We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Chapel Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE FROM 20%
Ranked #22 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
hobart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Olsen for 3 nights in August last year (the review better late then never!)I found everything to be top standard.Check in was easy and the staff very friendly and helpful.I dined at the restaurant downstairs and had the famous paella which is the best I have ever had and my girlfriend whom met me there is Spanish and said the same.
My room was absolutely spotlessly clean and with a balcony which was great.I asked for a dvd player which was delivered very quickly and set up with no trouble at all from the great staff,would recommend this Hotel highly,great location too,just walk up the street for all the boutique shopping you could ask for in Toorak Rd.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are thankful for any reviews we may receive and it’s great to know we made such a lasting impression on you.
I myself love it when you arrive at a hotel and the check in process is smooth and hassle free. We aim to focus on all aspects of a guest stay.
Nothing assists one in feeling like they're on holidays than a shopping precinct such as the Chapel St - Toorak Rd intersection! Some say the only problem they have is deciding where to start their shopping spree!
We look forward to having you stay here with us again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    346
    114
    48
    21
See reviews for
153
568
116
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I frequently travel for business to Melbourne and have stayed at various hotels over the years. None compare to The Olsen for convenience, comfort and exceptional service. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful, the restaurant is amazing and the rooms always fully equipped with well thought out touches.

Room Tip: The studio suites have a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write [The Olsen] the above review.
As a luxury boutique hotel we aim to make their business trip as pleasant as possible. By employing exceptional staff members we are able to provide genuine service to everyone of our guest that stays here with us.
Spoonbill is an excellent restaurant regardless of the time of day. Whether one wants a nice hot Saint Ali Coffee, some of John Olsen’s famous Paella or a delicious cocktail the restaurant is there to satisfy ones taste buds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We held a training seminar at the Olsen Hotel and from the planning stages to the event itself, the team at the Olsen were extremely helpful and professional in ensuring all our requirements were met and the event was a success.
We were based in the Penthouse suite and this suited our 16 participants and 3 trainers perfectly, with outside space available to hold the breaks and lunches. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were discreet with their set up and service. The room was impeccable every morning and the food served was great.
As a guest in the hotel I was very impressed by the value for money of the rooms compared to staying in the larger CBD hotels. The only let down was the breakfast which took too long to serve each morning but perhaps fine for those guests staying for leisure.
Thank you to all the Olsen Hotel staff for ensuring our seminar was a success and for making our stay in Melbourne so enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
The team here at The Olsen thanks you for taking the time to leave us this review.
We have a large variety of functions of all sizes and sorts and the team do their best to make it a success for all involved from the initial booking to gathering feedback on how the event went.
The John Olsen Penthouse is a one of a kind space, the views are breathtaking and it makes for a terrific environment to motivate staff members. Bianca really is a superstar and is an excellent host. We love how she can easily adapt from hosting a boardroom meeting to a wedding instantly.
Will look forward to having you and your colleagues visit us again next time you’re in Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at The Olsen for two nights across a weekend. Unknown to us we were there during a long weekend and the Moomba Festival. On check in we were given a bunch of information about the local area and the festival. When we mentioned we'd made a booking at the spa we were quickly given some vouchers to use towards the treatment.I definitely recommend getting a massage at the spa!
Our room (12th floor standard room) was a nice size and well fitted. It was great to find a decent iron and hair dryer (although the ironing board was a little lacking). Our package included breakfast at the restaurant off the foyer, which we both thoroughly enjoyed.
The hotel is located close to great shops, and walking distance to the train station and tram.
Overall I'd recommend The Olsen as a great getaway spot in Melbourne that's not in the CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandlisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The Olsen Team thanks you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave the hotel such a constructive review. I personally agree that a weekend getaway is the best way to experience a hotel. Two nights really is better when one wants to embrace the hotel and what it has to offer.
The Labour Day weekend is a very exciting time in Melbourne as there is lots on each day and night for all to see and do!
Great to read how much you enjoyed Norbu the day spa here at the hotel and also your breakfast in our lovely restaurant Spoonbill.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! (Easter Long weekend is coming up. . .)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Art Series - The Olsen for our wedding night. We original were in room 105 which was making a hizzing sound due to the wind. The next day we got moved to room 810 which was larger and quite. Service was amazing and everything was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 810 which was large and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damianza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We thank you for writing [The Olsen] this review and congratulations once again on the big day!
The noise which caused a disruption during your stay has since been seen to and has been resolved. The word perfect is certainly a word we all love to read in a review and we do aim to provide the best service possible.
We hope you both have an amazing life together and we get to see you both again many times throughout it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently spent about 7 weeks staying in the hotel. The artwork is a joy and so is the design of the room. But what stands out most for me during my 7-week stay is that the staff - from reception, conceirge. valet, room service, housekeeping and maintenance staff are excellent! Their can-do "will fix it" attitude is wonderful and the friendly service is genuine, and it is nice to return to the hotel after a very long day at work where the staff smile and are friendly.

The restaurant Spoonbill is very good, prompt and helpful service. It could do better with a wider menu and drinks list. The light meals and baby burgers are excellent ideas. I have been very impressed that I have been telling mmany people about the hotel.

Room Tip: The lifts can be a tad slow so if you are on a short stay and want to duck out quickly, get the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
With 94 reviews under your belt you are clearly a very well educated traveller and know great service when you see it, to have such an amazing review from yourself means allot to us.
After 7 weeks you would have had many encounters with the staff throughout the different departments of the hotel. Therefore it is very pleasing to read you found the service to be of such a high standard. The team do aim to provide genuine and professional service with a smile.
Thank you for your feedback in regards to Spoonbill as we always seek to make ongoing improvements and the menu is always being updated.
Was a pleasure getting to know yourself and we welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the for one week in Feb/March, and we had a nice room with a balcony. I am impressed by all the art in the hotel, and how it was put together. It gave the hotel a special look going the art way in stead of the commercial way. Nice pool area with a small gym. The restaurant downstairs was friendly with good food. Great location with plenty of shops and restaurants near by.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helge Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review for [The Olsen]. All feedback is very valuable to us to ensure we continue to strive to be the best.
Our decor is certainly one way in which we stand out from other hotels as you mentioned and the art work which is placed all throughout the hotels gives the hotel plenty of character and colour.
The swimming pool is lovely all year round; well designed being situated half indoor and half outdoor and having a glass floor overlooking Chapel Street.
We hope to have you stay with us again throughout 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#29 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing