We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for cheap weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Ranked #53 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad for cheap weekend getaway”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over the weekend and were quite happy with this accommodation. My partner and I booked a premium Studio apartment, knowing it would be small but we were only there for sleeping! We were happy with the size, with a small but equip kitchenette (we didn't use it to cook at all) and adequate bathroom.
Perfect location, a few mins walk to the markets and the large mall, and a street away from the tram stop.

Only complaints we had were the double bed was just two singles pushed together (which isn't exactly ideal for a couple.) There is a large high rise building site across the road which was very noisy at times with trucks beeping ect. The shower leaked pretty bad and we had to use a towel to soak up the puddles. We then had to wash our towels after a few nights and didn't want to buy washing powder. The TV and air con has an hour timer for some reason. We also found drugs in one of our couches- NOT a full clean from previous occupants and not ideal if it was a young family in there instead of us.

There is a bar/club across the road- having read reviews i was expecting a loud annoying nightclub. It turned out to be a cool hang out for a few relaxing drinks (its really just an urban beer garden.) Although the sat night we stayed there, there were loud people leaving at about 3am.

Not bad for couples or people in their 20s trying to have a cheap fun getaway.

Room Tip: Get one away from bar side of the street if you want to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    168
    87
    32
    33
See reviews for
80
129
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent location in Melbourne city centre, situated between the heart of the city and the market. There were noisy streets below but luckily it is double glazed and the air con works well.
Our double room was very nice and really good value. The kitchenette in the room is adequate for breakfasts and simple cookery. The bathroom was good, with a good shower.
Check-in at 2 pm was a disorganised mess with one man trying to cope and failing to do so. It took forever, partly due to there only being one man on the desk, partly due to him being disorganised.
We asked for two rooms close together and this was accomplished without issue, for which we were very grateful. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just got back from a four day stay at the Cityedge on Elizabeth and I was really pleased with our accommodation.

We had a deluxe one bedroom apartment which was clean, comfy and perfectly located 2 minutes walk from Melbourne Central shopping centre and Victoria Market.

The apartment wasn't huge, but was well laid out with everything we needed for our stay. The small kitchen even had a dishwasher, and there was a washer / dryer in the bathroom.

Any complaints we had were minor, such as there are only two towels provided and as the apartment is unserviced, they weren't changed for four days. You need to wash them yourself, which is a bit of a pain. The location is a bit noisy too, but we were lucky enough to be located over a side alley and didn't really have to put up with the noise from the nightclub across the road.

Overall, I would gladly stay here again. Our apartment was great value for the very cheap price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay. Terrible inexperienced staff who managed the front desk. After a long haul flight with kids they asked us (two families with three kids) he asked us to wait until 2pm and simply disappeared saying he is the only person and he needs to go and clean rooms!! The room was so cramped we could hardly move around. The hotel refused to change our room saying it is fully booked (unbelievable ). There is no restaurant and no other hotel amenities. The rooms are not cleaned at all (done only once after every check out)

To our shock we were charged AUD 150 extra for cleaning the room !

Avoid the place unless you want to suffer

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank yogi_tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place was great- excellent location 1 block from Melbourne Central, trams right on your door step, very safe location (security cameras outside and surrounding streets), Gloria jeans across the road and Vic Markets 2 blocks away. Room was great with laundry and kitchen in room and I found it larger than a normal hotel room but slightly smaller than an apartment. Was perfect for my son and I. Single beds do come at an extra cost and would be pretty small (I had the double which was two singles together) very comfy tho. Ladies attitude was fine, not friendly but not rude. Shower does leak but that's due to choice of door design not something they can help and did have a line of mould in the corner which I didn't like. Loved spending our 7 day holiday here tho especially for the great price. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 6 nights whilst holidaying in Melbourne. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was well equipped with a small kitchen and sitting area. The position was great, being close to transport, restaurants, markets etc. Price was very competitive and our apartment was recently refurbished. Our only complaint was the building site close by which was at times noisy as they continued work into the night on a few occasions. Overall, for the price and location, I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyf355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent location, with tram at your door. Great security! Well equipped. Çomfy beds, but earplugs reccommended.Overall it was clean, but dirty armchairs either needed cleaning or replacing.At booking I thought i paid for a 1 bedroom, that is suppose to sleep 3, only to be told i would have to pay extra for 3rd bed to be made up. When i tried to question this the ladie on the desk was extremely rude and seemed like it was a bother for her to have to go and get extra housekeeping items to accomodate us. Delivered a badly stained blanket to us and carried on with her rudeness, to my teenage daughter and friend.. Unit was small, but really we were only in it to sleep. Also Power points in strange places, under benchtops and under bathroom sink.If you want clean towels, you have to wash them in your apartment or pay for the service. Parking bay outfront is non-excistant during peak times. I had to park in a laneway next to rubbish bins to drop our bags off. Lukily the gentleman on desk was alot more heplful than his rude collegue and offerd to carry our bags up to room. Offsite parking, is not the one closest to apartment, but accross the lane and about 4 doors up. The daily fee is another pricey fee i was not expecting, but there is a parking attendant to park your car during peak times. It shuts at 7.00pm, however you do get an after-hours key to come and go.

Room Tip: Earplugs a must! Travel light or make sure your luggage is on wheels. Make sure you ask about parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#105 of 160 in Melbourne
420 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
City Tempo
City Tempo
#7 of 142 in Melbourne
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel

Property: City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Address: 99 A'Beckett St | Corner Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY IN A CENTRAL MELBOURNE CBD LOCATION! Studio, one and two bedroom apartments A sensational Elizabeth Street address from which to walk or tram to everything in central Melbourne. All City Edge(R) on Elizabeth apartments offer a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, euro style laundry, air conditioning, LCD TV and free WiFi. Take advantage of this exciting CBD location. City Edge(R) Apartment Hotels. For savvy travellers(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing