We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olsen Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Olsen Review”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently stayed at The Olsen and could not fault the hotel. The service was terrific, room comfortable and modern, facilities well layed out, ideal location, and stylish decour. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave [The Olsen] the above review. It is very pleasing to read that you had such a positive stay here with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service so appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    417
    135
    60
    26
See reviews for
186
671
133
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Olsen from the 11th - 15th of April in a very comfortable room with a good shower and bed. Our "deluxe studio" (upgraded from a "standard studio") looked South along Chapel Street and always had something happening in the view. Although there is a construction zone on the southern rearside of the hotel, it is just about finished, and with the window closed, you don't hear a thing. The venue was great for a wedding and the staff were fantastic to say the least! The spectacular glass bottomed pool and sundeck area are a rare find and on the cool April days meant we could nestle in the sun for a great rest. The Olsen is a great location in South Yarra with stacks of shops nearby and further down Chapel Street in Prahran, you will not want for something to eat as you sit amongst the buzz of young people in Melbourne. Try Zucca Rossa (just opened in the old Post Office) in Greville Street for a real dining experience. The Olsen is highly recommended and you never know which "celebrity" you will bump into in the Lift!

Room Tip: South side rooms for the Chapel Street buzz and brooding weather across the suburbs. North side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLouSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I wish to thank you for your kind words in your review. Your lovely words and comments about your stay really made the teams day and we thank you for your feedback. Getting married is a magical time in one’s life and we are delighted that you choose to celebrate it with us and found the teams service to be fantastic!
I am so pleased you had a terrific time with us here at [The Olsen], should you need anything in the future we would love to welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is my impression that a full service hotel means that housekeeping will take care of the dishes provided and used in the kitchenette that is in the room.

However, we would come back after a day out to find a made bed and little else. The table not wiped, the cups not washed and new towels just chucked on the couch.

The last thing we want to do while on holiday is the dishes. Even if it's just a few cups.

I was told by the hotel that the staff do not clean the dishes.

I find this to be a lack of basic understanding of what service is.

Also our bed is 2 single beds masquerading as one big bed. Something no luxury hotel would do.

It's all quite disappointing.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missusley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for this feedback though it certainly was not pleasing to read and we apologise for the fact that you did not receive the level of service in which we strive for here at [The Olsen]. In regards to your room being serviced I have discussed this issue with our house keeping management team and we are sorry this was not carried out at a 5 star level.
If you would like to discuss these issues further you are welcome to contact our Front Office Manager Amy Moylan on 9040 1222. Thank you and we hope to redeem ourselves next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Olsen from the 12th - 14th of April. The room was comfortable with a good shower and bed. We had a "deluxe studio" which is an upgrade from a "standard studio". I had to check with reception whether this was an upgraded room, because whilst quite nice, was fairly small and had a view of a construction zone at the rear of the hotel. On the positive side, room was dark and quiet. Although a/c had a weird hum coming from it, so we couldn't have it on. Also, the pillows were all of the feather variety and very soft. We requested firmer pillows and were told, yes, they would be delivered by housekeeping when room was made up. We returned after the day out to find that this has not occurred and repeated request. After some time a member of staff turned up with more soft feather pillows! On telling him they were the same as what we had he went away and came back some time later with 1 x firm rubber pillow saying that was the only one in the hotel. I suppose we could have chopped it in half............

Before checking out on Sunday we made use of the spectacular glass bottomed pool and had a look at the sundeck area which was a little chilly on an April morning, but would be lovely on a sunny day.

The Olsen is well situated in South Yarra with its myriad of shops and eating options.
For a grittier version of these categories walk or tram it further down Chapel Street to Prahran.
The Prahran markets are fabulous and Greville Street feels like a small village in itself.

The staff at the hotel were friendly but all in all probably only a once off for us as I think better value hotels with more consistent service can be found in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this very enlightening review as you really informed us about all aspects of your stay. Here at [The Olsen] we have many room types and they do differ in features and size slightly, we do our best to satisfy everyone.
Since receiving your review we have addressed all the points you mentioned with the appropriate departments to prevent them from occurring again.
Glad you enjoyed the amazing glass bottom pool and didn’t let Melbourne’s weather deter you from having a splash. We look forward to having you stay in one of our large Suites before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

great little hotel in chapel street, very classy, amazing little pool. Good service and nice rooms. LED lights in the showers a nice touch. Can be a little noisy but nothing too bad. All round very good, worth a stay.

Room Tip: higher up the better levels 10-12 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
It was kind of you to give us this constructive feedback and you mentioned many valuable points. We may have over 200 rooms though we do aim to give one on one personalised service to every guest who checks in. The views from some of our higher levels certainly are spectacular and we always do our best to meet all requests we receive in regards to rooms and their features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Sensational beds and pillows like clouds - we even bought two of the pillows from the hotel. Staff are so nice. Rooms are decorated with innovative style. It's new and clean and, with hangovers after a wedding the night before, we did retail therapy in Chapel Street. We were even permitted to leave our car in the car park for the day - without extra charge. That's service. Breaky downstairs was lovely. Excellent alternative to staying in the central CBD, out of the ratrace and just a great experience all round. Highly recommended from two regular travelers.

Room Tip: We had a studio which was perfectly big enough for a sleepover. Got a great special deal rate for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetourbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
The Olsen Team would like to personally thank you for writing this excellent review, you really noted lots of the positives which the hotel has to offer. We do our best to accommodate all of our guest needs and sometimes just sleeping in for an extra hour or not having to exit the car park at a specific time can make all the difference. The CBD does have lots on offer though it does not compete with South Yarra and its continuing increase in both the retail and hospitality industries. The only issue is where to start shopping or what eateries to dine at first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I organised to take my wife away for teh weekend without the little ankle biters and the Olsen was just the spot. It's an awesome location, just far enough out of the CBD but also close enough at the same time. Walks, Shopping, Dinners, drinks etc. all close by. Made for anniversary to remember.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 162Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you kindly for writing this review as we appreciate all guest feedback. An anniversary is certainly a milestone worth celebrating. The [Olsen Hotel] certainly is in an ideal location to ensure all of our guests have an amazing experience. Everyone deserves some time away and we look forward to having you both stay here with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,082 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing