We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place makes my heart happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Absolutely loved The Blackman.

Its a unique hotel on St Kilda road. Rooms were immaculate, staff were friendly and very helpful.

FOOD
They have a french cafe downstairs which made a beautiful coffee and good breakfast.

ROOMS
Beautiful. Everything you need, great shower, comfy bed, and unique touches. The artwork is beautiful and displayed in creative ways around the room.

LOCATION
While its not in the CBD we found it pretty easy to get around. The tram stops right out the front and runs until the late hours. took us around about 7 mins to get to Flinders street.

QURIKY FACT
search for the mirrored rabbits around the place. I liked this hotel because it was something away from the norm and uber cool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

Thank you to the author of this review. We are delighted to hear of your fantastic stay at The Blackman. We really feel we have a special hotel here and are glad that our guests are noticing our points of difference. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,082 - 2,088 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at "The Blackman" from the 15th to the 18th of October. While we can both be quite fussy I feel that some standards should be maintained and The Blackman did not fail us. Every single aspect of our stay was perfection. The staff in the hotel, from the concierge to the cleaners, were exceedingly friendly and helpful. The service and the food at both the restaurant and the depot de pain was amazing. The hotel itself was spectacular - not a detail left out from the immaculate cleanliness to the comfortable bed through to the amazing design - I particularly liked the little mirror rabbits peeking at me in unexpected places. For the first time in a long time I felt that I wanted to stay rather than go home. I will never stay anywhere else in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyerush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. All of our staff strive to exceed our guests expectations and we feel very happy when this happens. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman very soon, perhaps for a little longer next time.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

WOW - i rarely give a hotel 5 stars. Everything was in order and brand new. the room layout was fantastic and loved the small kitchenette. The views onto St Kilda Rd were great too.

The hotel is a little out of town, but its only a 5-7min tram ride in, so who cares, as its across the road. My only complaint would be that the pillows were too high for my likeing, but may not be a problem for others. Rooms were very generous is size also.

Will definately come back and recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Thanks to the author of this fantastic review. We are very happy to hear of your wonderful time at The Blackman and that you would love to come and visit us again. Maybe next time you could catch our complimentary shuttle into the CBD which departs Mon-Fri in the mornings.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Took advantage of affordable opening special, and stayed five nights. Great room on 16th floor, with awesome views. Fantastic amenities and very comfy bed, but we felt a few more instructions on where things were located and how some things work would be handy. I also think that the lighting in the room could be much better. It was hard to even read by. Guest experience staff were always helpful and friendly, however i do feel that i must point out some shortcomings that you wouldnt expect from a 5 star hotel, that need to be looked at. I was offered a choice of 4 newspapers, from which i chose three. Normally in other hotels i have stayed in, these were left outside your door before 6am. I had to chase these up, and never received 3 papers at any one time, and none at all on check out day. Milk and sugar was not replenished, and we also had to request more dishwashing liquid as well, so the hotel is being let down by housekeeping. This should not happen ever in a 5 star hotel in my opinion. Also, as i had paid for my hotel & flights in full through Expedia, i was alarmed to see that on my hotel bill that you could access on your TV screen, that each day we stayed was showing in arrears. I had to sort this out with them, which was something i would also not expect to happen. These things aside, The Blackman is in a great location, with trams virtually at your door, it was really quiet, but so close to all Marvellous Melbourne has to offer, and once they iron out some teething problems, will always be a popular destination to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearcat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Thanks to the author of this review. It is great to hear that your stay at The Blackman was mainly positive. However we will take your constructive feedback on board and share it with our team as it is very important as we strive to improve our hotel in the future. Thank you again for the review and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back and surpass your expectaions.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had a great weekend at the Blackman. We enjoyed the artwork throughout the entire hotel. Our room was 5 star, amazingly comfortable bed and everything we needed to relax and enjoy ourselves. The art pack was a lovely touch. Dinner at classico and breakfast at the French cafe downstairs were also very enjoyable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbournite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear of your wonderful time at The Blackman and that you will be returning. At The Blackman we strive to give every guest a fantastic experience and you can be assured your feedback will be passed on at our next team meeting.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My family and I enjoyed a single night here last weekend, and I was very impressed from check in to check out.

Having only opened a few short weeks ago, I expected there to be some teething problems, particularly with the service. There were none!

I also believed that they genuinely delivered on the art theme, with gorgeous details such as the rabbit silhouettes a testament to their integrity.

The rooms were beautifully appointed yet had every conceivable practicality - at last, style without compromise! From the beautiful view of St Kilda road from our balcony, the unexpected kitchenette, bicycles and green cars for hire and the perfect matching of the ground level cafe on one side of reception and an Italian bar/restaurant on the other, the Blackman delivers an enchanting place to stay.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tough_Job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Thanks to the author of this review. It is certainly wonderful to learn of the enchanting stay you and your family had at The Blackman. Our Kitchenettes are a wonderful advantage we have over other hotels and they are very popular. It is also great to hear that you loved the artwork around the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Blackman next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Every part of our stay was perfect. We loved the Blackman - the art, the decor, the beds, the furnishings - all SOSOSO funky and fabulous.. We were having a creative jaunt away overnight to see a number of exhibitions in Melbourne and The Blackman just iced the cake of our stay! Both cafe and restaurant were delicious. We had brekky, lunch AND dinner all on site at The Blackman. Truly everything was awesome! THANKYOU!! We will DEFINITELY be back :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swoshsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It's great to hear of your wonderful stay at The Blackman. It is also very pleasing to hear your positive feedback on both food outlets, we feel very fortunate to have two great places for our guests to dine. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
1,747 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,780 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $131 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing