We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The olsen is a beautiful hotel!! Great Location! Great Service! Great Views! Great pool!... I have no complaints at all!

I Have been very very impressed with the Olsen hotel and I cannot wait to stay there again! The rooms are just so nice and the bed and pillows are the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

I am very happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for your feedback in regards to your recent stay here with us at [The Olsen].

It was ‘Great’ to read that you had no complaints and had such a wonderful stay. The bedding certainly is amazing. Our signature beds combined with our specially designed pillows always make for a great night’s sleep!

We look forward to you sleeping over again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    415
    135
    60
    26
See reviews for
185
669
133
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arrived on a friday afternoon the driveway entrance was blocked and we waited for car to be valet parked and waited and waited...ended up geting out of the car and going into reception and asking them to please park the car being new to the area we had no clue where the best parking was so we had preplanned and called ahead to use hotel valet parking. This caused a small drama for the Concierge staff as they couldnt find the keys to the car that was blocking the driveway and because this was highlighted by our arrival the concierge member of staff was a behaving a bit like a very good looking "brat" to say the least. So checked in no smiles at reception and we were rushed through check in with no info given about the hotel where brekky was etc. Mmmm ok not a good start! Staff seemed reluctant to interact or be friendly Im not sure if they just dont work well under pressure or couldnt be bothered I hope the first, as this hotel is unique and they would do it a grave diservice. A word comes to mind its called ATTITUDE and this hotel oozes it! Room was amazing funky small but well designed clean lines and user friendly decor and if you love art you will love this hotel its like a floating canvas! Bed good linen fresh clean and it was cosy. I loved this hotel and may return due to the quality and visual experience if only the staff were friendly?However that being said its the little things like LED lights in the shower along the wall, silver "paint droplet" coat hooks on the back of the door, skin/eco friendly toiletries and giant freckles in the mini bar. They have decent herbal teas in the room they stock quality products in the mini bar even vitamins (yes vitamins) and this made this hotels room for us a delightful discovery. I compliment this hotel on its attention to detail and supporting and promoting the use of local prouducts alot of the big chains could take a lesson form The Olsen. The room was a visual delight. Didnt use the facilities as we had an event to go to and were late only 1 min walk has you in busy Chapel st and right near the Como centre - perfect location if you are attending an event in this area. We booked through WOTIF but if you book DIRECTLY THRU the hotel website they wil do a better deal which they honored at check in as was their current special regardless of where we purchased our accomodation. Id stay again my only compliant would be STAFF the reception and conceirge staff let us down. Being from out of town when we travel we like to feel welcome and we make use of a Concierge. The Concierge can help make or break your trip and theres nothing like local knowledge. The valet parking was a pain in the butt and made a bad first impression and when we asked for directions later before heading out it was like we had interupted the same concierge staff member from his very important business which clearly was not us!LOL I travel alot and felt like saying" Hey champ if you dont like to be hospitable then dont work in the hospitality industry - its that simple" when we didnt just go away after his intial fob off another concierge staff member came over and assisted him in helping us?? I anticipate a pretentious attitude at the big hotels in capital cities and you do get it but usually they can be won over in a heartbeat this guys frown wasnt going to budge, like I said attitude ...and due to this lack of interaction it left me wondering:" perhaps the Olsen is all show no go? Anyways for $200 a night in the heart of chapel st on a Friday night it was a DEAL you cant go wrong. I cant comment on hotel facilities or room service as was a flying visit. However I would go back the enviornment location and price were purrfect perhaps the staff were having a bad day?Give them a try and let me know!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGorgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The Olsen Management team and I would sincerely like to thank you for this very valuable feedback. Thank you for these positive comments you mentioned in regards to the bedding, décor, hotel facilities and the location. These certainly are terrific points that we are proud.
However in regards to the various negative incidents you encountered with our Front Office team members in which you were extremely dissatisfied, this simply is not the way we operate here at [The Olsen]. This is not a level we expect of ourselves and pride our reputation on. providing genuine, professional and welcoming service is one of the most important goals for the entire Olsen Team and it seems we certainly let ourselves down during your visit.
We would appreciate if you could contact the Front Office Manager - Amy Moylan directly on 9040 1222 to discuss further in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warriewood NSW
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Gave the Olsen another chance! And very glad I did.... this time was like an 'alter-image' to the first stay... had a room with amazing views.... and very quiet! Corner rooms have a definate advantage in this hotel. I joined the Art Series Priority Rewards, you can do this on their website and the prices they offer to members are very good.
Ate breakfast downstairs in Spoonbill and enjoyed it both days... speedy service and good coffee.
Check out the pool which is on the first floor outdoors with a glass bottom that you can see down to the sidewalk... very cool.
Once again, the Olsen artwork gives a bright positive feeling to the hotel, and this time the staff matched the decor... despite it being a very busy time in the middle of the Grand Prix everyone I met was extremely helpful, happy and friendly.
I will be back! Check out the Chapel Street Bazaar... just down the road... ecletic mix of Everything under the Sun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The Olsen Hotel would like to thank you for leaving such a positive review which really sums up the hotel perfectly.
We are very pleased to read you gave us a second chance and we were able to show you the standard of service we aim to provide our guest with. It is great to read how you enjoyed your breakfast down stairs in the hotel’s restaurant – Spoonbill.
The hotel really comes alive when there are special events on in Melbourne and the Formula 1 Grand Prix is no exception. We love the races and the hype behind this massive international event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for convenience and location over Easter. on arrival we were welcomed with great service and an extremely easy check in. It was the Easter long weekend so daily the
Lobby was refilled with yummy chocolate eggs to take. Our room was styled nicely and was spacious. Beds and pillows were super comfy. Hotel is so close to tram stops and trains plus ghe option to hire the olsen car if required. The Only thing I missed out on was a bath to relax in. I highly recommend this property & We will def come back again for all of our future stays in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Become a Art Series member to save on nightly accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByrenAndHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Easter certainly was an extremely exciting time here at [The Olsen]. Thank you for your feedback in regards to your time spent here over this amazing long weekend, Spirits were high all round that’s for sure and yes maybe the abundance of chocolate throughout the hotel impacted this!
Thank you kindly for your recommendation and if you want a bath or have a request similar in the future let us know and we will certainly do what we can to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you cannot sleep on a bed at the Olsen you must have a problem

Great hotel really central to too rank and shopping... Ask for a quiet room.

Restaurant is average but there are many options in the area, and the city is 10-15 mins away

Staff are ok .. And there are very few rooms with baths... But you cannot beat the nice decor and comfy bed... Have stayed here for 3 years ... 2-3 times a year and do not plan to change

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
W e would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We appreciate all feedback in regards to [The Olsen].
There is no arguing that The Art Series Signature Beds are indeed unique and the perfect contributor for a deep, rejuvenating sleep. We are finding recently that many guests are taking their bed home with them as all the bedding is available for sale.
If you require a bath on your next stay we will certainly do our best to accommodate your request.
We look forward to having you sleep over again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice boutique hotel in south yarra. tram stops out the front. good undercover parking. lots of restaurants below or nearby. small gym and fancy swimming pool with clear base where others can see you swimming. you could hear some tram noise in rooms. this has the best location of the three art series hotels for eating however I think I like the blackman best. bit more expensive but rooms are bigger closer to city and platinum members get the full 50% there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It was very kind of you to write this constructive review, it is pleasing to have such valuable feedback in regards to the hotel and its facilities.
The swimming pool is one of my favourite aspects of [The Olsen]. It is very unique with its glass wall and glass bottom. This enhances ones time spent splashing around and really makes some of our locals envious.
Sorry to hear you heard some disturbance coming from the trams on Chapel Street. Generally they go by quietly though on occasion the old colonial style green and gold trams can rattle.
The Blackman hotel is indeed a marvellous property with an excellent décor. However for the record the benefits of being a Priority Guest Rewards member are the same throughout all three of the Art Series properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Living in Tasmania I have to bring my family over to Melbourne to see Major Shows or to start trips. At the Olsen I always find the most courteous friendly and helpful staff I have found in Australia and equalling or surpassing the best in Europe. The rooms are immaculate I always look foward to staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshannessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Tasmania is a beautiful state with scenery like nowhere else. With this in mind Melbourne has a lot to offer those from our neighbours from the South.
There honestly is no better compliment for our valued team here at [The Olsen] than yours “At the Olsen I always find the most courteous friendly and helpful staff I have found in Australia and equalling or surpassing the best in Europe.”
We sincerely thank you for these kind words and we look forward to accommodating you and your family next time you touch down in our fine city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,072 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing