We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a very short stay in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #53 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel was easy to find, located in Docklands, not within a walking distance to the CBD, but close to a couple of tram lines (including the free city tram). Parking was provided at the public car park next door - $20 for 24 hrs - with multiple entries and exists allowed, but the parking ticket had to be validated at the reception each time.

The room we stayed in was on the 10the floor. It wasn't very spacious, but it had a king size bed, sofa, desk with a chair, flat screen TV, kitchenette with a microwave and mini fridge and ensuite bathroom. Everything was clean, basic toiletries were provided and so was tea, coffee and milk.

Unfortunately, there were a few negatives: the window was very small and the room was dark. The view we had was of an office next door. WiFi was very expensive and breakfast was not included in the room price. Last, but not least, staff at the reception were not very helpful in providing any kind of information.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear pralinka10,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Docklands.

I was most concerned to read of your experience and would like to discuss the matter further with you should you wish. I can be contacted at the hotel on 03 8615 1000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you feedback, we hope you will choose us again for your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,378 - 3,384 of 3,977 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here to be close to railway station for Skybus and trains. Short walk to hotel which is in a quiet buiness district between Collins and Bourke Streets.
Would be great in footy season! Modern room with king bed, microwave, fridge and some plates and cutlery. This was very handy when we're felt like eating in one night with a microwave meal. Our window overlooked the stadium and Southern Cross Station but good noise dampening muffled any excess noise.
Didn't try the breakfast in hotel as plenty of places open caterr for office staff nearby during the week. Sunday was a different story with nothing open nearby. Would definitely stay again as great value for location.would like to see room key to activate lifts for better security as anyone could enter hotel and access floors unnoticed especially when check in staff busy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear AdelaideShell,

We are delightful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is valued by many of our guests. An easy access to trains buses and trams with on a short walking distance.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room itself was very good. Great service and the location was perfect. However our room was right next to the service room so every 10 minutes in the day time there would be the loud noise of the door opening. So loud we thought it was our rooms door being opened. Very annoying. Noises of a washing machine/ dryer could be heard in then night as well. I was glad I was only staying two nights.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Louise R,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review. We appreciate all feedback positive or negative.

I was very troubled by your feedback and would like to offer my sincerest apologises for any frustration or disappointment you felt as a result of your stay. We would like to discuss the matter further with you should you wish. I can be contacted at the hotel on 03 8615 1000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you feedback, we hope you will choose us again as your preferred Melbourne hotel in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Was looking for somewhere low cost and central to Southbank and the Casino. For a Saturday night stay to reward the wife for a hard week at work, decided on staying at Docklands Travelodge. Cost was $139.00 and on checking in was advised about buffet brekky for only $14 a head. Took up the offer, brekky goes until 10.30 on Sunday and 9 30 weekdays. Great value it s $19 per head if you walk in and kids under 12 eat free. Lots of tasty morsels and its help yourself service. The room was comfy and the best A/Con in a hotel ever. Great value and checkout was 11.00 althogh we checked out at 11.30 and nothing was said. Overall it was a pleasant time and we ll be back.

Room Tip: Corner room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Alan T,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Our focus is to always create a wonderful experience for our guest and with your feedback as indication that we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Good location but really would be miles better if they had a dual reception desk and allowed access from the etihad - southern cross concourse, especially after night events at etihad and also would make it better for country travellers coming by train

Room was clean and modern but a bit narrower than travelodge southbank which was a bit surprising

Got there on a cheap deal which made it terrific but would pick the older travelodge southbank ahead of it

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ajw-portcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Ajw-portcampbell,

The Team at Travelodge Docklands Hotel are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our location attracts a large number of our guests for the convenience of being located in Melbourne City, behind Southern Cross Station and next to Etihad Stadium.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location to explore Docklands & CBD. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Rooms can be on the small side but very modern, clean and comfortable at a great price. Stayed on 8th floor with no view in room but the big windows at either end of the hallway made up for it - great effect. Shower had fantastic pressure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katym168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Katym168,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night and were in Melbourne for the cricket. We booked this hotel on a wotif special and were very pleased with our stay.
The location of this hotel was fantastic. It is not far at all from Southern Cross Station or Etihad Stadium. It was also only a short walk to Docklands.
We stayed in a King room on the 8th floor. It was a quiet room with a very comfortable bed. The hotel staff were also very friendly and polite.
One thing I had trouble with was the water in shower kept going from hot to cold. I also thought that $19 for breakfast per person was a bit too pricey, especially given all of other options around Melbourne.
Overall, we were happy with the room and the service.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Deb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Deb1990,

The Team at Travelodge Docklands Hotel are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#95 of 162 in Melbourne
975 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 162 in Melbourne
3,700 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $86 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing