We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic hotel great staff will stay again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic hotel great staff will stay again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My friend and I booked a twin deluded suite for two nights for a girly trip, I requested a bath and was delighted when my request was acceded tiO. We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room that it was two separate rooms, with a king bed in each room, the bath was a jacuzzi and we had a lovely outlook over hockey fields and the city in the distance. We were accommodated with late checkout and had dinner in our room one night which was both reasonably priced and excellent! I could not find fault with our stay, I am very picky and anal about hotel room cleanliness and it was spotless! I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammyofscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
We are pleased to read your Olsen review. I am very pleased your room requests were meet and we were able to find the room that best suited your needs.
Furthermore it is great to see you loved the different facilities our rooms have to offer, our views, baths, and 2 bedroom suite room types.
We will pass on your great feedback to our Housekeeping team that strive for high standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Olsen.
Regards,
Amy Moylan
Assitant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    347
    114
    48
    21
See reviews for
153
569
116
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Olsen is my luxurious home away from home. Definitely a one in a million find as far as boutique hotels are concerned. I want my daughter and her children to visit here in years to come.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammiles338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thankyou for taking a moment to review your stay. We are so pleased you find us to be your Melbourne home away from home, we aim to be a homely welcoming base for all our hotel guests.
We look forward to your family staying with us in time to come!
Thankyou.
Warm Regards,
Amy Moylan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay for one night for our anniversary, close to the restaurant we were having dinner at, and not too far away from my partner's workplace.
I had seen this hotel advertised before, but when I'd checked into it before, the rooms were quite expensive.
We got a discounted room this time, however, and the location was right, convenient to everything.
Stunning rooms with outstanding attention to detail, and a very friendly staff who were attentive, but not intrusive.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated by all of our staff here at The Olsen Hotel. We are proud of the product and location that we have, however it is the staff who can make or break your stay. Therefore we again thank you for noticing the efforts that our team made during your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nick Gouin - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was our second stay at the Olsen in less than a year, and our third at one of the "Art Series" hotels in Melbourne.

Once again - the Olsen was a brilliant place to stay, with great staff, lovely accommodation and a great location. Having hastily organised a last minute stay to cheer my wife up, the Olsen extended us a great deal on a four night stay, with carparking and a room upgrade. They 'remembered' us from last time (the beauty of data bases! - but it made us feel special). Our request for 'firm' pillows was met on arrival (the bed looked like a pillow showroom!) and the towels were refreshed every day (great showers!). The room 'upgrade' was the same room type as we've had previously - but on the top floor. They called it a 'penthouse' - but it was just 'on the top floor'. Eitherway it was nice to feel a little special.

One minor thing - the hotel doesn't have a 'business centre'. For those of us without iPhones or iPads - the ability to look up locations, maps and phone numbers would be great. That said - nothing was ever too much issue for the staff (who left us at the concierge desk for 15 minutes looking something up) and were great with directions and printing maps, etc. (Unlike the surly one's at the Cullen who made this activity as much fun as pulling teeth!)

We didn't eat in - but the "Steer" restaurant looked great and we'll try it next time we stay. Tried 'Ecco' in Toorak Road (nothing to write home about - go to Cafe e Cucina in Chapel Street - brilliant!). Cafe "C'N'F" in Chapel Street was a great shopping lunch stop, but the find of the trip may have been the cafe about 50m down Toorak Road called "Laurent" - good pastries and great hot chocolates! A wonderful lazy start to each morning.

Driving in from Adelaide, the Olsen couldn't have been easier to get to, and as a base it's a brilliant location. A far superior stay than that we had at the Cullen earlier this year (cranky staff, poor housekeeping, worse location - and I didn't like the art as much, but that's just personal preference)

If you're going to Melbourne, and not staying in the CBD, you'd be nuts to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

My son recommended this hotel '' it will be up to your boutique hotel standards, Mum !''...and it certainly was. Friendly, helpful staff; gorgeous room and facilities; delicious restaurant food and a pleasure to come back to after a tiring day sightseeing.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher the floor. the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OZZYChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about The Olsen Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on presenting clean, impressive facilities and are glad that you found this to be the case. More importantly, we thank you for your comments regarding our staff. This serves as encouragement to all of us who try to impress each and every time. We welcome you back to The Olsen in the future.

Regards,
Nick Gouin - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We had a great stay at the Olsen. It's at a stylish end of a great shopping street. The hotel itself is decorated with the art work of John Olsen and has an overall artsy/chic feel. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very fashionable. Everything seemed quite new. The hotel has a very cool swimming pool that has a glass bottom and side along one length so you can see the sidewalk under you. The restaurant/bar seemed nice although we only had coffee there. The value was much better than what you would get with one of the big chains.

Room Tip: Room had full kitchenette which allowed us to cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axbOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to give your terrific review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Olsen, being a new hotel we are so proud to boast new rooms and facilities including our original glass bottomed pool!
We cannot wait until you have a chance to stay with us here again.
Warm Regards,
Amy Moylan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeniyan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I love melbourne, it has so much to offer and the Olsen is the perfect place to stay. We loved the character of the building and the location , but what made our stay truly memorable was the staff. We really felt cared for. The staff really went out of the way to address our needs and enquires. Special thanks to Rowena who recommended some fantastic restaurants in the local area and gave some great entertainment hints.

If you're staying in Melbourne the Olsen is the place to be!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing