We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good deal near Spencer St Station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Ranked #48 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Good deal near Spencer St Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for five nights in May because of a great deal on Wotif available at the time I needed to be in Melbourne. I usually stay on St Kilda Road, but the proximity to Spencer St station appealed, as I like to catch the Skybus from Tullamarine airport. There is a slight hill from the station on Collins St to the steps down to Aurora Lane, however there is a lift to take when you have a suitcase. I was a little concerned that it would be unsafe to walk that way at night, but that fear proved unfounded and I never felt unsafe returning to the hotel in the evening. (I was always back by 10pm) My room had a king-size bed and small sofa, both of which were quite hard - certainly no "pillow-top" on the mattress, but the room was clean and a decent size. With numerous trams close by, the location is a winner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    1,398
    412
    82
    32
See reviews for
542
828
300
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is reasonably priced accommodation in a great location close to restaurants, Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross station and several tram lines. Rooms are a reasonable size, and our bed was OK. The pillows are foam, which I am not too keen on. Would have preferred to have an option of a feather pillow, but this was not available.

Rooms include a fridge (but no mini bar), and a microwave, with plates and cutlery. There is a Woolworths supermarket and BWS bottle shop in Southern Cross station about 200 metres from the hotel, and it is really easy to buy a large variety of food that you can heat in the Microwave. The hotel does not have a bar or restaurant, but there are a number restaurants within 300 metres, including the excellent Nine Elephants Thai restaurant. They do have room service dinner in the evening.

The hotel provides breakfast for $15. At time of writing the breakfast is limited to tea, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, white bread toast, mini muffins, tinned fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, canned tomato, hash browns and pan cakes. They don't have the fresh fruit and Danish pastries that are featured in the hotel's breakfast advertisements.a There are lots of places nearby where you can get a better breakfast for less than that.

The location is great. It is about 300 metres from the Airport bus terminus, and the same distance from a Southern Cross station, and several tram stops. So it is a good place to base you next visit to Melbourne.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights mid June. Rooms were very clean, well maintained and extremely comfortable. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and obliging. While next to Ethiad Stadium, Southern Cross Railway Station and a main road no noise could be heard from within the room. Very central to sporting facilities, supermarkets and fantastic hotels and eating places. Very enjoyable and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear WanderersAdelaide

Thanks for taking the time to review us so positively!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The room's were clean and tidy and did the job, not much of a view but pretty good overall. HOWEVER, THE BEDS, MY GOD. I stayed here for a week and by the end I could barely stand up without being in stiff pain, the pillows were so awful I get a sore neck just thinking about them. The larger beds were just two single beds pushed together, I had one of the worst nights sleep of my entire life. As this was a business trip with around 25-50 others, I can definitely say I was not alone in this issue, I think one of the best conversation starters on the trip was "how terrible are the beds at the hotel?!?" As much as I thought the staff were the great, the rooms were functional, clean and modern, the beds were enough to put me off. I will never return to this hotel or stay in another travelodge again for that matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ellen C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Needless to say I am dissapointed you didn't have a good nights sleep.

Our mattress supplier is Sleepmaker and the beds are Hotel Supreme Ensembles. They are King Zip mattresses - not two singles pushed together.

Beds are a subjective matter and whist most people love them we understand that some may not.

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss should you wish.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My sister, daughter and myself stayed for 3 nights as we were booked to see the recording of Millionaire Hot Seat. We found staying here was central to everything, Channel 9 studio, Etihad Stadium, Outlet shopping mall, grand Crown Casino, trams, trains & shops. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay. Our room suited us with 3 single beds, it was warm, quiet, and serviced each day. We would fully recommend this location for anyone visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: 7th floor had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dianne D

I am delighted that your experience with us was positive and I would like to thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor.

The team here take great pride in their guest service so it is very pleasing to see this recognised.

I hope to welcome you back before too long.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I have travelled to most parts of the world and around Australia. It was a real pleasure to be greeted by Gary and Erica at the front desk of the Travelodge Docklands Melbourne Australia. They were engaging, informative, warm and friendly. They explained the car park facilities which took all the stress out of parking our car. We just followed their directions. The Travelodge exceeded expectations with the room, in house meals to our room and breakfast in the morning. The site was was within walking distance to central Melbourne. A great venue and value for money. We will come again.

From a visitor with 44 years corporate experience and one that values professionalism. l

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. The Travelodge Docklands site was within walking distance to M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear lorraine s

Thank you for sharing this positive and informative review. I am absolutely delighted that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are up from Geelong.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on a great deal in April 2013 and can recommend the Travelodge for a short stay. Room was modern, bright, spacious and clean. Location was great; only a short stroll to the free City Circle tram stop, 10min walk to Harbour Town outlet shopping mall, close to Docklands restaurants and bars, virtually adjacent to Etihad Stadium and Southern Cross railway station, etc. If you don't mind being a short distance away from the main city centre, this is a great choice for a peaceful nights' sleep and offers good value for money. My only complaint was the fee for WiFi, but I guess more and more hotels charge for this now. However, I would still stay at the Travelodge Docklands again in future if their pricing remains competitive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear OzMaryAnn

Thank you for sharing your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location suited your needs.

I do hope you choose us again when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,781 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Property: Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing