We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #54 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Got booked there for 2 night by my company for business travel. Found it very nice and roomy with good amenities. Parking fee was fair considering the proximity to the CBD and the stadium, restaurants etc. recommended for business travelers.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank yalamanchili111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear yalamanchili111,

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Our team is delighted to hear that we are meeting the expectations of our guests who are on business trips, ensuring your comfort and providing you with a home away from home is our focus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Docklands.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,559 - 3,565 of 4,113 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is great to see that all the reviews are being answered by the manager , I was with AG van der Westhuizen and feel the same.Giving me "15 minutes free" in the foyer is not acceptable as an answer.I have been to coffee shops that provide free wi fi and surely a big company like Travelodge could do the same for their guests..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartlett58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear bartlett58

Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands.

To answer your question, the reason that this hotel charges for WiFi is as follows: Whilst a coffee shop or B&B requires only a domestic router and plan to offer WiFi to its customers, a multi level hotel requires an infrastructure which is very expensive to install and maintain, and a commercial internet link to offer the premium service guests require.

I would be happy to discuss directly at more length if you wish to contact me however I can assure you that our internet prices are in-line with or below that of our local competitors.

We hope you choose to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This Hotel exceeded our expectations. A basic hotel with good value and all amentities for families. Always good to have a fridge & microwave so we enjoyed breakfast in our room reach day and prepare Food for our Baby.

We were lucky with room 1114 as the roomrumbers "14" on eacht floor are Corner rooms with a view on the City.

Do not expect luxery but the Basics are good (shower, bed, Isolation) and the Location directly at the trainstation & Shopping centre and only 10" from the river with all Restaurants.

A big dissapointment are the Prices for Internet. In most parts of the world this is already considered a Basic amentity but at Travelodge they still sell it a a premium luxery Service (AU$10/hour). If Internet would be reasonable priced ($10 per 24 hours) or this Hotel would receive the 5th star in my Evaluation.

I would stay again and recommend it to others

Room Tip: Chose the Corner room with number 14, preferable the highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvschaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi jvschaik,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are passionate about creating a wonderful experience for our guest and we appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Travelodge Docklands is nice, fairly new hotel in Melbourne’s Docklands. We stayed in a triple room and although it was a bit small with 3 adults/luggage etc, it was fine for somewhere to sleep/shower etc.

The room, bathroom and lobby were spotless and the staff were helpful. The beds and bedding were comfortable, but not excellent – I suppose you get what you pay for.

Docklands is on the outskirts of the Melbourne CBD, so it isn’t necessarily conveniently located next to all the attractions, but it’s only a short walk to trains/trams etc.

One minor disadvantage is that all of the nearby cafes/restaurants appeared to be closed on weekends. It is only a short walk to Southern Cross station where there is a supermarket and some coffee/fast food outlets.

All in all I would recommend Travelodge Docklands for a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leguman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear marklS3378XO,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

We are also pleased to hear that you found our location short walking distance to all the main attractions.

We provide our guests with the quality Sleepmaker - hotel supreme mattresses. Upon request we are able to provide additional bedding to our guest who have special requirement for a more comfortable sleep.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you feedback, we hope you will choose us again as your preferred Melbourne hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good hotel and close to all places in docklands like restaurants and Etihad stadium. Even good close to southern cross Spencer st station within walking distance. I stayed here over grand final weekend and found to be quite good. Room was clean and tidied each day as expected. Parking is next door to hotel and cost $20 per night. Remember to pay for your parking through the Travelodge and they will validate ticket. Breakfast was included in my deal and I couldn't complain. All in all I would stay here again. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear AshAussie,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

Grand Finals were definitely an exciting weekend at Travelodge Docklands, we hope your team was the winner this season.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Usually we stay near the theatres but as everything else was booked out this particular weekend, and we had tickets to a show, I had to book here. We were very pleasantly surprised as the rooms were very clean and tidy, both the room and bathroom were large enough and the staff were very helpful. We intended on walking to Crown complex but as it was raining we asked at the desk if they could arrange a taxi for us. They were very prompt and efficient and within 10 minutes a taxi had arrived. The bed was very comfortable and we were not bothered by any noise from surrounding train lines. Breakfast was the usual on offer, however plenty was available and the staff here were also very pleasant. Overall a nice experience and would be happy to stay here again. Very well priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi TrishH25,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
Our focus is to always create a wonderful experience for our guest and with your feedback as indication that we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Travelodge in Docklands while two friends and I stayed in Melbourne for the AIHL play offs. The room was big enough, fitting in the 3 single beds easily, with a reasonable sized bathroom. Place was clean and staff were helpful at check in and check out. Decent hotel for a low budget stay in central Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Tom C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Our team is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,447 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
3,794 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $78 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing