We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great boutique modern hotel in the heart of it in Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #26 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great boutique modern hotel in the heart of it in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are traveling to Melbourne and you want to stay in the heart of restaurants and shops and easy access to beautiful river side walks and gardens then this is a place to go.

I was in Melbourne on business arriving Sunday night late and after 8 hours on the road it was great to be greeted by a bright, cheerful and extremely helpful "Jacquie" behind reception.

Nothing was too much trouble, the check-in was quick and efficient and guidance for making the next morning meetings really helpful.

The room was exceptional and having stayed in more well known accommodation in the city centre, the Olsen was a cut above the rest. The beds were fantastic, the shower modern and efficient , the internet fast and the 40" LCD flat screen outstanding. There was also a i Pod player which makes a real difference.

The mini bar had most of what you wouldnt expect ...all in all very comfortable and outstanding

The Spoonbill restaurant downstairs was again a cheerful and accomodating place to be. Breakfast was well presented and a choice of a la carte or buffet, and the evening meal I had at the Spoonbill was outstanding. ( the strip sirloin steak was amazing and left for dead the steak i had the previous night at a rather expensive and more upmarket steak restaurant next door .)

All in all I stayed three days and would highly reccommend the Olsen to anyone who likes the creature comforts in life, and a very warm and welcoming team who made my stay outstanding

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
This review is seriously perfect and exactly what we want to hear back from our guests and we are very grateful for you for taking the time to write it. You really summed up [The Olsen] perfectly.
Jacquie is certainly an ambassador for the hotel and the art series brand in general; she is always working hard and is certainly a bright, cheerful face.
Delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from your room to our Spoonbill restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and management is aware of your feedback and we will certainly be congratulating Jacquie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    390
    129
    53
    25
See reviews for
174
628
130
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed here after a recommendation from my son. The room was exactly what we needed, providing a kitchen perfect for saving some money by cooking our own breakfasts. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was efficient and professional always happy to help. The location was perfect right on chapel st for great restaurants and shopping. I'll be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for this valuable feedback and seems your son has great eye for quality. The rooms here are certainly well furbished and the kitchenette enhances ones stay as one does not always feel like eating out though then again room service can be very tempting. You seemed to sum up our wonderful hotel perfectly and can’t wait to have you and your family visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff are friendly, knowledgable and went above and beyond my expectations.

The food is fantastic, the rooms are lovely and comfortable, and the hotel itself is pleasant and the decor has that "wow" factor.

The location is perfect; I always have a memorable stay, and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in around the world. For short or longer trips to Melbourne I will always go back to the Olsen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
There is nothing more pleasing than to read how a guest appreciated the service provided by The Olsen Team and that you had such a memorable experience!
The décor is certainly unique just as Dr John Olsen is as the entire hotel was inspired by his work and his individual personality.
Until we see your friendly face again, best wish and kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The basic studio is large with excellent furnishings and a small kitchnette for those who are weird and don't want to eat out at Melbourne's awesome restaurants. Location is fantastic, right on Chapel Street and near the intersection with Toorak Road.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again. I also think the location beats the location of hotels in the CBD.

The cafe/wine bar (this is Melb afterall, serves a killer coffee also).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jase W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for the above review. Melbourne and its surroundings does cater for everyone when it comes to eateries however the kitchenette can come in very handy when staying for a few nights or just wanting to cook up something simple like eggs or even make popcorn while enjoying one of the in-house movies.
Melbourne is renowned for a great coffee and the St Ali blend in Spoonbill is as good as any around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I arrived here on a Friday evening on business and when I checked in I had booked the wrong dates, I was a week early!! not to worry the reception staff were excellent and I had a room in no time. Thank goodness for them! All the staff were great.
There was definitely a buzz happening, very much a Melbourne vibe. It was good but it made me a bit nervous because I like things to be quiet. I needn't have worried, the only noise that disturbed me was the waitress picking up the room service plates at the end of the night. I was able to get 2 nights of quality sleep which was wonderful.
My room was lovely and interesting and I really loved the kitchenette. The bed was super comfy and for some reason the temperature of the room was perfect without air conditioning.
I ordered a steak from room service and it was superb. I wouldn't normally mention it but it was the best steak I've had for a long time and my partner is a chef!
I'll be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Uradag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We found your review to be extremely constructive as it really describes [The Olsen] perfectly and is exactly the sort of experience we want everyone of our guest to have when staying here with us. Over the weekends there can often be a great vide throughout the hotel especially the lobby area. This can be due to eager wedding parties departing, family’s coming and going or romantic couples on the move with a sparkle in their eyes!
Sorry to read that the attendant made some noise when removing your tray, we will look into this. However glad you enjoyed your steak and yes I am sure you have become quite the ‘food critic’ then especially around the home.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you both here before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently went to Melbourne for a long weekend with my daughter and we could not have been happier with The Olsen. Our room was just perfect with plenty of space and wonderful comfortable beds for each of us. In fact the way the room was so thoughtfully laid out, allowed us each to have quite a bit of privacy. Nothing was too much trouble for the very attentive staff and a huge thank you to Jackie at reception who always seemed to be able to read our minds. We loved the Chapel Street location and found trams outside the door took us to wherever we needed to go.
I look forward to staying here again and next time being confident enough to hire the bicycles to get around. Really a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RST2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
The Olsen Team would sincerely like to thank you for this valuable feedback. It is always exciting to read that our guests enjoyed the wonderful suites we have on offer here at [The Olsen]. The Olsen Team aims to please all of our guests and Jackie is wonderful! She really knows how to go above and beyond and always with a great big smile on her face!
We will be sure to have a few of our bikes available for your next visit and all the best until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here recently and just loved it. From check in to check out this hotel is fantastic. I would like give a special mention to the Front office team who really made our weekend special.
Whoever manages the front desk please give yourself a pat on the back as it was just great.
The room was clean and the bed was amazing! Thanks again we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
The Olsen Team is always thankful for any feedback we may receive and your review is absolutely incredible. The Front Office Team consists of many highly motivated individuals, it’s inevitable how passionate our team is and the management team certainly leads from within. Amy Moylan our Front Office Manager is an extremely hard worker who loves what she does! We look forward to seeing you again before long as our doors are literally open 24/7 all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,174 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing