We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Art Series Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the Art Series Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for work recently, and loved it! I was right in behind the elevators, but even as a light sleeper it didn't bother me that much. Great service from all staff, and loved the little touches of luxury - right down to packets of T2 tea (my fav!) in the kitchen area. Very comfortable bed, big spacious bathroom. Short walk down to the shops on Chapel St, and I enjoyed walking through the suburbs of South Yarra when I had some down time. Staff gave excellent restaurant recommendations, although the restaurant they have in the hotel is also incredible!

All in all I had a great stay - although if not staying for work, would probably be slightly out of my budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience whilst staying with us at the Olsen.
We are very pleased to read, that you had a wonderful time.
We do look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    415
    135
    60
    26
See reviews for
185
669
133
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location. We arrived at 10am and were checked in early for no extra charge and also received a free upgrade. Very nice rooms and comfy beds. Definitely recommend. Great service and vibe. Will definitely be back if I return to Melbourne. It's a shame it was so cold but that's Melbourne!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely thrilled to read your wonderful review from your recent stay with us at the Olsen.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel is fine, however there are plenty better choices in Melbourne for the rates they offer.
Rooms are only average size with glass separator between sleeping area and bathroom... wierd
Location is great, no argument here, however charging us 2% on the visa card is a BAD TASTE these days!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexPrakhiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

At first I didn't get the whole 'art' thing, but it grew on me pretty quickly. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the rooms are pretty nice. Be warned, they put out water like it's free but you'll get a surprise when you check out.
The reception staff could be more professional, and when I checked in late at night the ambient music was turned up so loud I could barely hear the receptionist. That was the only time it seemed too loud. There are many restaurants in the area, and I'd suggest walking the few extra meters to find alternates to the ones attached to the hotel. I asked around and heard predominately negative reviews for all meals they had on site.
I tried room service and was told the hours on the book in the room weren't the right hours, and it depended on the restaurant as to when they wanted to serve out of which section. The front desk really didn't seem to care when my call was re-routed to them.
This could be an amazing hotel. Minus the eating stuff, I loved staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank where_to_next1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kareno13,

We’re thrilled to hear you loved staying at [The Olsen]

We look forward to welcoming you back to [The Olsen] next time you are in Melbourne and ensuring you enjoy the ‘art’ of South Yarra.

Regards,
The Olsen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Olsen hotel reminded me of the Museum hotel in Wellington, NZ. However, it wouldn’t it beat neither by quality nor by the history. Having said that, the Olsen hotel is great! It just does not have as many artworks and stuff. It seemed to be very fresh and very well appointed on the inside. Rooms are very small (at least the one I’ve got) with spacious bathroom, nice interiors and are very clean. On the positive side the room has had a small kitchen with all the basic stuff including a proper coffee machine. Tea/coffee supplies were good, not the cheap no-name brands. Iron, ironing board, sleepers and robes were also available. Restaurant at the ground floor offered a good menu too (I only had one breakfast there and it was good).

However, all that comes with a price tag... The room costed about $240/night. So take it into account for the room size you get not in the city centre.

On the negative side of things I wasn’t really happy about them charging my credit card instead of the sponsoring company that has done bookings for me – it took me a bit of time to get the reimbursement from the company I was visiting. But if you travel for yourself, it shouldn’t be an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear PPerth, Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at [The Olsen]. We are lucky to have a selection of original works by Dr John Olsen with a majority of these works coming from his Williams Creek series from 2002. At [The Olsen] we endeavour to provide all of our guests with a truly boutique experience. It is the attention to detail from our T2 selection of teas to the collaboration with Evo Hair for our exclusive hotel amenities combined with the in room furnishing and our hand selected staff that provide a truly unique experience at [The Olsen].

We look forward to welcoming you back to [The Olsen] next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowy Mountains, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently with my partner at the Olsen and we both enjoyed our stay.

Check in was nice and easy, we arrived at around Midday but were able to be accommodated easily after the GSA followed up with housekeeping.

The location of The Olsen is spot on - brilliant location for shopping, browsing and getting around. It was only a 2 minute stroll down to Toorak Road and more importantly another 5 minutes down to Malvern Street where a cracking Souvlaki can be purchased @ Lambs !

Anyway, the room itself was well appointed with a hot plate, dishwasher, toaster etc so enough to cook up a mini storm if the weather is keeping you indoors. The room was neat and tidy and the bed was perfect.

We were located on level 12 (no level 13 at this place) and the penthouses must have been above us as it was surprisingly noisey with people stomping around and moving furniture upstairs - I suspect we also had a spa above us also as there was a bit of a pump noise that kicked in every now and then. But was not a big issue for us - but perhaps I will aim for level 11 next time.

I didnt dine in Spoonbill but did have a cheeky James Squires Golden Ale ($10) which was served by a friendly barman - the place looked pretty nice and some of the food that was coming out of the kitchen did tempt !

Will I come back ? Sure, I'd also like to check out the other Art Series Properties.

Well done guys.

Room Tip: Aim for level 11 & below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know about your recent stay with us.
It truely sounds like you had a wonderful stay, of which will be passed on to our staff. (They love to hear this).
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I was excited to stay here and it did not disappoint. Such lovely touches with art books in room, lovely art, lovely decor, and omg what a comfortable bed. So conveniently located. A great hotel. I loved that there was not street noise - even on 3rd floor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Caroline C,

It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at [The Olsen] it’s the attention to detail in all of our rooms that we hope all guests enjoy, from our custom made beds to the hand selected books on Australian Artwork and the fantastic Art of John Olsen.

We look forward to seeing you again at [The Olsen]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,071 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing