We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the footy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Ranked #48 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location for the footy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is in a good location from the footy.
This hotel is a lot cheaper outside of the weekend and when the footy isn't on.

A small walk away from Southern Cross Train Station or the SkyBus. There is no point in taking the tram to the Southern Cross Train Station because it takes too long. You can just walk to the station.

The customer service is fantastic. So please ask them if you need help.

There is no cover for rain so please take an umbrella.

There are two ways to get to this hotel. Both of which have elevators but you have to look for them.

The longer method.
You can walk down Spencer street and turn right onto Collins Street. To know your going the right way you should be able to see a Woolworths. Walk all the way down to Medibank Private and take the stairs down. The elevator is down the alley next to the stairs. It should just be past Medibank. It should just be before the second tram stop. Then keep walking until you get to Travel Lodge. Don't walk under the bridge go the other way.

The other way is to use the bypass called Bourke St Pedestrian Bridge to eithad stadium. There should be a spilt between Eithad Stadium and one of the TV Channel. I can't remember which one. Anyway there should be a spilt between this tv channel and Eithad Stadium. Go to the channel side which is left. You should see TV Channel and a coffee shop. Between that are a pair of stairs. Walk down those stairs and I believe its turn left.
If you want to use the elevator its actually right next to the stairs on the TV Channel building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    1,398
    412
    82
    32
See reviews for
542
828
300
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Like other people say, when the taxi drops you off here you usually walk right passed it. It's in an old warehouse area that has undergone considerable refurbishment and I presume modern signage is not allowed. The rooms are a good size with comfy king size bed, 2 seater sofa and a desk and a sturdy table to place the suitcase. Decor is nice but there really are not any views. Of all the hotels I have stayed in in the world this is the only one where you have to physically remove your plastic room key from its housing to get all the lights off. In the night you have to then relocate that key and its housing in order to get the bathroom light on - I can see the practical side of that but it is annoying after a few nights. Generally this hotel is well situated to businesses in the area and Etihad Stadium as well as a number of good pubs and restaurants. Some strange noises during the night take some getting used to. Breakfast was good. A few errors on my bill on check out.

Room Tip: All rooms would be much the same. Additionally, room service is very reasonable in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaifes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Scaifes

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about Travelodge Docklands. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Just to clarify for anyone who might be reading - you do not need to remove your key from the slot to turn off the lights. All the lights in the room turn off at the light switches as normal.

The idea is to take the key with you when you leave thus saving energy by shutting down the power when you are not around.

I hope you choose to stay here again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for five nights in May because of a great deal on Wotif available at the time I needed to be in Melbourne. I usually stay on St Kilda Road, but the proximity to Spencer St station appealed, as I like to catch the Skybus from Tullamarine airport. There is a slight hill from the station on Collins St to the steps down to Aurora Lane, however there is a lift to take when you have a suitcase. I was a little concerned that it would be unsafe to walk that way at night, but that fear proved unfounded and I never felt unsafe returning to the hotel in the evening. (I was always back by 10pm) My room had a king-size bed and small sofa, both of which were quite hard - certainly no "pillow-top" on the mattress, but the room was clean and a decent size. With numerous trams close by, the location is a winner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is reasonably priced accommodation in a great location close to restaurants, Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross station and several tram lines. Rooms are a reasonable size, and our bed was OK. The pillows are foam, which I am not too keen on. Would have preferred to have an option of a feather pillow, but this was not available.

Rooms include a fridge (but no mini bar), and a microwave, with plates and cutlery. There is a Woolworths supermarket and BWS bottle shop in Southern Cross station about 200 metres from the hotel, and it is really easy to buy a large variety of food that you can heat in the Microwave. The hotel does not have a bar or restaurant, but there are a number restaurants within 300 metres, including the excellent Nine Elephants Thai restaurant. They do have room service dinner in the evening.

The hotel provides breakfast for $15. At time of writing the breakfast is limited to tea, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, white bread toast, mini muffins, tinned fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, canned tomato, hash browns and pan cakes. They don't have the fresh fruit and Danish pastries that are featured in the hotel's breakfast advertisements.a There are lots of places nearby where you can get a better breakfast for less than that.

The location is great. It is about 300 metres from the Airport bus terminus, and the same distance from a Southern Cross station, and several tram stops. So it is a good place to base you next visit to Melbourne.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights mid June. Rooms were very clean, well maintained and extremely comfortable. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and obliging. While next to Ethiad Stadium, Southern Cross Railway Station and a main road no noise could be heard from within the room. Very central to sporting facilities, supermarkets and fantastic hotels and eating places. Very enjoyable and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear WanderersAdelaide

Thanks for taking the time to review us so positively!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The room's were clean and tidy and did the job, not much of a view but pretty good overall. HOWEVER, THE BEDS, MY GOD. I stayed here for a week and by the end I could barely stand up without being in stiff pain, the pillows were so awful I get a sore neck just thinking about them. The larger beds were just two single beds pushed together, I had one of the worst nights sleep of my entire life. As this was a business trip with around 25-50 others, I can definitely say I was not alone in this issue, I think one of the best conversation starters on the trip was "how terrible are the beds at the hotel?!?" As much as I thought the staff were the great, the rooms were functional, clean and modern, the beds were enough to put me off. I will never return to this hotel or stay in another travelodge again for that matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ellen C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Needless to say I am dissapointed you didn't have a good nights sleep.

Our mattress supplier is Sleepmaker and the beds are Hotel Supreme Ensembles. They are King Zip mattresses - not two singles pushed together.

Beds are a subjective matter and whist most people love them we understand that some may not.

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss should you wish.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My sister, daughter and myself stayed for 3 nights as we were booked to see the recording of Millionaire Hot Seat. We found staying here was central to everything, Channel 9 studio, Etihad Stadium, Outlet shopping mall, grand Crown Casino, trams, trains & shops. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay. Our room suited us with 3 single beds, it was warm, quiet, and serviced each day. We would fully recommend this location for anyone visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: 7th floor had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dianne D

I am delighted that your experience with us was positive and I would like to thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor.

The team here take great pride in their guest service so it is very pleasing to see this recognised.

I hope to welcome you back before too long.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,781 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Property: Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing