We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #47 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We hit Melbourne, our favourite city, for a 3 day stay especially to go see a concert at the Palais St Kilda. At first glance of the hotel, I thought OH NO!... But by now I've learnt never to judge a book by it's cover so onward we went. Well the rooms were very well catered, modern , clean, despite it being within walking distance to Southern Cross Railway & in a commercial end of the city - surprise it was very quite , slept like a baby; in fact we slept in & missed breakie! - a plus (which you never get on a short stay) was a MICROWAVE!!!!! , cutlery& plates !!!+ the usual tea/coffee, etc; . Beds -king size , comfy, quality bedding ;The hotel is at the entrance to Ethihad Stadium, less than 2 minute walk. Walking distance to the waterfront Docklands area. lots of nice places to eat.Trams around the block. 5-10mins into top end of town . Catch the City Circle tram - it does a full loop of the city , hop off - -on as many times as you like - be aware they start about 10am - finish 9pm; Apart from that; - buy a Mykie travel card at any 7eleven store $7, then top up daily about ?? $4-5 a day & its valid for 24hrs on trains, buses,trams. Mykie card is good for 4yrs! (too easy) Southern Cross Rail (where the coaches drop you off from airport to catch hotel buses (first time in Melbourne buy a return airport bus shuttle ticket $32 return - situated outside on bus terminal )the hotel is a simple overhead walk over rail down some steps & you are there (about 10 mins walk) . Breakfast was good, tasty, very reasonably price $14/ea & the dinning room staff were very pleasant. .Oh yeah the girls on the front reception, were courteous, efficient YES they were, but they've forgotten how to SMILE -my only good do better suggestion.;;;; Apart from that ; yes we were happy with our stay there.
Did I mention we got our stay through Wotif - Secret Hotel $89/night--- what a bargin!!!!

Room Tip: All was good!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanely2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear stanely2010

Thank you so much for this glowing review! We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

I very much hope you choose to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,917)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,473 - 3,479 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Disclaimer: This stay was not paid for by myself. However, based on room rates found on the internet, I have given a "value" rating.
Many other reviewers noted the excellent location of the hotel; close to transport, and some attractions of Melbourne. We even hopped into a taxi, and travelled to St. Kilda in only 15 minutes (note, this was a Monday night, after peak hour).
The room was quiet; especially considering we had the room closest to the train station. When we stepped into the room at around 830pm, we saw, and heard a freight train rumbling into the station. Windows are double-glazed - they block most of the noise. If you're a light sleeper, request a room away from this side. We must have been tired, as we did not notice the noise (if any) when sleeping.
The room was small - amazing how they squeeze in a desk, chair, and an armchair alongside the bed. The size of the room also means the air conditioning/fan can be too strong. Try sleeping with a light breeze on your face for the whole night. Melbourne was in the middle of a heatwave at the time, so we had to have the air on. Perhaps the vent is located poorly.
The restaurant for breakfast was, to paraphrase another reviewer, "more like a school cafeteria". I thought it seemed familiar! Line up for your food; take a seat with your friends; talk about the group seated at the table across the room; ignore the outsider who tries to sit next to you.....thought the restaurant would break out into a food fight!
Seriously, this hotel is basic. It really has just what you need - bed, shower, breakfast. It just does not have any of the special things you may want.
I want: Free, or even reasonably priced WiFi. It does not have this.

Room Tip: Stay away from the train station end. Could be relatively noisy, and a long walk from the elevator.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear thedjlee

Thank you for taking the time to post this fair and informative review. I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one and hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great for a short overnight stay.Comfy bed and easy access to where you need to be.
Good location and staff were helpful. Had a quiet room which was a bonus for a very busy Friday evening.

Mini bar was basic but not exorbitant and the television coverage was excellent. Clean fresh sheets and very clean room, parking is easy and safe. Upside......... easy check-in and a great room. Downside...... the towels look a little tired although very clean.

Would I stay again........... yes definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoinetteS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear AntoinetteS1104

Thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Docklands.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Clean, basic hotel. "Standard Twin Room" with a mate - very small, with a couple of single beds, but fine for a boys trip, where you really just need a base to operate from. 5 minute walk from Southern Cross Station, 10 minute walk to South Bank, 2 minute walk to Etihad.

Room cleaned daily. Great location for above facilities, but a basic boring hotel in a drab area otherwise.

Ideal for a footy trip or similar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Masha65

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad the location suited your needs and hope to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location was excellent. Walking distance and easy access to Etihad Stadium, restaurants, Spencer St Station, trams (including the free City Tram service) and buses. Clean, quiet and functional hotel. Restaurant more like a school cafeteria. Offerings were fine but the same each day for our 6 day stay. Staff at reception were helpful. We were charged $150 bond on our credit card in case we used the mini bar. The mini bar was empty. They said the refund would take 3 - 5 days to be refunded.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sea_change09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sea_change09

Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands.

We are delighted that you liked our location - Docklands is an area which is certainly changing and developing all the time!

In regards to the bond - we do not charge anything to your credit card, we take an authorisation which the bank releases on departure. Please feel free to contact me for more information.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

the location was close to spencer st station and ameniities were clean. hotel was very quiet , the shower was a bit too small .overall the standard was average,
BUT $50 was charged to our credit card as a bond against the room/minibar etc of which we did not use.
this was charged on check in and i was informed that it takes 3- 5 days to be refunded . that must amount to a fair bit of interest being accrued for the travelodge, on other peoples money. Whats wrong with the staff checking the room. We noticed that there were dirty plates/ trays sitting outside other guests rooms waiting to be collected from 6pm until 10am the next day . Yuk.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank andreakim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear andreakim0

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review on Travelodge Docklands.

On check in an authorisation hold is taken on your credit card. This is standard hotel procedure and allows you to charge meals at local restaurants back to your room account, as well as ordering room service, pay per view movies, breakfast, minibar etc. The funds are held by your bank not the hotel and when the transaction is finalised on check out the hold is cancelled by your bank and no entry for this amount will appear on your statement.

Please see the following link for more information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Authorization_hold

To answer your query - Travelodge does not make any money from interest as the hotel does not receive any funds.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The restaurant on the Fourth Floor was excellent for the Buffet Breakfast we attended yesterday. The variety of choices was excellent. The staff were on top of it all and continually replenished the food available. The coffee was excellent. The surroundings were clean and very bright and pleasant. An altogether relaxing and satisfying experience. I would go again at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leonie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Leonie P

What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments. I have passed them onto the team and they are delighted.

Kind Regards

James Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#95 of 160 in Melbourne
967 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $86 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing