We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at the Olsen was great. You walk into your room and and immediately notice the tranquil music and relaxing aroma. The rooms are slightly small but have great attention to detail. Location is fantastic for shopping weekend. Restaurant is great and not too pricey. Loved the gym and pool as well. A memorable stay and we'll certainly be back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TobyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi TobyP17
Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Olsen.
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of our facilities such as our Spoonbill Restaurant and our Pool Deck Level.
We look forward to sharing the pool deck area with our guests over the summer months, in fact every Sunday from January we will be hosting the Olsen Pool Club complete with a resident DJ and poolside bar.
Cheers,
Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel - great position - staff fantastic - able to hire a Smart Car - sensational - Rooms good size with a good view along Chapel St - Love the bar - good service (maybe too good our first night!!) Breakfast a little haphazard - but good coffee.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view over Chapel St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntjudy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear HuntJudy66
Thank you for your terrific review, we are thrilled you enjoyed our time with us at the Olsen.
Great to see you spotted our smart cars which can be hired for the day or even hourly for just $10! Our cars along with bikes are great way for our guests to get around town.
Hope to see you back soon,
Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I chose to take my crew to Spoonbill for lunch last Sunday. My paella was delicious, the Mojito refreshing and the pear dessert amazing. One of guests enjoyed the Snapper (whole) and the presentation was perfect.

After sharing a great meal, we stayed in the spacious two bedroom apartment overnight. From the balcony my partner and I enjoyed views over the city. Comfy bed, quick room service (the best tasting burger - ever!). Try the vegetarian breakfast - so nourishing.

The service was friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.

I love The Olsen. It's unearthed a sizeable nugget of Australian pride knowing that the hotel features the amazing artistic talents of Dr John Olsen.

I could go on, but I'll just say, you must experience the hotel yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi HerminaB,
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Olsen Hotel and tell us about your stay.
We are delighted to hear you had a brilliant lunch in Spoonbill our Head Chef was happy to read your comments as we are very proud of our current menu and of course our paella which is our signature dish. Glad you had such a terrific time surrounded by our beautiful artwork.
We would love to see you back soon over summer,
Kind Regards
Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great hotel stay at The Olsen for two nights this weekend. Especially enjoyed the art and the modern interesting rooms and the very pleasant and efficient dealings with all staff members I encountered.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review on the Olsen, So thrilled to hear you had a great time with us and found our staff helpful, we are proud to have a wonderful team on board.
Hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Got a good last minute price at the Olsen. Great location in S Yarra among restaurant, coffee shops and bars. Great service at the front desk. Room a bit blinged out - clear plastic chairs and lot of chrome - not really my style but looks good. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello PaulV,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it!
We are thrilled that your enjoyed your time with us and loved the location of the Olsen.
Certainly there are amazing cafes, shops bars and restaurants popping up all around the Olsen and it’s a great location to truly explore all that South Yarra/ Richmond has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Regards,
Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the Derby Day weekend and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Even though it was one of the busiest times of the year in Melbourne, all the staff were extremely friendly, attentive and if we asked or enquired about anything they were onto it straight away. Overall an excellent experience, The Olsen will definitely be our first choice when we are next in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello DebbieM,
Thankyou for your awesome review, we love hearing that you had a terrific time at the Olsen and our staff looked after your needs.
Although it would have been a busy time in Melbourne over the Spring Carnival we love these fun event times here at the Olsen and we are glad we could have shared this with you and your boyfriend.
Cheers!
Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've had a few people tell me this is a good hotel so I decided to give it a try on a recent business trip. Whilst I only stayed one night, I really didn't rate the hotel and won't be rushing back.

Why?

Firstly, the check-in experience was annoying - after 10pm at night the lobby had music blaring to the point where the staff member had to ask me to speak up as he couldn't hear me!

The room I was in was bizarre in its layout. The bed was basically crammed into a corner which made the whole room feel small. I really don't get the plastic furniture trend either.

Whilst the room was clean, the tap in the kitchenette sink was split and sprayed water everywhere but down when used. Overall it just didn't have a comfortable feel to it.

And yet more overly loud club music at reception the next morning...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi MarkP,
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review your Olsen stay, we appreciate your feedback.
Myself and Management have taken on your feedback and made some permanent changes with regard to the music, we revamped our playlist so it’s more time of day relative and we have amended the volume levels of our in-house PA system.
Thankyou again for your advice we do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $137 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing