We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Sosta Cucina

Sosta Cucina
Reserve with
Sosta Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Had the five course degustation with matched wines. Fabulous food, perfect sizes for a degustation and the wines were beautiful. Service was great and the staff were fun! Definitely will be back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent business lunch”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a regular destination of mine. Has a wonderful ambience, professional and friendly staff and delicious, consistent ever changing italian menu. Try the ragu or perfect pasta dishes or perhaps the specials. Sosta has a fabulous wine list with interesting labels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fezzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good experience - enjoyed the meal and would go back”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a lovely dinner for 3 as a catch up with friends.
Restaurant tables are very close together. The restaurant was busy on a Monday night and we found this was no problem.
Service was great.
We had an Italian wine recommended for us and this was very good.
Zucchini flower entree's were great, and the prosciutto with the puffed bread pockets and mozzarella cheese were amazing. Finished off our tastings with an antipasto of meats.
The mains looked nice but my goat was surprisingly tasteless.
But one bad main choice was not enough to spoil the experience and we would go back soon to try dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blowenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great North Melbourne restaurant to have a lunch or dinner,the food is tradional and they have daily specials which are often dishes not found in other restaurants. Service is good and friendly and nothing is too much trouble . Easily accessable by tram from centre of Melbourne city centre

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1946Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Visiting Melbourne for just the day, my cousin arranged for us to meet at Sosta Cucina for lunch before racing out to the airport.

Was not sure what to expect of this place in North Melbourne but I was surprised at how nice was - great intimate fitout and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Makes a massive difference in enjoying a food place. It was great seeing the owner come and chat with us and serve us from time to time. Adds to its authenticity.

We started off with Prosciutto di san Danielle e Mozzarella - very delicate and enjoyable!
Most of my company then ordered the Pappardelle con ragu D'agnello - it was devine and melted in your mouth! I decided to be different and ordered the Capretto (baked goat). This dish also required a side dish so you can enjoy the texture and tast (I ordered Piselli e prosciutto - peas with onion and prosciutto). For those of you who enjoy bread, it's a great way to scoop up the beautiful sauce/juices of the meal as well!

Desserts varied where most of us ordered the awesome doghnuts and some ordered the delicate figs, wafer & icecream :)

Travelling with die hard Italian eaters, they were surprised at the drink menu and some of the Italian liquors/wines that they would rarely see on Australian menus. Loved it!

Yum! The whole meal was very enjoyable and yes I'll definitely be going back on my next visit to Melbourne.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sosta Cucina also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sosta Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing