We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Ranked #50 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My sister and I booked City Edge on Elizabeth on the recommendation of a colleague in February but we nearly cancel our booking because of the bad reviews we read after making the booking for 9 nights. However, after spending our much earned year end holiday in Melbourne, Australia in early December, we are so very glad we did not. We had a fantabulous time in Melbourne, partly because we enjoyed our stay at City Edge. We love the proximity to Victoria market and the CBD area. We enjoyed the resting, sleeping and cooking in our premium studio apartment. There was some noise from the construction and bar at A'Beckett street but it did not bother us much. We will certainly stay at City Edge on Elizabeth again if we have another holiday in Melbourne in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnesVoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    165
    85
    30
    32
See reviews for
75
127
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who was very helpful. We were early, so our bags were stored until we returned later.

Our room, a premium studio was very small (hate to think what a standard studio is like), but we were out most of the time, so more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom lacked storage space, and here wasn't anywhere to put our bag, which was a bit inconvenient.

I specifically asked for a quiet room as we had previously stayed at the City Tempo down the road, and had a room facing A'beckett Street which was very noisy. Unfortunately we were given a room that faced A'beckett Street here as well, so again a very noisy stay. Not much point asking for a quiet room if one isn't supplied.

Would have been a good stay otherwise, as location was pretty good and walkable to most places and near train, trams, etc.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Good location and Ivan at the reception was helpful.

Booked a 1 room apartment for 2A & 2C which I found it to tight for 4. Everything is just enough for 4, 4 fork, Knife,spoons etc nothing extra. 1 pot and 1 pan but everything is relatively new and clean.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over the weekend and were quite happy with this accommodation. My partner and I booked a premium Studio apartment, knowing it would be small but we were only there for sleeping! We were happy with the size, with a small but equip kitchenette (we didn't use it to cook at all) and adequate bathroom.
Perfect location, a few mins walk to the markets and the large mall, and a street away from the tram stop.

Only complaints we had were the double bed was just two singles pushed together (which isn't exactly ideal for a couple.) There is a large high rise building site across the road which was very noisy at times with trucks beeping ect. The shower leaked pretty bad and we had to use a towel to soak up the puddles. We then had to wash our towels after a few nights and didn't want to buy washing powder. The TV and air con has an hour timer for some reason. We also found drugs in one of our couches- NOT a full clean from previous occupants and not ideal if it was a young family in there instead of us.

There is a bar/club across the road- having read reviews i was expecting a loud annoying nightclub. It turned out to be a cool hang out for a few relaxing drinks (its really just an urban beer garden.) Although the sat night we stayed there, there were loud people leaving at about 3am.

Not bad for couples or people in their 20s trying to have a cheap fun getaway.

Room Tip: Get one away from bar side of the street if you want to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent location in Melbourne city centre, situated between the heart of the city and the market. There were noisy streets below but luckily it is double glazed and the air con works well.
Our double room was very nice and really good value. The kitchenette in the room is adequate for breakfasts and simple cookery. The bathroom was good, with a good shower.
Check-in at 2 pm was a disorganised mess with one man trying to cope and failing to do so. It took forever, partly due to there only being one man on the desk, partly due to him being disorganised.
We asked for two rooms close together and this was accomplished without issue, for which we were very grateful. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just got back from a four day stay at the Cityedge on Elizabeth and I was really pleased with our accommodation.

We had a deluxe one bedroom apartment which was clean, comfy and perfectly located 2 minutes walk from Melbourne Central shopping centre and Victoria Market.

The apartment wasn't huge, but was well laid out with everything we needed for our stay. The small kitchen even had a dishwasher, and there was a washer / dryer in the bathroom.

Any complaints we had were minor, such as there are only two towels provided and as the apartment is unserviced, they weren't changed for four days. You need to wash them yourself, which is a bit of a pain. The location is a bit noisy too, but we were lucky enough to be located over a side alley and didn't really have to put up with the noise from the nightclub across the road.

Overall, I would gladly stay here again. Our apartment was great value for the very cheap price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay. Terrible inexperienced staff who managed the front desk. After a long haul flight with kids they asked us (two families with three kids) he asked us to wait until 2pm and simply disappeared saying he is the only person and he needs to go and clean rooms!! The room was so cramped we could hardly move around. The hotel refused to change our room saying it is fully booked (unbelievable ). There is no restaurant and no other hotel amenities. The rooms are not cleaned at all (done only once after every check out)

To our shock we were charged AUD 150 extra for cleaning the room !

Avoid the place unless you want to suffer

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank yogi_tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Central Business District
City Tempo
City Tempo
#8 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel

Property: City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Address: 99 A'Beckett St | Corner Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY IN A CENTRAL MELBOURNE CBD LOCATION! Studio, one and two bedroom apartments A sensational Elizabeth Street address from which to walk or tram to everything in central Melbourne. All City Edge(R) on Elizabeth apartments offer a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, euro style laundry, air conditioning, LCD TV and free WiFi. Take advantage of this exciting CBD location. City Edge(R) Apartment Hotels. For savvy travellers(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing