We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sofia
Nearby Hotels
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$169
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$160
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
1
16
8
9
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
16
8
9
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort staytrain stationetihad stadiumwalking distanceeateries
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 53 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very nice place to stay for a short stay, the room was small but it was ample for the short stay, very clean, staff helpful and the room was quite quiet at night. Breakfast was ample and plenty, with scrambled eggs, bacon, eggs, toast, cereals, fruit and juices. The hotel is near the king st tram stop and a very short walk from the Skybus interchange at Southern Cross Station. Some very good Restaurants very close.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkcB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After gaining last minute tickets to Australian Open, I then had the mad internet search for some reasonable accomodation for my son and I. Hotel Sophia ticked the boxes with availability, close to tram stop and reasonable price. After booking this hotel I read some of the reviews and was worried what my son and I were going to encounter. I was plently surprised. Staff were friendly, room was clean, beds were comfortable ( we had a king size and single bed, plus a lounge), and the bathroom had recently been refurbished. Whilst it did have a shower over the bath, not my cup of tea, it was spotless. Our room was at the back of hotel, so night time noise wasn't a problem. It was only a short walk to tram stop and Coles was close by for any grocery supplies. Breakfast was included in the price. It was basic but that suited us and it included a selection of cereals, toast, eggs and hash browns. This hotel has obviously been a pub in its day, hence the high ceilings and layout. If you are wanting a Hotel to sit in and look and the view, this is not for you, but if you are like us and just want something clean and cofortable to come back to at the end of a busy Melbourne day, I would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the the back of the hotel. We had no problem with no nightime noise
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sofia for one night as we were in Melbourne for a gig at the Etihad Stadium. The location was great for the stadium, train station, bars and shops. We had a double room with shared bathroom, which was clean and had most facilities you could want. Could have done with a bit more shelf space in the shower room. The breakfast was included in the rate and was a buffet style of lots of eggs and toast, but no sausage or bacon. The price was reasonable given the location, quality and breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkotago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I don’t know if this review is still helpful as we stayed here in 2009. My partner and I were students and were looking for budget accommodation. Only good thing about this hotel was its location. I was taken aback by the shabby hallways and room. Thank god we had a friend who was taking us around both days and we only returned to sleep here. The bed was fine and clean sheets thankfully.
Another good thing was their receptionist on the first morning. We had taken the early morning flight and arrived at the hotel way before check in time (with luggage). The receptionist asked us to wait in the lounge/dining area and offered the hot breakfast. Which was nice for us budget tied people.
I would not recommend this place though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fakhra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The location of the hotel is within walking distance to Melbourne's Southern Cross Railway Station - about 4 streets away and Melbourne's free Public City Circle Tram just 1 street away. Melbourne's famous Queen Victoria Market is nearby. The hotel is very dated with worn and old furniture in the rooms, especially the stained carpets and chairs. This hotel needs to be refurbished extensively, especially if it wants to call itself a boutique hotel. This is actually a 1-star hotel. The rooms are noisy from street traffic and you'll hear a lot of noise coming from the bar located at the ground level of the hotel. Safety was a huge concern because anyone can enter the bar from the street and will gain easy access to the hotel's small reception area - where the elevator services all 3 floors of the hotel. The bar door is always left open during bar hours. Receptionists are cold - no smiles or a warm greeting. Food served in the breakfast area is mediocre. Hot food (eggs, bacon, pancakes) run out fast and are not replaced quickly nor are the hot trays checked often. Not once in 3 days did we see restaurant staff wipe down nor clean a table after it was used. They just take the utensils and dishes away. Breakfast staff are unfriendly - both woman have ice-cold faces - never smiling nor polite. It seems they don't like their job. Internet access is not free. Pass this hotel up - it's not worth the cost and free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street, not near the elevator, not above the bar and not on the side of the hotel where the bar is located at the ground level. Be prepared for a small dated room that needs refurbishing, especially the stained chairs and carpets.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews