We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed one night in a balcony room and it was super comfortable!.
The bed was lovely (and my parents and bedding manufacturers so I like a good bed!! LOL!) and so were the pillows/linen (in fact, went home and ordered King Pillows like they had for home!!
Lovely and clean and quiet.
Bit of a hike up St Kilda Road but the tram trip was pretty quick (and an eye opener at 12pm :-)
Great views over to Albert Park Lake.
Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konfidence6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Thank you for this fantastic review. I am glad to hear of your wonderful stay at The Blackman. We are very happy with the feedback we have been getting in regards to the bedding. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,026 - 2,032 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed in the Deluxe Studio Suite for two nights. Superb attention to detail with top quality furnishing and fittings. Very friendly staff and a room so beautiful I wish it was my own personal studio. Great selection of snacks in the minibar, amazing bed (I slept incredibly well both nights and usually don't sleep well in hotels), also completely quiet. Very spacious, modern bathroom with an awesome bath. Wonderful cafe downstairs with great coffee as well as food. Best of all, you can order your own Blackman bed.

For those visiting Melbourne for the first time, These are some of my favourite places:
Cafe: Brother Baba Budan (359 Little Bourke Street)
Bars: Sister Bella (End of Sniders Lane, off Drewery Lane) and Supper Club (161 Spring Street)
Restaurant: Movida Bar de Tapas (Hosier Lane)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Thank you for sharing your great Blackman experience. I loved to hear that you loved your so much that you wished it was your own, you are more than welcome to come back as often as you like! Also thank you for mentioning the bedding for sale it has been hugely popular.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We had an apartment in the Blackman from mid December 2010 until mid January 222011
The accomodation was pleasant and spacious.adequate catering facilities.Kitchen units rather high for persons of average height, Staff very pleasant and helpful. Pleasant location just off St. Kilda Road, convenient for trams. Restaurant menu rather limited but quality of food good. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agenda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. it is great to hear feedback from our long term residents. I will be sure to pass on your feedback at our next staff meeting.

Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel with amazing attention to detail. The room was as it looks in the photos and the bed was truly the best I've ever slept on. Colourful & modern artwork adorns the walls and is etched into the glass bathroom door. Balcony was small but a great view over Albert Park Lake. The room was spotless & very quiet. No traffic noise from St Kilda Rd and with the blackout curtains it was easy to sleep in.
The staff could not have been more accommodating and we would not hesitate to return to this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kia_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Thank you for this amazing review. I am thrilled that the staff were very accommodating and we cannot wait to have you back here soon!

Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked a night at the blackman for our wedding anniversary and were looking forward to the art theme - which was nice. We arrived at 1.45pm (15 minutes prior to official checkin time) and were understandably told that our room wasn't yet ready which was fine. Reception suggested we go for a walk and they would phone us when the room was ready. The phone call never eventuated, but we returned to reception around 2.30 and were checked in. The moment we opened our door (Room 208) we were struck with an obnoxious odour - it smelt like very 'off' mince meat. We investigated the fridge and cupboards but could not locate the source. We openned the doors to the balcony and turned the AC to full - which helped. We didn't request a room change as we understood the hotel was fully booked and stayed in the bedroom area where the smell was less noticable. The room was nice with a servicable kitchenette and tiny yet functional bathroom. The bedroom was likewise tiny with room for only a double bed. Location was quite a long but enjoyable walk into the city were we went to dinner. When we returned - so did the off meat smell. We now felt it was too late to do anything about it. The bed was very comfortable (if small) and the blackout curtains worked well and there was very little street noise - all aided a good sleep. I felt the room service was a little overpriced and a $5 'tray fee' was added to the bill - this was not mentioned anywhere. Service was friendly and professional and when I questioned the 'tray fee' staff apologised and reversed the charge. In the week since our stay I have been further disappointed with two charges (totalling close to $500) being billed to my credit card over the week. This took two days for the hotel to resolve. While again apologising, it appears that some other (completely random) person's accomodation and associated costs have been chaged to my card. Again staff have been friendly and apologetic - but it doesn't encourage me to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyTripper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that the service received from our staff was of a high standard. I am however disappointed to learn of the unpleasent odour in the room. We will always do the utmost to accommodate all our guests and any issues that may arise during the stay, even in the case of a fully booked hotel which may or may not have been the case, we regret that we were not notified and therefore could not make your stay a more enjoyable one. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Blackman in the near future and we can show you just how fabulous The Blackman can be.
Thank you once again for the feedback.
Kind Regards

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel had only been open a few months when we stayed here. The rooms are wonderful, they have cool 'features' such as artwork on the bathroom door, funky lights and bedside tables etc.
You can easily catch a tram into the CBD from outside and there is free street parking on weekends when you can park right outside the hotel (a rarity in Melbourne). The cafe downstairs is also a must for breakfast, great little pastries, omlettes etc (french inspired). Staff were a bit slow and looked confused sometimes but I think it was just because they were mostly all new.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzieJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I and grown-up daughter stayed here two nights mid-Jan. We had a deluxe twin studio - open plan room with a bathroom separating the two queen bed areas and a kitchen/sitting area. Charles Blackman art adorns the walls of the entire hotel, which is "boutique" style and still pretty new. Room was very good. Beds were excellent. Front of house staff were exceptionally good. In-house French style cafe served very good breakfasts in attractive surrounds. We had a competitive week-end rate. Short tram ride to CBD. Room unavailable for third night so we stayed in an unremarkable CBD apart/hotel costing much more, which only served to underline the credentials of The Blackman. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Thank you for sharing your Blackman experience. I am thrilled to hear that you and you family had such a fantastic time while you were here. Friendly and professional service is something we take great pride in, so when we love hearing that our staff added to the quality of your stay.
Thank you once again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,788 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $131 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing