We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool without attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Its the second or third time I have been back to the Olsen and it makes travelling feel like a bit of fun again.
the team are young and energetic and on the cool (lots of black) side of things, but they seem dedicated to making your stay enjoyable, often thinking one question ahead and anticipating your needs. Nothing seems to be a problem and they take responsibility

The rooms are not big, but they work, a good desk, a table, a comfortable chair and a decent bed .... aaaaaah! The bathroom is also small, but again, clever planning has made every bit of space work for you. The rooms might be a bit small for and extended stay - perhaps there are some larger ones?

Sensibly they have a multi purpose cafe, bar, bistro that beats the "fine dining" nonsense of the typical five star hotels. The team is keen to look after you, the food is good and they all seem to have been taught how to make a decent coffee. BRAVO!

To top it all off the location is great. Chapel street has lots of interesting shops and restaurants and the trams are at the door to wisk you indo the CBD in a flash.

I will be back!

Room Tip: Go high to ensure you get plenty of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudeskewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,464 - 1,470 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

This would be close to the perfect hotel experience. Sophisticated but relaxed atmosphere with very helpful staff - nothing too much bother. Stayed for 3 nights in a huge twin room with 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds, enormous flat screen TV, spacious balcony overlooking Chapel strret, floor to ceiling windows along 2 walls & magnificent John Olsen artwork on the wall & books of his paintings in the room. The lobby has an enormous Olsen painting that was specially comissioned for the hotel. In addition the walls of all corridors and lifts are resplendent with his artwork.

There is a small but adequate gym & a horizon pool overlooking Chapel Street, but beware- the side of the pool overlloking the street is glass, so people standing on the street & looking up can see underwater inside the pool!

Great location in South Yarra, only one block from Toorak Road where the trams run into the city & suburban train station only 5-10 minute walk away. Lots of shops, boutiques, cafes & restaurants in both Chapel street & Toorak Road.

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyToscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We ( family of 5 adults) stayed at The Olsen for a family time in Melbourne and to catch some of the tennis. We were very very happy with our choice. Although our original choice of apartments was too small for our needs, the incredibly helpful staff member amended this straight away in a manner that was just so helpful and understanding. We were treated in such a courteous and prompt way it really set the tone for the stay. The Yarra suite was spacious and very comfortable with great views and the most comfortable beds to come home to. The location is excellent because of the tram stops to the city, and also the train and buses. It's a great area to stay close to but not right in the city. The hotel has a great vibe thanks to the engaging, happy and professional staff. We will happily return but stay longer next year!

Room Tip: If you need space for 4 or 5 adults this apartment is a great size. The studio was too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at The Olsen this past weekend, found the whole experience start to finish flawless!
The room was of an exeptional standard and much more interesting and original than your average hotel room.
Ordered room service one night which was fantastic, best I have ever had in terms of quality and value.
Experienced great service from all the staff, will definately recommend this hotel and will be back next time I am visiting Melbourne

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I couldn't fault The Olsen, one of the best stays I've had in any hotel. On check-in we mentioned we were on honeymoon and the staff ended up giving us a choice of rooms and when we found the one we took to have a building site right below it, they took us to two other rooms. They also then sent up complimentary fizz.

The rooms are very well done and stylish and the staff are super friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay in The Olsen again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Before staying in this hotel for three nights we read many reviews on trip advisor. We noted that any negative Criticisms had been addressed and discovered the following for ourselves:
Great location for shopping and easy access into the city via tram or train.
Very welcoming and helpful staff.
Lovely compact room with clever design to maximize use of space. Everything you need is here. Try and get a room on level 12 looking toward the city and St Kilda - lovely.
Swimming pool nice and warm and only part of the pool has a glass bottom so if you don't want to expose yourself you don't have too. Gym small but good equipment.
Overall a great place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joymichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here NYE with the girlfriend. The room was fantastic for the following reasons: Amazingly soft bed; fantastic big television, great view from our balcony room, great bathroom, stunning decorations and artwork; great airconditioning; cool little kitchen; plenty of space and most importantly the service by all of the staff was great. It is also easy to get nearly anywhere in Melbourne from the Hotel.

Highly Recommended and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $134 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing