We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the Fourth Floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #50 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Fourth Floor”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The restaurant on the Fourth Floor was excellent for the Buffet Breakfast we attended yesterday. The variety of choices was excellent. The staff were on top of it all and continually replenished the food available. The coffee was excellent. The surroundings were clean and very bright and pleasant. An altogether relaxing and satisfying experience. I would go again at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Leonie P

What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments. I have passed them onto the team and they are delighted.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    1,804
    514
    104
    48
See reviews for
723
1,104
379
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Enjoyable 4-night stay during the Tennis Open. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Docklands itself teems with people during office hours, however, the area was relatively dead after work hours in our mid-week stay. This is substantially compensated for by the proximity within walking distance of the free City Circle Tram Service and the Southern Cross Railway Station. Hotel decor was modern and minimalist, although we liked the edgy streetscape photos in the halls and one in our bedroom. The bedroom was comfortable with an acceptable mattress and ensuite and the usual facilities. WIFI is only free in the public areas. The instant coffee in the rooms was the cheap, fine powder variety - pretty undrinkable. Breakfast was ok, however, the bacon was fairly fatty, a few items were a bit slow to be replenished, and the scrambled eggs were a bit past it when we got to them. Cleaning staff were quite good but consistently ignored their own environmental policy about only washing towels left on the floor.The price was good for a capital city and we would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. Lowe level rooms on the railway side could be somewhat noisy in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear aidor

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Travelodge Docklands. I am personally delighted that you found our team friendly. They pride themselves on their levels of guest service and it's great that you took the time to let us know.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hoel is clean and comfortable for a short business stay or overnight for footy at Etihad. If you we're looking to stay longer than a night or two then I would stay closer to the CBD if this was for a holiday. The area where this hotel is located is close to the spencer st train station but there's not a lot else around here - its more of a business area.

Etihad stadium is about 100m away so a perfect hotel for the footy etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gw_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear TeamGTravel

Thank you for your positive review on Travelodge Docklands.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to again stay with us if you are returning to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Another couple and ourselves were doing the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant and did not want to drive back to our Melbourne suburban homes after indulging in the included drinks. We decided on this hotel as it was very reasonably priced and within walking distance to the Tram pick up area.

We initially found it very hard to find and our sat nav was equally as confused but once there we discovered plenty of paid car parking buildings right on the doorstep which was very handy.

Check in was quick and although we had a view of the medibank offices our friends had a pretty good view from their room over to the north west of Melbourne. Luck of the draw I guess. It was a hot Melbourne day and the air conditioner was working fine as well.

Our room was really just a hotel room but was clean and comfortable with a nice size flat screen TV, a king size bed and a microwave and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was tiny but modern and clean. We noticed the sewerage smell others have spoken of when we ran the hot tap in the bathroom vanity. Very strange.

We ordered some room service close to 11.00 pm which came fairly promptly and was fine and reasonably priced. We also had the breakfast buffet in the morning which again for $14 a head I thought was excellent value, with everything you could pretty much think of including asian style rice porridge. Yes it was reminiscent of coles caferteria but the day we were there we could eat out in the warm morning air and we thought it was quite pleasant and relaxing.

Close to Southern Cross station and walking distance to Southbank this hotel was ideal for our purposes and considering what we would have to pay elsewhere for a night in Melbourne we were pleased with our choice. Check out was the easiest ever! If we found ourselves needing to stay overnight in Melbourne again we would certainly consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear ausrose

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive and in-depth review of Travelodge Docklands.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to recount your experience. We think the location makes us an ideal place to base yourself to take advantage of all Melbourne has to offer. We are indeed close to transport - including the free city circle tram, South Wharf DFO is just over the river and the CBD is a five minute walk across the foot bridge (with elevators to make it that much easier)

We hope you return soon!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay at Travelodges regularly all over Australia and this is similar and as good as others. Good location close to Southern Cross station. The room was - as always - clean, quiet and comfortable. The rate was very competitive and it was therefore good value. Staff were really good. The downside was it's position in terms of nearby restaurants and cafes ... there just aren't any or many nearby and none on site apart from the breakfast room. This means that for lunch or dinner you have to walk a fair way and the closest options aren't as good as other parts of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestyTweedValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear WestyTweedValley

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I have shared it with the team here and we hope you choose to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werribee, victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, it was fantastic for the location, the function we attended was just around the corner, about a 2 minute walk, but that was about it. The room was very small and the breakfast certainly left a lot to be desired, it was like eating at Coles cafeteria, plastic chairs and tables, the price was good though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buggsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear buggsusa

Thank you for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. I always appreciate guest feedback and have taken your comments on board.

I hope to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Not a bad hotel, I mean its nice and cheap, good for an over night stay but wouldnt stay for anymorw than that. Front office staff are very friendly, special thanks to 'Jacky' for pointing out some nice places for dinner. The extra service was apappreciated. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper19873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear happycamper19873

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased you recognised Jacky's exceptional guest service - I have passed your comments onto him.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 160 in Melbourne
930 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing