We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very chilled out, whether for business or pleasure it is fantastic! The rooms are big and spacious, clean and smell great. Can not recommend this hotel highly enough to everyone I know!
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and quite honestly the Olsen is one of my favourites and I always stay here when I come to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear 315Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. It is fantastic to hear guest feedback and it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay.

It is an honour to hear that we are considered one of your favourites considering you are an avid traveller.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    347
    114
    48
    21
See reviews for
154
569
116
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved my daily swim in the heated pool, loved the artworks that adored every corridor and room, loved the happy friendly staff and loved my bed. Hotel very difficult to fault - would highly recommend it for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Ask the staff - they are very honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Clare W,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. We are very fortunate to have a funky glass bottom swimming pool that overlooks onto Chapel Street, I am very happy to hear that you made the most of it.

Art Series tries to ensure that guests are surrounded by art, at [The Olsen] we are very lucky to have an array of prints in our guest suites in addition to the origional works of Dr John Olsen in our Galleries.

I am delighted to read your comment regarding the team here "ask the staff - they are very honest!". At [The Olsen] we ensure our team are honest and give genuine advice/recommendations.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Your standard 4 or 5 star hotel in a big city sometimes can feel rather old fashioned and uninspiring. Yes, you will get the good service in these hotels, but the mainstream 'luxury' decor (and lobby bars that have a vibe akin to that of a doctor's surgery waiting room) often lead to a rather lacklustre experience. Looking for a new experience in one of my many trips to Melbourne, I moved away from the usual 4 or 5 star CBD hotel and instead booked 2 nights at The Olsen in South Yarra.

Unsurprisingly, the lobby (which is tucked away from the thoroughfare of Chapel Street) has a modern, lively and sophisticated vibe. Next to the lobby is the hotel restaurant 'Spoonbill' which is great for both a drink before heading out for the night or for a tasty lunch or dinner. I can recommend the shredded vegetable salad and the kinkawooka mussels.

The hotel room was a comfortable size with good natural lighting entering from a large window. The room also contained basic kitchen facilities including an electric stove and a sink. The bed had incredibly comfortable sheets and pillows which I looked forward to jumping into each evening.

Travel to the CBD or other areas such as Southbank or St Kilda was easy and cheap (never more than a $10-15 taxi fare). Being directly on Chapel Street, The Olsen was close to the action (but without being on top of it). I felt everything I needed was only ever a short walk or taxi ride away.

I can highly recommend the Norbu Urban Retreat Day Spa. Not long after I arrived at the hotel, I was able to make a last minute beauty appointment. The next day I went back for a beautiful massage and a detoxifying infrared sauna, which was much needed after the big night out I had.

The Olsen is a game changer and will leave you questioning why you'd ever stay at the usual big luxury hotel chains again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear embo001,

Wow what a fantastic review! I cannot express how happy I am to receive your insightful experience here at [The Olsen]. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us.

I enjoyed that you described your experience from your first impression of arriving at the hotel to the details of the suite and the facilities.

Also, we are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

Once again thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. Art Series Hotels is exactly that, we wish to be game changers and invite guests to enjoy a unique experience.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After travelling the world and staying in hundreds of Hotels we are quite cynical about Australia's Hotels normally due to poor service and untrained staff. However The Olsen was really good. The staff on reception could not have been better and the restaurant was excellent too both in food quality and service. The rooms are a bit small and no luggage rack however these things are minor when everything else id good. Well positioned for Chapel Street shopping and transport.
We had a small problem with our TV whilst watching a movie and it was fixed immediately with no charges for the movies. Normally you would have to argue this point in most Australian Hotels. The beds and pillows were the best we have had here - very comfortable and it was great not waking up with a stiff neck due to poor pillows.We would certainly stay here again and recommend it even if you want to be in the city as the train is easy and takes 10 mins.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room and it overlooked a crane and building works - not the fault of the Olsen - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Kathy C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review from your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were extreemly impressed with your stay and in particular our team.

We are very fortunate to have a team here that is very passionate about what they do and this is reflected in their service. [The Olsen] offers an array of room types ranging from Studio Suites to our Lake Eyre Penthouse.

The hotel is positioned in a fantastic location in South Yarra close to many retail stores, restaurants and cafes.

Art Series Hotels is now selling our signature bedding so you can take the comfort home with you.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed one night and was fortunate to be on the top floor, great views, comfortable clean, light & airy room. The bed was so comfortable & the rooms are very quiet. Reception staff are friendly and from the time you arrive to check out they ensure your stay is one to remember. Great location and one that will leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3023Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear 3023Kitty,

Thank you for providing fantastic feedback from your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the suite. We are now selling the Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the team, it is always fantastic to receive comments in relation to excellent service. I am very happy to hear that [The Olsen] has left a lasting impression.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had a lovely staycation here at my now new favourite hotel in Melbourne. I dont just love it for the beautiful pool, but also for the comfortable beds, lovely amenities and delicious restaurant food. I arrived feeling a bit sad and left feeling very happy and relaxed. Norbu, the spa and beauty salon is also very good.
Will be back soon actually. Cant get enough- addicted to The Olsen.
Thank you to all staff for looking out for me.

Room Tip: ask for room 511. has a balcony and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Susannah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review from your recent stay with us at [The Olsen]. We love to hear that we have become a guests new favourite. We are very lucky to have fantastic facilities and very comfortable beds. We are now selling our Art Series Signature bedding so you can take the comfort home with you.

I am delighted that you left feeling very happy and relaxed!

Thank you for the kind words regarding the team here, I am very happy to hear that they were able to make your stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have spent two nights in this hotel recently and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a standard room overlooking Chapel Street. The room was just right size, little kitchenette, great bathroom, comfy seating area, beautiful bed and great art work. It was spotlessly clean and we are already planning to go back for our next special occasion. It is close to heaps of eateries, cafes and two very "dangerous" pattiseries where I found myself out of control and now I probably have to diet for a while! The staff at the reception were exceptional too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaPete919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear EvaPete919,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. We are very fortunate to have kitchenette's in all of our suites in addition to the array of John Olsen artwork throughout the hotel and guest rooms.

It sounds like you explored the local area and enjoyed the different restaurants and cafes that South Yarra has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back foryour next special occasion.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing