We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Ranked #48 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Or E gun
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The location rather than being out of the way is actually pretty convenient given the free circle tram that is available. Located near the stadium and railroad tracks, noise is actually not a problem, but you will want to avoid days when games/concerts are taking place as many people use this hotel as a crash pad for those events, and things can get messy and loud. In addition, the new and impressive Southern Cross Station offers a number of amenities, including a large grocery store (Coles) to supplement your dining choices and provide whatever else you may have forgotten.

The bathroom is clean with good water pressure. The bed is comfy enough, though being a budget hotel, the sheets are not the softest.
Overall a pleasant stay - you know what you're getting at this star level and Travelodge delivers it without surprises.

FYI: The Melbourne airport shuttle service arrives at Southern Cross Station before sending passengers to their hotels in smaller vans. Which means you have the option of wheeling your bags across the footbridge to the hotel if you don't want to wait for the shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theseatsaretooclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. On behalf of the team I'd like to thank you for choosing us and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    1,404
    414
    82
    32
See reviews for
543
829
301
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had two nights here in December, for a pre-Christmas shopping trip. Within about half an hour of our plane landing we were in our hotel room (via Skybus and a short walk) - it doesn't get much more convenient than that!

This hotel is our preferred accommodation for shopping trips - it's within close walking distance to DFO South Wharf (10 mins), Southern Cross Station (2 mins) and the free City Circle tram route (5 mins - but early risers, beware the timetable - the free service doesn't start until 10am each day). If you don't mind a walk, it's only about 15-20 minutes into Bourke Street Mall (took us about 30 mins pausing and window-shopping along the way), plus a bit extra for Chinatown, Southbank etc. We did the walk across town a couple of times and really enjoyed seeing all the little shops and cafes - but if trams are your preference they're everywhere!

On this trip we found the service friendlier than on previous stays - admittedly we had to initiate the smiles and warmth but when we did so they were returned without hesitation - and we were thrilled when we arrived at about 8am (up since 4am to get the plane) to be told that our room was ready - we certainly didn't expect that in the week before Christmas. Overall we were really happy with our stay and we will definitely return.

Pros:
- Efficient, professional and friendly service
- Location, location, location
- Clean rooms
- Comfortable beds
- Good range of free TV channels
- Reasonably-priced internet access in the foyer next to reception
- No apparent discrimination against customers who have booked using online discount site (wotif/lastminute etc) - we've stayed multiple times using various booking methods and we always get a consistent standard of room, which is great!

Cons:
- Room service meals were pretty basic and unimaginative (pile of lettuce + drenching of balsamic vinegar = bad bad side salad!), but I guess that's in line with the Travelodge service - streamlined, no frills, etc. It was fine for a basic meal at the end of a long day of shopping.
- It's probably worth pointing out that, as two females, we wouldn't have felt very comfortable walking back to our hotel late at night - normally we wouldn't think twice about it if we were staying in the heart of the city - but this is just 'out of the way' enough to make the thoroughfare a bit daunting in the dark.

Essentially if what you're looking for is a clean, quiet, convenient room with everything you need for quick pit-stops between shopping, eating, sightseeing etc, Travelodge Docklands is ideal. We've stayed there several times and will return again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such and informative and useful review. We are so pleased you chose to stay with us again and that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great handy location with the train station, less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel.
Great fancy lobby and polite service from staff.
The rooms where very large, with en suite with big shower.
It had a mini bar with soft drinks wine and beer.
Also they were a selection of nuts chocolate and other sweets, you do have to pay for it when you check out but it's nice knowing it's all there, the room also had a micro wave and dining equipment. I went out and bought a few horrible microwaveable meals to eat.
I was vext I didn't have more time to stay at the hotel to enjoy it more with the nice comfortable beds and great widescreen tv.

The one thing that bugged me was that you had to pay for wifi, which was very expensive, so I just had to use my mobile for the Internet.

All in all it was a great hotel, shame the wifi fee's is hindered me giving the hotel a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for such a positive review. We have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I booked this hotel through Wotif for a reduced price and was glad I didn't pay full price. The hotel is brand new so everything is clean and fresh but the rooms are tiny, and this part of Docklands seems to be so squashed, with everything built on top of each other, all windows look out on another building. However access to Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross Stadium and all the corporate buildings based here is second to none. A short walk from the hotel (50 Mtrs) gets you to lifts to get on the right level for the trains and trams. Nice hotel with pleasant staff and easy access to everything in Melbourne but no bells and whistles

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMonster-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. We are pleased your stay was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. And will return again in January for 4 more nights. Was a great overall experience for us and the hotel staff were very courteous and polite and extremely helpful.
Our only complaint was that the drains omitted a bad smell but this was not unbearable. Aside this the room was roomy enough for
2 and we were able to get a free
12 o'clock checkout by liking and checking in at their Facebook page. :D thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtayMehmet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

When you looking for a "no glam", low cost accomodation that is modern, clean and walking distance to Docklands then look no further. I wouldn't ordinarily book this type of accomodation however it was perfectly placed to walk to a Christmas function at Central Pier, Docklands.
I was pleasantaly surprised when i stepped inside. Although the rooms are small in size, you can look past this for the price and the ease of walking to nearby restaurants

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for choosing Travelodge Docklands and wish you all the best for the new year.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed four nights Dec.
The room was minimalist. We only had one pillow each, less than the norm of two to a person that we have come to expect. The blanket was not clean cos there were a couple of strands of hair stuck to it when we first entered the room. The carpet was definitely not vaccumed as my sensitive skin started to itch badly. The bathroom had only soap (which didnt lather well) and nothing else, not even a shower cap. The bathroom floor was dirty, as strands of hair were left behind each of the four days we were there. The towels were grey and thin and looked like they were not washed. When I first poured boiled water onto a tea cup, I saw specks of black stuff come out of the kettle. The housekeeping dept truly needs an urgent overhaul.
The other properties in Oz that we stayed prior to this, were all generally quite good. Having been used to a rather high standard, Travelodge was quite a let down.
Thankfully, service was quite good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Conveniently located near Southern Cross train station and the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I have taken your feedback to the housekeeping team to ensure they improve the areas you identified.

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you back if you are returning to Melbourne in the future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,785 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands

Property: Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing