We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“One of the best hotels we've stayed in...”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Melbourne staying at The Olsen and have to say that it was definitely the highlight of our trip. The staff at The Olsen were so very helpful - providing us with great local recommendations and ensuring we were always comfortable. The room was a great size and the location was perfect! Only a stroll away from Richmond and right next door to the fashion strip on Chapel St. The hotel also provides a great service whereby guests are able to hire smart cars for a couple of hours or even the entire day. We will definitely be booking The Olsen for our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
WOW - This is really exciting to hear!!! Our staff will love reading this review.
Thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.

Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    409
    134
    59
    26
See reviews for
183
659
132
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 914. Balcony suite.
Very clean. Dream bed made for perfect night sleep. Friendly helpful staff.
Recommend room service from Spoonbill, we just had a beef burger but wow it was the best we had in a very long while.
Parking onsite is a little intense, very tight spaces.
Excellent location. Very happy with our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TashandDonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback and for taking the time to write about your stay.
Our Executive Chef, Russell, will be extremely pleased to hear you loved his Beef burger!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love this hotel. It has such great rooms and it's close to most things in the city. Love the evo bath products and you can also purchase the art from the walls. The in room menu was lovely and they brought my food really quickly! I did however think the breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was a little average and the wait staff not entirely attentive and quite slow.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brookepilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at the Olsen. We are pleased to read it is your Fav hotel when staying in Melbourne.
I will certainly pass on your comments about Spoonbill to the Food and Beverage Manager. He would really like to hear this feedback, and certainly work on fixing this .Please feel free to contact direct, if you do wish to discuss this further.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I often stay at the Olsen for biz, love the artwork, ambiance and great place to stay outside of the city. The service can be a bit erratic, from excellent to diffident but generally the folk are really friendly and helpful. It's also close enough to the yarra to go for a morning run too :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Olsen.
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do look forward to seeing you again, next time you are in Melbourne.
Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel had a clean, crisp feeling. It was really a lovely place to stay. They even upgraded us when we got there to a suite after we had booked a standard room. They were very accomodating. There is a parking garage that we used and had easy access to. It had 2 bedrooms, a living room, small kitchenette and balcony. The beds here are HEAVENLY, the sheets, pillows, and comforter are so nice I wanted to take them home. They have bikes and cars available to rent for an hour or a day. It was a good location in Yara, a couple minute walk to the train. Loved my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_cupcake22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
How lovely!!!! A upgrade to a suite. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay and that you have written to us about your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Awesome Stay in this hotel. Room is very Artsy and has a cool shower screen seperating the room from the bathroom. Room was a little warm in the afternoon as it faced west but cooled down in a couple of minutes after the a/c was switched on. Awesome location on Chapel Street where great coffee and shopping! Spent an excellent weekend here.

Room Tip: Maybe East facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamThorntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us at the Hotel. It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed yourself, which I am pleased to hear,
On your next stay, please request a East facing room, and we will certainly do our best to accommodate you.

Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

First of all, this hotel is not in the city, but 2 miles away in the South Yarra area. A very nice and upscale area of town but it not too over priced. Lots of boutique restaurants, shops and even hotels. I like this area better than staying in town and there is a train stop minutes away that takes you right into the city and 2 different tram line intersect at the corner.
This hotel is so personal and friendly and the staff is so eager to help. The rooms are wonderful with an oven/microwave and small stove and sink. I made a few different things in my room like pasta and stir fry. My only gripe about the room is the acrylic chairs and cushions. The cushions tie to the slick chairs and end up tearing the tie and sliding off the chair onto the floor.
The gym has some machines and free weights. It is right next to the pool and even though it is in a room, it is still technically outside so it might get cold in the mornings. The pool over hangs the sidewalk and from the pool you can see out to the street and even look down and see the sidewalk below. It is heated and is very nice.
Right across the street in the Vogue Plaza there is a Woolworth grocery store to stock up your room. If there is stuff in your fridge, the staff will take it out for you. There is a switch under the cabinets to turn on the stove so you don't accidentally turn it on.
Out front the hotel they have bikes to ride and a car to rent. One of my co-workers took the car down the coast to see the apostles rock formation. There is a great bike path not far from the hotel that runs down the river.

The hotel is a bit noisy. If you face Chapel street then you hear the trams run, if you face the back you can hear the kids playing on the sports fields early in the morning. Some rooms have balconies too.

I hope this review was helpful. If it was click YES.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
This is a wonderful review about your stay with us at the Olsen. I am very pleased you loved this place and everything was amazing!
Thank you for sharing your experience.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,033 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 159 in Melbourne
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing