We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BASIC GOOD LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #47 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
MELBOURNE
1 review
“BASIC GOOD LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here easter Sunday 1st I will say we got it on a Easter weekend special $89. So for $89 we found it great I dont think I would pay $200 a night for it. It is in a great location Ethiad Stadum is at the end of the block Trams to the MCG other end of block. southern Cross staion 2mins walk. I found the room very nice and very quite very clean. But if you were travelling the hotel is more like a hostel for service vending machines and things like that. But great for a bed for the night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dro14286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    1,681
    481
    95
    43
See reviews for
658
1,026
351
891
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

I stayed for a weekend in one of their wheelchair accessible rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful in answering my questions in the lead up to my stay, as well as during it.

The room (with two single beds) was small, *just* big enough to swing the hoist around that I needed for transfers to and from bed. The beds were on wheels with just enough room under them for the hoist to fit under, which was good. The trade-off of the small room was a nice, large bathroom with plenty of room for my shower chair.

The western end of Aurora Lane was still blocked off during my stay, meaning entrance was only by the other end, which confused a couple of taxi drivers and resulted in some trips around the block.

The location is great I thought, supermarket and food courts minutes away, as well as shops, the stadium and Southern Cross Station.

Would definitely consider staying there again, although the price gouge for the Formula One weekend was a bit hard to take, $209 per night! Same all over the city though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howzat_c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

It`s well located, clean, and you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The satff is very kind and help you in everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maga67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

It is a Travelodge so don't expect plush but brand new and clean for $79AU is great. The location is not ideal with all the construction in the area but with a little walking and Melbourne's wonderful tram system you have easy access to everything. If you can't or won't walk you will hate it. We found the staff very responsive to all our questions-I suspect others were experiencing a learning curve problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, au
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Customer service was casual, bordering on indifferent - if you are on the phone and/or computer for 5 minutes with no one else checking in or out then you could at least acknowledge customers with eye contact or a brief "I'll be with you in a minute..."etc.
Given a room immediately behind the lifts but there was absolutely no noise from them or from people using them, in fact the hotel was very quiet for a city hotel which is a big plus.
Room clean & good size, it's a travelodge so no-one should have big expectations for a plush/huge room. Bed firm/hard but comfortable. Good flat-screen t.v. with usual free channels, some cable stations& pay per view movies.
Area is surrounded by offices so a bit desolate returning at night, but quite safe.
Tram stop handy in Collins st.(Route 48) where there is both stair and lift access from aurora lne.
There are cafes at Collins st ,food courts at both southern cross and DFO also a supermarket and a 24hr 7/11,so I don't know why people have commented there is no food nearby!
Very handy to Southern Cross , D.F.O., Etihad Stadium, 15 min walk or short tram ride from Spencer St. to Crown Casino(if that's your cup of tea) or Exhibition Centre.
Overall I would use again if I got a good rate as I did on this stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zOom_StaTioN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We payed $229 (aust) a night for this hotel which was supposedly an opening special rate. There was nothing special about it, because we payed so much I was expecting more.The bathroom was set up for disabled so was quite large but just didn't make sence because the bedroom was tiny and there would be no way a wheel chair could fit down either side of the bed.
We only had 1 blanket in the room and had to call for an extra one. The shower flooded the bathroom and no bathmat was provided, when i asked for one we were given a handtowel not a bathmat.
Breakfast (which was included in our package) was dismal and looked nothing like the advertised pictures. For those paying you can get a cafe cooked full breakfast for less than what they charge.
The lifts in the hotel took a long time in the mornings (up to 20min) partly because the cleaning staff were also using them. Noone could tell us where the stairs were as an alternative route so we're just lucky there wasn't a fire.
Their are much better alternatives in Melbourne CBD, don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millymooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We too were evacuated, morning March 14, a week after the other TA members as written below. Is this the price you pay for the honeymoon rates? Apparently someone left a donut in the microwave. We are a couple involved with public safety so understood at first. We queued up patiently for ages to give some feedback, for which the stressed staff were less than grateful, in fact their cynical comments made us wonder if they had been ever been briefed. No apologies, no explanations. People had panicked on our floor as the door next to the lifts, which they wrongly assumed was the fire exit, was locked and unmarked. No marshalling, no return to building after false alarm announcement. Travelodge needs a consultant to get evacuation procedures correct , and a decent alarm system. Stop wasting valuable time and resources.

At the moment is only just better than a footy fan hole in the wall. No parking, pay nearby if lucky. Miniature bathroom with door hitting toilet behind it, small claustrophobic rooms. basic, basic. Okay bed. Terse and overworked staff. The reception area is nothing like the photo, small, crowded, ugly, long check in times, there is no bar or bistro-breakfast room only. We are not paying to be guinea pigs. Good luck Travelodge, you're going to need it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#85 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing