We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfy !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #54 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel was very new as I read from the Internet it just opened ard Feb 2010. It was clean and has simple contemporary style. The room I stayed had tea making facilities, with microwave oven, food utensils, mini fridge and clothes iron. I wouldn't say the staff were warm and friendly, but courteous enough. The breakfast spread was similar everyday, which gets kinda boring. The location was just 7-8 minutes walk away from Flinders St., 5 mins walk away fr Etihad Stadium, and 8-10 minutes walk away from Southern Cross Station. It was not right in the middle of the city bustle, but near enough to be convenient. Though you had to walk a few blocks away (5-8 mins walk) for any convenience shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,132 - 4,138 of 4,264 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

I got an opening special as I thought it was close to Southern Cross station for early departure the next day. I was returning from a holiday in China and needed somewhere overnight as I couldn't get a train home on the same day. I'm not familiar with that area of Melbourne and asked about where to eat nearby. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast. Room service is provided by outside companies and delivery isn't cheap. I was told a venue, which said it was open from 1200 to late on Sunday, but it was closed at 1730. I could only find an IGA, so bought takeaway. I wouldn't like to stay in winter as I wouldn't feel safe returning after dark. Apart from this, I thought it was a good price ($95) for the quality. I would recommend it for Etihad stadium. Friends stayed there the same night as I did and we travelled home together--they thought it was very good and may well stay there again as they got to the stadium sometimes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent two days in this hotel for touring around Melbourne. The Hotel is close to the train station, it is located in a very quiet neighborhood and is just 10 minutes walk to the city center (need to go on the bridge and walk through the stadium). Rooms are clean and spacious. The Hotel is very simple and without various services, but that's exactly what we are looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Excellent location of Travelodge Docklands which just located behind the Southern Cross Station. The hotel can be easily accessed via trams, trains and buses with a short walk from Southern Cross Station. It's also close to some attraction like Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Harbour Town and convenient stores are just 5 minutes walk away.

The room is consider small but fully contained with fridge, iron, hair dryer, LCD TV, WI-FI or internet access (additional cost). That is one not up-to the standards, Traffic Noise for those rooms facing the Southern Cross Station. During the late night, you able to hear the announcement made in Southern Cross Station.

Generally, the hotel is lovely with nice staffs and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights in September. We found the location was very convenient to tram stops and the Southern Cross station.
The hotel reception was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was comprehensive and the staff in the restaurant were also attentive.
We were able to store our baggage on check out and able to take extra shopping back before we were ready to catch the bus back to the airport.
Room was a little small but we didn't mind, we were out and about all the day, had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Room 1231:

Sleep Quality - excellent. Big, comfy bed, nice pillows, quiet air-con, quiet corridors and no noise from the road.

Bathroom - OK, nice and clean, a shower, no bath, water pressure/flow rate could be a bit higher.

Facilities - Excellent TV, efficient heating and cooling, fridge, microwave, cutlery and plates, tea nad coffee facilities.

Breakfast - 4th floor, a bit of a hall, staff here so-so, seem to ignore customers and focus on other things. I came late, and a few things had run out, no attempt to get me something. A bit like an institution for breakfast.

Location - suited me, I needed the exhibition so an easy walk, and handy at the back for the trains.

Restaurant - Nope - I went to Nando's. They sell beer by the bottle at reception, though.

Summary - Brand spanking new, clean, modern, efficient if a bit soulless.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Brand new so super clean. Could not hear anything from adjacent rooms. Excellent transport options and close to free City Trams. Staff were helpful but the only thing was that some staff didn't know what was in the neighbourhood. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
3,146 reviews
Quest Docklands
#19 of 161 in Melbourne
806 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing