We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price is right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Price is right”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed with 2 female friends for Melbourne Cup visit. Clean comfortable triple single room. Good shower and bathroom, quiet at night. Tried room service after day at the races; tasty hot burger and chips delivered within time quoted.Location is great for access to city either walking,train or tram once you find access to walkway across Southern Cross Station. There are both stairs and a lift.I heartily recommend this hotel as a base for a Melbourne visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Promise59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Promise59

Thanks for posting such a great review on our hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    1,704
    488
    99
    45
See reviews for
673
1,041
354
914
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Travelodge Docklands after arriving late from the Airport - check in was easy and efficient - Thank goodness. Our room was clean and welcoming.

Checking out the next morning was easy and no problem to leave our bags there before leaving a few hours later.

However, as the staff knew we were on our way elsewhere it would have been great had they asked if we need help with getting anywhere i.e. the Train Station and a super easy way to get there. Or provide travellers with a note in their rooms, as I'm sure there must be 100's of people heading back to the train station to catch Trains or Buses.

Had we known the quick and hassle free way (which didn't have Stairs or dead ends, lugging bags etc, as travellers do) it would have saved us time and hassles.

Make sure you ask about the lift in the building around the corner that takes you up 2 flights to a walkway straight into the train station. Very handy if you are made aware of this.

:-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Lynda

Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We do supply directions to the train station with our confirmation emails however I will pass on your comments to the team to make them aware.

We hope you choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A little hidden, but worth finding - located directly behind Southern Cross Station in Aurora Lane, this hotel is a great value option!
Modern, well-appointed room ( comfy king-size bed, pull-out sofa , large flat screen tv, bar fridge, kettle ) and a full continental breakfast (hot and cold options galore)...
Best reached by walking on the overpass leading to Etihad Stadium next to Sthn Cross station, and either using the lift or stairs down to Aurora Lane...
Close enough to everything ( if you don't want to walk then catch a tram!! ) and well-priced...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Gotigers80

Thanks for posting a great review!

We thank you for choosing to stay at Travelodge Docklands and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Travelodge Docklands during the Easter long weekend. Due to its location being a bit further from the CBD, the prices during this peak season wasn't too bad - worked out to be an average of $100/night.

As I had booked through a third-party website, I was a bit worred about my booking not going through. However, I was worried for nothing as the hotel sent through a confirmation of my booking a couple of days prior.

Our room wasn't too spacious nor too small. We booked a guest room with a King bed. The room was able to accomodate two people, each with luggage, very easily. We had room to move.
The room was clean and housekeeping came and cleaned up every second day for us whilst we were out.
The bathroom was clean and also included a hair dryer. There was ample space for my to leave out my skincare products and makeup products.

As our flight wasn't landing until 11.30pm, I did let the hotel know prior to our arrival that we would be checking in near midnight. This wasn't a problem as they had a staff member at the reception area 24 hours! They were able to accomodate to my many requests after reading the tips here - non-adjoining room, away from the station and the lifts, and an elevated room. Whilst our room was adjoining, no one else was staying next door so it wasn't a problem.

On our second day, there was an issue with the key card which was fixed instantly by the friendly staff member.

We also had the included breakfast which was average. There wasn't a lot of choice but it was enough to fill you up.

Knowing that we were staying during a peak period, I wasn't prepared to pay a premium for it so I was happy staying in Docklands. It has a restaurant district within walkable distance and you could easily walk into the CBD. It is right next to Southern Cross Station for easy transport.

We had a hire car so we opted for the parking which was $19/day. You just need to bring the parking ticket with you to get it validated.

All in all, I would stay at Travelodge Docklands again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room, away from the station and the lifts, and an elevated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Julie

Thank you for taking the time to post an in-depth review of our hotel. I'm sure a lot of our potential guests will find it useful and I hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you need to be in Docklands, especially near the Etihad/Docklands stadium, stay here. If you want to be near the CBD, keep looking. That said, it was OK. A rather sparse room, with a strange little window, but it really wasn't too bad.

The lobby felt like an international youth hostel, with lots of asian and pacific tour groups, and some asian airline that wears orange jackets used it as their crew hotel. But it was all very clean and well-kept. You do hear a lot of noise from the hallway, but only the odd honk from the giant railway station behind the hotel (Southern Cross, used to be Spencer Street). And racket from the stadium, don't stay there if there's a big rock concert you don't want to hear!

The staff were universally excellent. Mostly young asian folk, they were really impressive. Very eager to help, engaged, helpful, and friendly. They seemed a cut above the actual hotel. 5-star staff, all of them.

The location itself is weird. If you're on foot or in a car, you will find getting to the front door a frustrating experience, it's hidden in a laneway, right next to the Channel Nine office building (which you can see into).

The TV was very good, flat and wall-mounted with a tilt thing that worked well. The beds were the Sleepmaker Hospitality ones, but very stiff and firm indeed. The pillows are terrible! As per the other reviews... if you care about pillows, order your upgraded pillow at check-in. The upgraded pillows aren't great either, but better than the cheap-shop $5 horrors in the rooms.
Heaps of eateries nearby, and groggeries too (definitely no need to use the minibar). If you are on Telstra internet, the 4G is a 1-bar, but very stable.

It was OK, I won't stay there again, mainly due to location and spartan-ness, but it wasn't dreadful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Ant100

Thanks for your positive review. I am glad you found the team here pleasant and we hope you do choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
192 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a budget hotel located in Docklands. Have stayed on many occasions previously with very mixed experience but this last visit of two nights will be my last.
Room was not clean with dust and hair very much obvious. You could smell smoke within the room and particularly in the blanket. Guests in next room were also observed smoking.
Despite raising with front desk little (sorry nothing) done.
It's a great location but they have lost me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Bobbali99

Thanks for taking the time to comment again on Travelodge Docklands. I would like to apologise for the issues surrounding your most recent stay. We are a non-smoking hotel and do not permit smoking in any indoor areas. Unfortunately on occassion guests choose to ignore this advise.

Over the past few weeks we have chosen to end our relationship with one particular company due to the groups they booked showing little regard for our other guests. We do take this feedback and can assure you that our reception team did everything in their power to address this issue.

We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Well positioned to enjoy the city. Breakfast was a little bit of a let down. Great nights sleep, no outside noise. Had to ask where breakfast was as no signage to let you know dining room was on the 4th level!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jan S

Thank you for your review of Travelodge Docklands. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
3,324 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#86 of 158 in Melbourne
891 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Toga Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing