We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel with a fashionable twist” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #21 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with a fashionable twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Fantastic, knowledgeable/friendly staff, funky interior and plush rooms. They even have their own bikes you can borrow to explore nearby chapel st and Richmond areas. Heaps to do in the area, nearby a major train station, trams and taxi rank.

Pick of Melbourne's best bars, restaurants and nightclubs within walking distance. Spoonbill downstairs do a great breakfast too.

This place won't disappoint.

Do yourself a favour.

Room Tip: The higher the better. I was on level 12 facing north and had a great view down chapel st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaronaktiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review of The Olsen Hotel. We are in a great spot and I'm glad you found this to be the case. Not to forget, we are right next to the Yarra River, which is perfect for a stroll in the evenings. Next time you are back I'd encourage you to try the Wagyu burgers from Spoonbill; they are a wiiner too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    366
    123
    50
    21
See reviews for
164
599
123
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Olsen is a stylish hotel with fantastic artwork by John Olsen enlivening the hotel and decor. The service is friendly and attentive. The amenities and toiletries are excellent. The bed is comfortable. It is centrally located to all South Yarra attractions - shopping, dining, cose to the city, transport etc. The only drawback is that the rooms are close together so you can hear the closing and banging of doors, and guests talking outside the room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the end of corridors, too close together so can hear doors banging close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We sincerely thank you for your review and it is always a pleasure to know that our guest appreciate John Olsen's art work as much as we do here at [The Olsen].

We aim to stand out from the rest by providing both professional and simultaneously providing down to earth genuine service. Our Art Series Signature beds certainly are comfortable and they are available for sale if you did want to have an amazing sleep each and every night of the year.

Our location is ideal and makes it very easy for all. Having so many transport options available at our door step and such a large array of restaurants, bars and of course Chapel Street is after all known as being the fashion capital of Melbourne and never seems to disappoint those shopaholics,
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying at The Olsen for 6 weeks but upon arrival we were very disappointed with the small hotel room. There was not enough drawer space for us both to unpack so basically lived out of our suitcases. Getting a car park each day in the hotel carpark was difficult and on weekends very, very difficult as it is open to the public and the hotel charges $8 a day for public parking. We paid a weekly price for the room and still had to pay extra for car parking.
Definately wouldn't recommend The Olsen for long term or permanent stays.
Had trouble with the WiFi service too and had to ring numerous times for new codes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations.

For people thinking of taking up a residency at any of the Art Series properties we always recommend speaking with our reservations team, so we can best match a room type to the needs of the traveller. We have a varierty of suites starting from our studios up to our 2 bedroom suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a fantastic time staying at the Olsen. It's central, clean, the staff were so nice and helpful. Had a fantastic concierge, Jarrod, whom pointed out great places to eat and drink and recommended some fantastic galleries and things to see in Melbourne. Overall- a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Just a quick note to thank you for mentioning our team member Jarrod. He is a man about town and knows his stuff. I'm glad he could be a help to you while you were staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had decided to stay at the Olsen hotel with my friend for my birthday and we had an absolute ball. Being greeted by Brendan at the door with great service started a wonderful night. Our stay had no problems and was only an exciting and pleasurable stay!
- Stef Gormley

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantArbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic Chapel Street location as we had a Christmas Function at the nearby Toyko Teppanyaki. Lovely central spot, beautifully decorated, very soft pillowy beds, great shower and little bits and pieces in the room. Tried to park in the hotel carpark which is very tight and limited for space but ended up over the road at the Como for $10 flat rate for the weekend (as opposed to $25). Staff were accommodating, room clean, amenities fautless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The decor is divine, the service attentive, location central and accessible. Had three nights of superb comfort and delight. John Olsen's work everywhere was also a treat. Staff could not be more pleasant. The T2 teabags were most welcome, what more can I say

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing