We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always 10/10”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

i stay at the Blackman once or twice every month and time after time the service is simple exceptional.

Beds are so good after a long day.

I would highly recommend to anyone with business around St Kilda.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerkk_bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    539
    133
    37
    27
See reviews for
230
915
117
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creswick, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a deluxe studio twin, with two queen size beds in separate areas. Very spacious, with sweeping views and a balcony, on 17 th floor. Very clean, very comfortable, with great beds. Thoroughly enjoyed it, and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you Geoff for providing us with your review of our property following your stay. We were so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you stay again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel always delivers. I stayed here one night for work, I wish it was longer. The staff are always friendly and welcoming. I received a free room upgrade too.The rooms are great and beautifully decorated. The beds are very comfortable, there is a kitchenette if you want to self cater. The French bakery downstairs does a brilliant breakfast. There is some noise from e main road as I stayed here during the week but it is not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at Art Series The Blackman in a Deluxe Studio Suite and the experience could not be faulted. Everything was perfect from the early check-in, the wonderful staff at the front desk who are very friendly, very chatty and very awesome, the room was amazing!!! Clean, quiet, huge tv, beautiful artworks throughout, excellent bathroom facilities and amazing amenities. The cleaning staff are lovely and very cool. Parking was $25 and worth it as it is underground and safe for my motorcycle. My partner was particularly impressed with vitamins and a well stocked full size mini bar !!! The only thing stopping me from nicking the bed was the fact i ride a motorbike! Myself and my partner will be back again in 5 weeks!
The cafe/resturant downstairs is AMAZING and please do try the giant crouton with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce! Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Studio for a King Size bed you will just go to heaven in!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your kind words are very much appreciated and I have shared them with our team. Our beds are amazing and they are actually for sale, so if you would like any further information please do not hesitate to let me know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservoir, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Staying right now for the night before my wedding and The staff here at The Blackman have been amazing. From my initial phone call and all the little things I asked for, to the free bottle of sparkling to celebrate my wedding!
The rooms themselves are stunning, clean and have super comfy beds. Room service was quick!
Cannot fault The Blackman Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you Jo-Anne for sharing your feedback with us following your stay at The Blackman. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your pre-Wedding night with us and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I enjoy a weekend in the city every year and for the past few years The Blackman has been our hotel of choice. They really know how to look after their repeat guests. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and although the hotel is not in the CBD, it is easily accessible via a short tram trip. It is the little extras that all add up including slippers, robes, single person spa bath (deluxe room), T2 tea, good size fridge, microwave, dishwasher etc. You can't beat it for value!
We'll see you again next year!
Michael

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have a single person spa bath as apposed to just a shower in the standard room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you Michael for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. We could not be more excited to hear that you consider us to be "your hotel of choice". We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was beautifully furnished and decorated. The bed was very soft and comfortable and it also had a chaise lounge and a table with two chairs. Parking was a problem as it wasn't reserved so when we returned we just fit in to the overflow car park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myhappytravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your review of our property. We could not be happier to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Blackman and look forward to having you back again. For the benefit of future travellers, please be aware that you are unable to reserve space in our car park but if there is ever an availability issue (which occurs rarely), that our staff will park your car for you.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,486 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,517 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing