We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location - Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Ranked #44 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location - Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's not the Ritz, but if the money is coming out of your own pocket it's ideal.
I was pleasantly surprised with the apartment.
I travel to Melbourne several times a year and stay in a variety of budget hotels and usually in studio type rooms with not a lot of room and small facilities.
I found that this apartment suited my needs well being on my own, but if travelling with my wife may like a bit more room, and possibly one in a quieter location in the building.
The only major issue I had was that the power board required to use the kettle and charge my phone and laptop was faulty and probably needed to be replaced. I managed to work around this and reported it on departure. It would also be a good idea to have some details in the room in regard to the requirements of the apartment and details for contacts, how often the room would be serviced, nearest and recommended restaurants etc.
The main thing I liked about the apartment was it's location. It seemed to be no more than two or three blocks from everything you would need and also had free transfer to and from Southern Cross when using the Skybus.
They have a very nice facility here and I found the staff more than helpful.
I will be staying here now more regularly and I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: For a long stay for two go for the Premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    164
    81
    30
    32
See reviews for
75
125
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This apartment was charming, warm and a place that made us feel at home. This apartment is strategically located on the hearth of city of melbourne, very close to Victoria market and lot of food stores. It was easy to catch tram as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ifanacore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a 2-room apartment recently and were very happy to book this place.
Apartment was well equipped with oven, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and all the necessary kitchen utensils.
Clean, good service and centralized location within walking distance to Queen Victoria Market, Central Station and City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuapatneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is the second time my partner and i have stayed at these apartments. Have loved it on both occasions. For value and position, i feel it's hard to beat. The bedding is extremely comfortable.
The kitchen is more than adequate for a short or lengthy stay. A daily room service is available for a fee but with the addition of a washing machine and drier you're able to wash and dry your linen as you wish. And the biggest asset is the close proximity to the Queen Victoria markets. Just 2 blocks away!!!! The selection of all cuisines at the markets is unbeatable. Fantastic quality and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a 2-room apartment and were very pleased with it. The apartment was complete with kitchen, fully equipped with oven, dishwasher and utensils. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable! Location was good with easy access to transport, shops and food. Remember to wake up early and visit Queen Victoria Market just a short walk away =)

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor room. Views would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pei Yun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for a week. Found room sunny and modern. Very close to tram network and CBD. Was what expected for price.
They lost our booking when we went to check in. Staff reaction was unprofessional but she did eventually resolve.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazbro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We used City Edge as our base in Melbourne. The apartment was very clean and had the basics needed. The staff were very helpful and polite. Good location although reasonably priced parking is very limited in the area.

There are two large construction sites near the block, one on the opposite side of the road to the entrance on A'Beckett and the other is on the opposite corner of A'Beckett and Elizabeth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMc186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#78 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
City Tempo
City Tempo
#7 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel

Property: City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Address: 99 A'Beckett Street | Corner Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY IN A CENTRAL MELBOURNE CBD LOCATION! Studio, one and two bedroom apartments A sensational Elizabeth Street address from which to walk or tram to everything in central Melbourne. All City Edge(R) on Elizabeth apartments offer a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, euro style laundry, air conditioning, LCD TV and free WiFi. Take advantage of this exciting CBD location. City Edge(R) Apartment Hotels. For savvy travellers(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing