We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here to go to soccer at Etihad Stadium, great location easy walk to trams, trains etc. Very quiet with adequate rooms, good bedding and heating in rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast. A hidden away location which is very central, would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear szoka

Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands.

I would agree that we are a perfect spot to stay if you are in Melbourne for any event at Etihad Stadium.

We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    1,387
    407
    81
    32
See reviews for
534
821
299
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights - Friday/Saturday. Staff friendly and helpful especially Madi. Small but clean and comfortable room. Very quiet. Great bed/bedding. Easy access to walk to free City Circle tram and other trams on Collins Street. Close to Spencer Street Station/shopping and South Wharf DFO. Breakfast very nice. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear evking

Thank you for your positive review about Travelodge Docklands.

I am delighted that you have recognised Madi's exceptional service and I have passed your feedback to her.

We hope you choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Adequate, comfortable, clean accommodation with just enough space for 3 single beds for 3 travellers. There's a good little kitchenette but you must go to reception to purchase minibar items. Take all your bathroom items as there was only one little shampoo & conditioner between 3 of us however there was a good hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Finding the entry was a nightmare approaching via Collins St or the bridge over the railway station. There are a series of steps or lifts and buildings to traipse around and no visible signage to guide the walker. Neither bedside lamp worked on arrival but immediate attention received and problems resolved. Fine for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Lovely comfy clean beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maturegirl3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Maturegirl3199

Thank you for your review on Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and now that you know where we are we hope you'll choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

One night stay. Room was available for early check in. Deryk was polite and helpful.

Room clean, quiet and comfortable. Bed is great not too hard or soft.

Bathroom clean with decent size shower.

Heating works well and the room feels cosy warm.

Mini bar prices over the top. $5 for a mars bar, $5.50 for a small packet m&ms.

No problem with wifi, it is expensive but that isn't unusual in Australia.

Great location for the sky bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear 2shea

Thanks for posting about your experience at Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your comments to Deryk.

We hope you choose to stay again soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Beauty, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Location - great location to Southern Cross and a good decent/scenic walk to Southbank etc.

Room was clean and the amenities were good (which included a microwave and cutlery etc.) Although the room wasn't huge, there was plenty enough space to place our luggage without tripping over as well as a lounge chair to sit on.

We weren't sure what expect with breakfast because of some of the reviews but it was enjoyable and we always received great service (especially from Louise!) We pre booked ahead and paid $14 pp which was quite reasonable.

We left our luggage in storage after we checked out so we could explore Melbourne some more. Unfortunately on our return bag collection was very slow. There was a big line of people checking in and no one else was around to open the storage room and help us. 25 minutes later we were getting worried as we had a Sky Bus / flight to catch. Maybe a better system (concierge) is needed?

All in all (for the money we paid - I know this can vary depending on how/who you book through) this hotel was great value for money and the location is ideal if travelling in and out to Southern Cross by SkyBus or train. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainToCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear MountainToCoast

Thank you for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. I'm glad you liked the location - it is tucked away but handy to transport and shopping.

I have passed on your feedback to Louise and she is delighted you have recognised her exceptional guest service.

We hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at Travelodge Docklands, good location close to Southern Cross station. Great customer service from all receptionists, especially Melissa and Erica. They were willingly to help us as first time coming to Australia

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mralex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mr Alex 12,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable time in Australia and we are glad that we were able to assist you during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Docklands when you next visit Melbourne.

Regards

Melissa Theodorus
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wasn't sure about the location of this hotel initially, but turns out its brilliant. Tucked behind Southern cross station made it so convenient to walk up the steps next to the hotel to the cross over to Etihad stadium or go down the end of Aurora lane, 100 metres and pick up the free City Circle Tram. Walk a little further, 500 metres, and you cross The Yarra straight into DFO & Southbank precinct. At the end our 4 day girls weekend I was an expert at getting around Melbourne. The hotel is very clean and staff were exceptional at making our stay the best it could possibly be, nothing was too much trouble. We would have not considered the Docklands Travelodge, if it wasn't for the special price, but I will definitely book again next time I am in Melbourne, even without the discount.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-14 on each floor overlooking restaurant courtyard, facing Channel 9 building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Lynne B,

Thank you for the taking the time to share about your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

Travelodge Docklands is in a very convenient location, only a stone throw away from Etihad Stadium, tram stops and Southern Cross station.

We are also very glad that we were able to assist you and hence had made your stay enjoyable.

We hope to see you back soon.

King Regards

Melissa Theodorus
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,766 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Property: Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing