We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but rooms but inconsistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but rooms but inconsistent”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Good hotel overall. Comfy beds, nice atmosphere and nice furnishings. Just be warned there room types may be inconsistent. I booked the room above the standard room and was checked into this tiny shoe box room. I complained and was moved to a room four times the size which looked like the pictures represented on the internet for my room type booked. I am not sure if they were oversold so tried to be sneaky and downgrade me but it is slightly worrying if a property classifies a room a third of the size as the same category. I wouldn’t stay here again if I could not be guaranteed consistency.

I feel this may because of their boutique factor with all rooms being unique but they should still all be represented in the same size and comfort level but anyway otherwise good!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyhigh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review The Olsen Hotel. I am pleased to read that you thought the hotel had a nice atmosphere and was comfortable for you.

I can assure you that we would never downgrade someone from what they have paid for. This is an absolute no-no, and should be frowned upon throughout the industry. We have two other hotels within 5 minutes of ours, and would have shifted you to either of these, if we were oversold. Generally our room types are all mirror images of each other, with the exception of some corner rooms. Without knowing your exact situation, I would have thought that we have upgraded you following your initial complaint about the room size. Our aim is to have every guest leave with a smile on their face; therefore I believe that we have tried to turn your stay around with a complimentary upgrade, and as a result providing you with more space.

I again thank you for your feedback. We will use your experience, to ensure that our website photos are matched correctly to each room category. We welcome you back to the Olsen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    405
    133
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
649
131
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I booked the jacuzzi room for 2 nights paying close to $1000 for a present for my husband. I asked if it was private several times and was told it was very private and I could walk around with no clothes on. When we arrived the man in the office in the building greeted me with a wave as I stepped outside to view the jacuzzi. No privacy at all. There were rooms above the jacuzzi that look straight into the spa and there were opening windows on the side that people could look out off. We could hear other people talking on the other balconies. Not private at all. The best management could do was offer us the penthouse for one night and the we had to be disturbed and move to a balcony room but pay an extra $200. What a mess. If we were not lied to in the first place I would have excepted the jacuzzi but I asked so many times about the privacy and was lied to over and over. If you dont mind sharing your jucuzzi with lots of other people book this room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Although your feedback is disappointing, your comments have been very valuable to us as we continue to improve our hotel.

I would suspect that our interpretation of private was different to yours when you were making the booking. The nature of a city hotel is that not all aspects of a guest’s room and balcony can be private. However we do take the necessary steps to ensure our guests privacy is maintained at all times.

As a result of your feedback we have re-shown all of our reservations staff members through a number of suites, including the room type you had reserved. This training has taken place so that we can ensure we are providing guests with the most accurate room descriptions that we can. I understand that this miscommunication has effected what should have been a trouble-free stay, and for that we offer our apologies. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Olsen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We have traveled to The Olsen a few times and this was our best stay yet. We travel Australia with our business and this room (1003) was amazing. Excellent views, beautiful beds and pillows and an extravagant room (especially as we were upgraded!). We didn't want to leave.

Will always try to book here when we come back to Melbourne - especially if we can get a special.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Fiona_Anjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your 'fantastic' review of The Olsen. What a pleasure it is to receive such positive feedback. Undoubtedly our signature beds are some of, if not the best in Melbourne and one of the reasons our guests keep returning. I am glad that you also found them to be so comfortable. The views overlooking the MCG and the city, around to Port Phillip Bay and Toorak are some of the best there is. I enjoy the view each day myself, and can see why it is hard to leave.

We love to see past guests returning, and are always willing to do what it takes to get you back soon. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were very pleasant and helpful which was fantastic. Couple of issues. First is we requested a bath and didn't get one. This may be a feature in some of the less expensive rooms only, but is unusual for a mid-range hotel. The second is that the television seemed hard to use and remote didn't work properly. Could not get all the free to air channels and the pay per view movies were really expensive. This was an issue because it was freezing and raining and on one night we didn't want to go out. The third is the acoustics. The bathroom is seperated from the bedroom by a glass wall. Let's just say you can hear everything from inside the room and does not give enough privacy. The acoustics were also an issue when a party load of people decided to make a lot of noise either in the hall or in their room. I'm a very heavy sleeper and they even woke me up, which never happens. There was so little sound insulation the party may as well have been in the room with me. The fourth issue was that my husband is allergic to gluten and there was nothing for him to eat on the dessert menu for room service, or the late night menu. Considering how easy it is to have a gluten free option on a menu, and considering how many people have this allergy, it wouldn't be a lot of trouble to go to to have something available.

I would never recommend against staying here. The friendly staff and the gorgeous looking rooms make it lovely to stay it. I also loved the hot plate in the kitchen and the robes and slippers. This hotel is so close to being fantastic, all they need to do is tweak a few things.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel81Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
It is fair to say that the baths are one of the most popular requests that we receive. In our higher room categories baths are a standard, however not all of our studio suites are equipped with this feature. Although we do our best to meet every request, unfortunately we cannot always satisfy everyone. It would be great if all of our rooms had baths, because they are such a great asset and well worth requesting for future guests.

Your comments regarding the Bluebottle Restaurant room service menu are warranted. Fortunately the management of Bluebottle Restaurant has changed in the past week, which we are excited about. The new ownership/management are experienced operators and will bring many positive changes. The upside is that our hotel guests will have a greater menu choice and receive a better level of service moving forward. I have passed on your feedback regarding gluten free options.

Your comments have been so helpful and will be used so that we can take the actions necessary to get us to the 'fantastic' rating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Location perfect, bed perfect

our room was a one bedroom with balcony, but room was TINY!!!!!
and our room service coffee was served in PAPER CUPS!?!?

Hotel staff need to be more mature, too young and immature for this 5 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review The Olsen Hotel. We really appreciate any feedback whether it is good or bad, as this helps us to improve for the future.

We believe that our beds are one of our greatest assets. They are made exclusively for the Art Series Hotel Group, and we think that they set us apart from any other hotel. As for the location; well Chapel Street speaks for itself. Superb shopping and restaurants, and only 10 minutes from the city.

Your feedback regarding the paper cups from the Blue Bottle restaurant is warranted. We do not think that this is of a 5 star standard. Although the hotel has little control over the restaurant, this valuable feedback has been passed onto the owner/operator of Blue Bottle, in the hope that this can be improved.

Finally, our staff are young and vibrant and on the whole do a fantastic job. As with anyone starting out in an industry they require training. Our staff whether they are 18 or 40, are constantly being trained so we can improve the standards for our guests. Your opinion regarding their maturity levels will be taken on board; however the majority of feedback that we receive compliments our staff and their ability to go that extra step.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We were pleasently suprised with The Olsen. The first thing you notice is the fantastic Olsen works everywhere and the very modern (but not 'cold') feeling the hotel has.
Check in was easy, young and friendly staff.
The room was very large, and we were stunned by just how large. A seperate living/dining area with couches and huge flat screen which was attached to the bedroom which had another flat screen right infront of the bed. The bathroom was connected to the living area rather than the bedroom which we liked.
All very modern ammenities and again, more John Olsen works.
The concierge desk was fantastic, firstly, by letting us print tickets to an AFL match we were off to see and secondly by making a special trip to our room to bring up a pen as we didn't have one to fill out the room service card!
Fantasticly styled hotel, terriffic staff and not at all over priced.

Room Tip: Go at a time when Melbourne will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionakathleen027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thankyou very much for your fantastic review!
We are so lucky to boast our wonderful work by Mr Olsen throughout the hotel, especially our signature peice you noticed in our lobby area, it does truely set us apart. Along with that we have the works throughout the hotel in the public areas, in all our rooms along with art books in the room itself and a documentary of Mr Olsen.
I will definatly pass on your terrific feedback about our Front Office and Concierge team, its comments like this that make our day! We are always happy go the extra way in ensuring you have everthing you need whilst here.
Regards,
Amy Moylan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The location in Chapel Street means you are just a short walk from restaurants and nightlife of the area. We were pleasantly surprised by the room having a kitchenette. New, clean and fashionable, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thankyou for your review.
As you noticed, yes all our rooms have a kitchenette and come in very handy for guests wishing to cook or prepare their own meals. For those not wanting to use the kitchenettes we are located in the heart of Chapel street where great dinning and nightlife culture is at your fingertips!
We welcome you back next stay.
Amy Moylan
Assitant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing