We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standout food and service”
Review of Sosta Cucina

Sosta Cucina
Ranked #239 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Standout food and service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We found this to be a very good Italian restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed it because the service and food was of such high quality and was totally unpretentious. The pasta dishes were incredibly tasty and entree size as a main was plenty. North Melbourne is also a fabulous change from the more typical (and too busy) Melbourne dining scenes and the restaurant has a great ambience without being too noisy. Loved it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“They take their food seriously”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is hard to fault. From the excellent bread and olive oil, perfectly prepared pasta dishes, capretto, right through to the attentive but unobtrusive service provided by professional waiters, we were delighted. Serves were generous, without being excessive. So we left with that pleasantly satisfied feeling and not begrudging a single cent of the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatPandBobY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Reliably exceptional italian cuisine and fantastic service”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant would be one of my favourite Italian Restaurants in Melbourne. Everything is marvellous from the service, to the owner Maurice who goes to each individual table to see if diners are happy, to the beautiful fresh bread and lovely olive oil and the amazing pastas and main dishes. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have had a few wonderful dining experiences at this restaurant. Food is always fresh, delicious and plentiful. It is fairly quiet and service is impeccable. A very special night out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Therese210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Pricey but pretty perfect!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Popped in here for lunch, we were a bit short of time and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a classic Italian restaurant, crisp white tablecloths and decent tablewear. The waiting staff are also classic...no kids in jeans here. We enjoyed their stuffed Zucchini flowers, they were beautifully cooked, (unlike another famous Italian restaurant in the CBD who had drenched theirs in thick crumbs and grease). Also, had the braised lamb and tortellini - fabulous. They have the choice of smaller portions with some dishes which I find ideal for lunch. Parking is a problem as it's situated on a busy road, there is some on nearby Richmond Rd. I'll definately go back for dinner and try some wines from their interesting and extensive list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sosta Cucina also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sosta Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing