting precinct Rod Laver Arena, MCG, AAMI Park and Federation Square and only a quick tram ride (free on the City Circle tram) to Etihaad Stadium and Docklands, Southbank and the Crown Promenade or Queen Victoria Market, St Kilda beach, or the Brunswick/Lygon/Chapel Street dining/shopping precincts. You could pamper yourself and relax at one of the salons or day spas within metres from our front door, or indulge at one of the nearby award-winning cafes, restaurants or bars, perhaps Gingerboy or Longrain next door, or the infamous Pelligrinis, George Calombaris' Press Club, or MoVida! Or you can simply walk to nearby Fitzroy gardens for a 'barefoot in the park' experience! Our inner-city location offers a luxurious boutique accommodation alternative for travelers and an exciting array of activities to do or see close by! About Melbourne Apartments is a cosmopolitan contemporary refuge for travelers with discerning tastes. Each of our apartments is individual with a distinct style and aesthetic, the beauty of which is to enhance and differentiate your stay each time... no matter if it is your first or hundredth visit to Melbourne and About Melbourne Apartments! At About Melbourne Apartments we offer a menu of apartments for guests to choose what best suits their needs: from One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments, to One Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, and our Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment. About Melbourne Apartments provides you with a taste of inner city Melbourne apartment living at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your About Melbourne Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing