We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and convenient position near transport...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
745 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Great value and convenient position near transport...”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I was in Melbourne for an overnight business trip and booked a special $94 rate including breakfast for 1 (book on their website on Tuesdays). The hotel is a 10 min walk from Southern Cross Station so very convenient if you are using the Skybus. The check-in was friendly and I was put on the top floor of the hotel as per my booking request without prompting. The room was big and comfortable with a large flat screen TV, microwave and desk. I had a good night's sleep and enjoyed my breakfast the next morning - nothing flash - but all the basics like eggs, bacon, sausage etc that you need. For the price paid, this was an absolute bargain and very convenient for public transport. Even though it is slightly outside the CBD, it is so close that I would recommend to anyone. If you want to be near a business in Docklands or Etihad Stadium it is perfect. The only small issue is that there is some building work on Aurora Lane and it looks a bit messy (no noise) - however, once this is finished it will all look fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    1,774
    505
    103
    46
See reviews for
703
1,088
372
969
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Travelodge Docklands is a great hotel for value and location. It is a brand new hotel so the rooms are clean and modern. The room was a perfect size for a couple and has a big, bright floor to ceiling window on one side. This window provided a beautiful nighttime view over South Cross Station. The Docklands area is a bit outside of the Melbourne CBD however there is a free bus and tram service to easily get you around Melbourne. We used this service to get to Federation Square, Queen Victoria market, etc. and each service (particularily the tram) come by every 10-15 minutes. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful however they are probably new to their positions and do not have much knowledge about the Docklands area. However they are quick to try to help you find the information that you need. On our way out of Melbourne, we used the Skybus service out of Southern Cross Station which is a short walk from the hotel.

I will caution anyone staying at this hotel that finding it by driving is tricky to say the least. We had a rental car from Thrifty which we had to drop off on Elizabeth St. so we hoped to drive to the hotel (from the Great Ocean Road), drop off our luggage at the hotel and then drop off the rental car. We had such a difficult time finding the hotel! Our directions from Google maps were not helpful because there was so much construction in the area that a number of streets were unaccessable. The Docklands being a new area, no one that we asked for directions knew where ithe hotel was. When we finally found Aurora Lane, there was construction on the street so we couldn't even turn into the street. It was so stressful because we had to drop off the car by 5pm. We finally had to park on a side street a block away and haul our luggage to the hotel. My suggestion would be to get directions ahead of time from the hotel before you plan on driving there. There are a lot of one way streets in the area and you can easily get turned around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scurry_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The docklands area of Melbourne is a real find and the Travelodge Docklands is a great place to stay, clean and modern, good value breakfast, would definately stay here again.

The area is well serviced by many trams, the 70, and the free city tram are at the end of the street. The proximity to the Etihad stadium can't be beat,

The hoteland is literally right behind Spencer Street station-a tip for getting there: walk up Collins Street towards Docklands and there is a set of stairs leading right down to the hotel just before the big convenience store.
You can also travel accross the pedestrian bridge from Spencer Street station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We went down to Melbourne city in may for couple of days just for a relaxed break. Stayed at travelodge docklands for a night. The hotel is located in the new area (dockland) of city. Hence some of taxi driver might not aware travelodge docklands exist so make sure tell them its Travelodge Dockland and also provide them with address they will take you to the right one, otherwise you might end up in travelodge southbank instead. The hotel room is not that big but new and modern. Very clean. We had some bed configuration issue when we got there due to miscommunication.However staff (especially the Manager) are extremely helpful and efficient in solving problem.They showed that they really value and care about their customers. Our stay was pleasant and we will definitely return to the hotel next time in town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Traveloge Docklands is very nice hotel. Roms are very clean & very pleasent to stay in this hotel. Staff is very cooperative & the location was very good. It is in he middle of the city & all shopping, tourist places are nearby. Make sure to book this hotel prior to your journey. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meet121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I wouldn't go as far as calling this a 4 star hotel. Everything is new and therfore working and clean, but it isn't fantastic for amenities. We had a King room on the top floor with a window that only stretched half way across the wall. The bathroom was clean and modern, as was the rest of the room but nothing more special than that. We ordered from the delivery service menu in the room - DON'T DO THAT! Meal arrived and was barely edible and although i thought the prices on the menu were reasonable for delivery, the meal wasn't worth $2 let alone $60. We had breakfast at the hotel as well, it just didn't seem fantastic. There were the usuals of bacon and eggs, cereals and toast but some fresh fruit and pastries would have been nice. The room was pretty small and i wouldn't want to stay there more than a night or two. Walking to the station was easy, although up several flights of stairs which was annoying with baggage. If you get a good rate or are attending an event in the immediate area it would be a good choice, but there's nothing fantastic about the hotel other than it's 'newness'. I would say it is a comfortable tourist class hotel. There is no car park on site and the car park next door charges about $30 a day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Got a good deal on this hotel through the internet and so cannot fault it on price and location. It is walking distance to Harbour Town, the DFO and the city and having caught the Skybus to Southern Cross Station, walked over to the Travel Lodge. No problems. Walking distance to lots of good restaurants for dinner.

The staff were all very nice and friendly but I agree with other reviewer that they are still learning. Only one of our connecting rooms had been cleaned and when we returned at 6pm, they'd forgotten about it, so we had to move. Also, got woken in the early hours of the morning with a fire alarm evacuation although not on our floor, apparently due to over sensitive alarm system. Rooms are good (though take your own shampoo), breakfast was fine and plenty of it and again staff nice and friendly. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,466 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 159 in Melbourne
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Toga Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing