We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Niceeee”

State Library of Victoria
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.46*
and up
Melbourne Laneway Discovery Running Tour Including Coffee and Donuts
More Info
$61.20*
and up
Private Tour: Melbourne City Discovery
Ranked #11 of 421 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Niceeee”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The State Library of Victoria is a great place to visit, whether to read a book, work/study, or view an exhibition.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,368
    660
    68
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was amazed by this place. It's the public library, but it also has extensive, engaging exhibits like a museum. The dome and reading room are striking. My husband had to tear me away. I could have spent another hour there!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a must see - a wonderful old building and don't miss going up into the dome area. Great library facilities and a gallery that has paintings depicting "Old Melbourne". Good place to research family history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to walk about and relax”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Don't bother with trying to borrow books here, it's a great place to walk the various floors to see exhibits there. There used to be a ned kelly display which is quite interesting. The multi media center is great for some interactive games and even just catching a snooze. Highly recommended for any visitor to Melbourne

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon city
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My nerdy self was in tears when I was in this place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It's one of the best places I've been to when I was in Melbourne. Maybe it's just the nerd in me :) But I really enjoyed touring this place, checking the exhibit, sitting at the La Trobe Gallery, admiring the dome. What's inside is just as beautiful as its facade :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank akosiwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Library of Victoria also viewed

 

Been to State Library of Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing