We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fake 4 star hotel , once came , never return .”
Review of Hotel Sofia

Hotel Sofia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sofia
Ranked #14 of 24 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Just lived there , will never return , it is a nightmare .

1. can't believe it is 4 stars , if Ibis is 2 stars .

2. the bed almost occupies 85% of the room ;

3. when it refers to "double room" , only 1 bed inside ; seems they have different standards of their own ;

4. the elevator is so small , said could hold 8 people , but 4 is enough .

5. there is also a CRT television hang down the roof in the room ,

6. The window is made of two piece of glass , and could not close well , the leakage let cold air through all night . not safe at all , if you hang head out of the window , you would worry the glass would fall down and cut your neck . at least I got this feeling .

7. And the hotel policy is just printed out on one white paper w/o any heading , says " no bikes , no camping gear allowed in the room " , it is so informal , every detail tells you this is a fake 4 star .

I am not complaining , but this is the truth , and they are paying commission to agents . such as booking.com ;

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovebusinesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

Small but functional and clean room. Nice and close to everything

Major gripe - there's no way this is a 4* hotel - that's what it's rated as but those pictures on the website look like they got a lot of photoshop and wide angle treatment lenses....

If they called it 3* you'd rate it ok for Australia and recommend it but not with the subterfuge

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S8_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed 1 night in this hotel back in March 09.
The girls on reception were very helpful and friendly but they had 2 male managers there and I thought they were very rude, not just to guests but to their staff. I think they were Greek.
One of the older males knocked on our door at 10am to clean the room and we said we were not ready to check out, which was fine but then he continued banging on doors down the corridor and made a lot of noise that we couldn't get back to sleep anyway so checked out. Trying to check out was another struggle. There was 1 girl finishing and 1 girl starting and the manager would not let the girl starting check us out even though we had already paid.
I liked the hotel and the parking was convienent, but the owners really put me off.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mahoney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank SilviaRR839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valilalooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Tobias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChristianJaeger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,780 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
3,959 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,404 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Address: 277-287 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing