We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #49 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very clean and modern”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Good location but really would be miles better if they had a dual reception desk and allowed access from the etihad - southern cross concourse, especially after night events at etihad and also would make it better for country travellers coming by train

Room was clean and modern but a bit narrower than travelodge southbank which was a bit surprising

Got there on a cheap deal which made it terrific but would pick the older travelodge southbank ahead of it

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ajw-portcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Ajw-portcampbell,

The Team at Travelodge Docklands Hotel are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our location attracts a large number of our guests for the convenience of being located in Melbourne City, behind Southern Cross Station and next to Etihad Stadium.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    1,814
    525
    104
    48
See reviews for
726
1,114
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location to explore Docklands & CBD. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Rooms can be on the small side but very modern, clean and comfortable at a great price. Stayed on 8th floor with no view in room but the big windows at either end of the hallway made up for it - great effect. Shower had fantastic pressure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katym168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Katym168,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night and were in Melbourne for the cricket. We booked this hotel on a wotif special and were very pleased with our stay.
The location of this hotel was fantastic. It is not far at all from Southern Cross Station or Etihad Stadium. It was also only a short walk to Docklands.
We stayed in a King room on the 8th floor. It was a quiet room with a very comfortable bed. The hotel staff were also very friendly and polite.
One thing I had trouble with was the water in shower kept going from hot to cold. I also thought that $19 for breakfast per person was a bit too pricey, especially given all of other options around Melbourne.
Overall, we were happy with the room and the service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Deb1990,

The Team at Travelodge Docklands Hotel are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban District, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant stay. Hotel room was very comfortable and clean. Strategic location and convenient access to the South Wharf within walking distance to diners and shopping mall. Lastly very friendly front desk hoteliers n would recommend it to future travellers to Melbourne!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stupendeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi stupendeous,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakers Hill, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I only just returned home yesterday. I stayed for 5 days and I was extremely impressed. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in ever. The free tram was only a 5 min walk away. Train station 3 min walk. DFO 10 min walk. Crown 15 mins away. The only thing is it doesn't have a pool. Other than that and price of course I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor. So quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Katie B,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here during our most recent trip to Melbourne. The room was well priced and very comfortable. The hotel internals were modern and pleasing. We slept well on the bed and had a nice view of the city from our window.

The location was slightly out of the way but once we got our bearings navigating our way to the main tram, train and bus routes was easy. Most of our locations were in the CBD / eastern suburbs as opposed to Docklands itself.

Concierge staff were very polite and assisted us greatly by holding our bags from our morning arrival until check-in time and likewise until we left the CBD for our flight in the evening of the day of our departure. This was highly appreicated.

We will certainly consider coming back next time we are in Melbourne. For the price we paid Travelodge docklands ticked all of the boxes for our stay. We are very satisfied customers from our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneK227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi WayneK227,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you’re traveling to Australia from the US, don’t mistake the Travelodge’s here for the same ones we have back home; at least not the Travelodge Docklands. Unlike its namesake brand in the US, this hotel was new, modern and very hip. Thanks to the floor to ceiling windows, the rooms were bright and fresh with a very contemporary feel to them. And with a desk for working and a small couch for relaxing, I found the rooms spacious. I am surprised at some of the other comments that proclaim that it’s in a great location. I did not find that to be the case. It sits on the edge of the CBD, behind the Southern Cross train station and it is a little bit of a walk to get downtown. There is currently not an abundance of restaurants close or things to do; but the area is going through massive constructions projects and I am sure very shortly the Travelodge Docklands will be in a prime location. But, the location was only a minor inconvenience, and for the price and feel of the hotel, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank expat_ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi expat_ord,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs. We also think that we have a beautiful hotel in a great location.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#91 of 160 in Melbourne
947 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing