We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Series - The Olsen
Nearby Hotels
$199
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$208
$93
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$195
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$147
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$252
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$182
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,976)
Filter reviews
1,976 results
Traveler rating
1,204
502
167
71
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,204
502
167
71
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschapel streetsouth yarraspoonbill restaurantglass bottomsmart cardeluxe studio suitesun decktoorak roadboutique hotelrestaurant downstairsroom servicemini barlittle thingslocation is greatlate checkoutgreat roomcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,477 - 1,482 of 1,976 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed here a number times and the service is hit or miss. Sometimes it's great if you get the right person and other times (more often than not lately) you get snobby, look down their nose at you service. Also, the lifts can be extremely slow and annoying. Also, you need to turn on the lights in the room in order to turn on all the lights in the bathroom. Arrrr! At least the beds are comfortable. This place use to be good but I'm over it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We sincerely thank you for your feedback and do appreciate your opinion.
Here at [The Olsen] we aim to provide genuine, down to earth service. We aim to exceed all expectations and it is disappointing to read that you did not have a positive experience. You are welcome to contact myself or my General Manager Lee Davey directly on 9040 1222 to discuss your experience further. We would certainly like the opportunity to turn your opinions around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you want something divinely special book The Olsen is is without doubt the best hotel in Melbourne. Our third visit it's becoming an annual treat to combine the tennis with The Olsen! The staff never ever disappoint, they are exceptional in every respect and go well beyond pleasant and friendly. The room we had a gorgeous twin bedroom suite and the 12th floor with two gorgeous bathrooms both spa baths. Sparkling clean and ready well before check in time another added bonus. Room service food was good and quick and handy for families with children getting back late. The pool divine and the added treat of table tennis made our sports mad eldest daughter exceedingly happy as she was missing her tennis racquet! I have written and raved before about The Olsen Hotel before so do browse back for more oozing about the perfection you can expect. We had just one problem this time but not with this delightful hotel instead with the breakfast restaurant and notably the service which I understand is not owned by the hotel so we do not attribute this unfortunate occurrence with the hotel at all. I won't go into details it's just too long winded but the service and attitude of the breakfast staff will see us never breakfasting there again. Don't let that put you off the hotel at all as there are many other choices to explore for breakfast close at hand. This hotel remains a firm favourite and we will stay again and again.

Room Tip: Look for other breakfast options!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollipops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your review seems you are a very experienced traveller. It is therefore very pleasing to read your review and to find that you had such a pleasant time here at [The Olsen].
It did seem like there were a variety of Tennis fans making the hotel their home the same time each year, it is a terrific time of year and there is a great buzz in Melbourne.
We are sorry to read about your experience in Spoonbill and this certainly is not the standard of service they aim to provide. We will look into this and aim to further improve the level of service and quality of food there.
Loved reading your past reviews and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Husband and I had one night to our selves and the Olsen was great, local for us, moden, convenient and lovely. The room was clean and spacious, the view was arsome, the amenanties were hand, everthing we needed for one night, the parking was easy. We had treatments at the spa and the were some of the best I've ever had. Break was um too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briguglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and yes [The Olsen] is perfect for a local getaway as we aim to provide first class service with a smile.
With the hotel being 14 levels high there are some amazing views that's for sure and yes the day spa [Norbu] loves to please. They have some of the best mossiest in Melbourne.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The stay was very seamless, and being greeted with a fruit platter was a nice touch.

Our room was perfectly decorated, with the Olsen vibe being very present.

I particularly enjoyed the sun deck, and also the Evo brand of toiletries in the room itself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OF1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wow what a fabulous hotel!! We stayed in a suite at The Olsen recently for a city escape and had a marvelous experience. Not only was it aesthetically beautiful, with wonderful staff, great food and dining, brilliant pool/table tennis/gymnasium, amazing views, close to a plethora of delicious restaurants, great shops and transport... but the attention to detail blew us away. We have stayed in oodles of hotels, but felt that the little things they thought of made the experience- like dishwasher drawers; two complete spa bath bathrooms; the most comfortable beds; translucent glass bathrooms; glass tables and perspex chairs; perception of space yet feeling of warmth; comfy robes and slippers; sofas as well as dining table. We also kept our eyes wide open- celebrities were around in abundance!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews