We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Bond”
Review of Hotel Sofia

Hotel Sofia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sofia
Ranked #14 of 24 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for 6 days during the British Lions tour. Hotel was clean and quiet, had breakfast which was a bonus. Ajoins a pub thats does really nice meals that are reasonably priced. Location is close to the main railway staion and tram stop that includes the free city tram. The only downside was you had to give a $150 "bond" when you signed in. This was taken off your credit card. On leaving the "bond" was returned but staff said it could take upto 5 days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very nice place to stay for a short stay, the room was small but it was ample for the short stay, very clean, staff helpful and the room was quite quiet at night. Breakfast was ample and plenty, with scrambled eggs, bacon, eggs, toast, cereals, fruit and juices. The hotel is near the king st tram stop and a very short walk from the Skybus interchange at Southern Cross Station. Some very good Restaurants very close.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkcB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After gaining last minute tickets to Australian Open, I then had the mad internet search for some reasonable accomodation for my son and I. Hotel Sophia ticked the boxes with availability, close to tram stop and reasonable price. After booking this hotel I read some of the reviews and was worried what my son and I were going to encounter. I was plently surprised. Staff were friendly, room was clean, beds were comfortable ( we had a king size and single bed, plus a lounge), and the bathroom had recently been refurbished. Whilst it did have a shower over the bath, not my cup of tea, it was spotless. Our room was at the back of hotel, so night time noise wasn't a problem. It was only a short walk to tram stop and Coles was close by for any grocery supplies. Breakfast was included in the price. It was basic but that suited us and it included a selection of cereals, toast, eggs and hash browns. This hotel has obviously been a pub in its day, hence the high ceilings and layout. If you are wanting a Hotel to sit in and look and the view, this is not for you, but if you are like us and just want something clean and cofortable to come back to at the end of a busy Melbourne day, I would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the the back of the hotel. We had no problem with no nightime noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sofia for one night as we were in Melbourne for a gig at the Etihad Stadium. The location was great for the stadium, train station, bars and shops. We had a double room with shared bathroom, which was clean and had most facilities you could want. Could have done with a bit more shelf space in the shower room. The breakfast was included in the rate and was a buffet style of lots of eggs and toast, but no sausage or bacon. The price was reasonable given the location, quality and breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkotago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I don’t know if this review is still helpful as we stayed here in 2009. My partner and I were students and were looking for budget accommodation. Only good thing about this hotel was its location. I was taken aback by the shabby hallways and room. Thank god we had a friend who was taking us around both days and we only returned to sleep here. The bed was fine and clean sheets thankfully.
Another good thing was their receptionist on the first morning. We had taken the early morning flight and arrived at the hotel way before check in time (with luggage). The receptionist asked us to wait in the lounge/dining area and offered the hot breakfast. Which was nice for us budget tied people.
I would not recommend this place though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fakhra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The location of the hotel is within walking distance to Melbourne's Southern Cross Railway Station - about 4 streets away and Melbourne's free Public City Circle Tram just 1 street away. Melbourne's famous Queen Victoria Market is nearby. The hotel is very dated with worn and old furniture in the rooms, especially the stained carpets and chairs. This hotel needs to be refurbished extensively, especially if it wants to call itself a boutique hotel. This is actually a 1-star hotel. The rooms are noisy from street traffic and you'll hear a lot of noise coming from the bar located at the ground level of the hotel. Safety was a huge concern because anyone can enter the bar from the street and will gain easy access to the hotel's small reception area - where the elevator services all 3 floors of the hotel. The bar door is always left open during bar hours. Receptionists are cold - no smiles or a warm greeting. Food served in the breakfast area is mediocre. Hot food (eggs, bacon, pancakes) run out fast and are not replaced quickly nor are the hot trays checked often. Not once in 3 days did we see restaurant staff wipe down nor clean a table after it was used. They just take the utensils and dishes away. Breakfast staff are unfriendly - both woman have ice-cold faces - never smiling nor polite. It seems they don't like their job. Internet access is not free. Pass this hotel up - it's not worth the cost and free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street, not near the elevator, not above the bar and not on the side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

So I stayed at this place last year, spent hours writing a review to add to the 400 others that hated the place and for some reason they are no longer on here...
Hmmm I wonder who could of deleted it off??? Waste of time really because by the looks of it, the new reviews are not much better...
I warn you people DO NOT STAY HERE..

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CRMM1212314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,827 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,481 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Address: 277-287 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing