We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Series - The Blackman
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$111
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$269
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$169
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$162
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (2,426)
Filter reviews
2,427 results
Traveler rating
1,563
630
158
45
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,563
630
158
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst kildafrench cafedeluxe studio suitealbert parkdepot de painrestaurants downstairssmart cartram stopsmall kitchenettebotanical gardensloved this hotelthe ground floorchapel streetmini barspa bathcomfortable bedmodern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 2,427 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here during the Australian Open, and my mum and I loved the location (short tram ride into the city), and all the trimmings and detail in the room. The small kitchen meant we could prepare food for the days ahead, and have breakfast in-room.
Loved all the art detail around the room, and the floors - we had asked for the mentioned art tour, but noone was available at the time, so we conducted our own walk-around!
Comfortable bed, even the rollaway.
Would love to stay again - will need to keep an eye out for special deals!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jouljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Australian Open in Melbourne is a great time to be in the city, as there is a real buzz about town. Whether you take the tram or walk through the gardens, it is easy to get to Rod Laver Arena from The Blackman. We have recently finished a round of art training for the team, this way we can offer the art tours 24/7. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in the Blackman for two nights and they were the best sleeps I have had in years. The beds are magnificent. As was everything else.The staff were great: helpful, efficient and kind. We had an executive balcony suite and it was lovely, overlooking the bay and Albert Park Lake.The suite was very well furnished and very comfortable.One very small criticism: two people need more than two large towels. A minimum of three is really required as two towels are used when showering and washing hair.Having said that, the very sweet person who was housekeeping on the floor immediately provided us with extras. Blackman art in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Breakfast in the bakery downstairs was terrific. Great stay, great hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 13th floor, facing the bay. Plenty of natural light and lovely view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Many thanks for providing us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. We place great importance in our customer service delivery so thank you for your kind words. All of our bedding is available for purchase so please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like any further information. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in a double room with our daughter on the 6th floor with great views over Melbourne. Rooms are very well appointed, ours had a small kitchen, inc fridge, cook top, large sink etc. Two rooms, double bed each, both with large flat panel TV's. Found the rooms to be modern, clean and well organised. A very trendy feel with many Charles Blackman pieces displayed. Staff were friendly but not in your face every time you walk in or out of the foyer, which makes for a more relaxed stay. There's a tram that runs past the front of the building, for easy access to the city, and doubled glazed windows meant we couldn't here it or any traffic noise until we were out on the balcony. We did find parking to be a hassle sometimes, the car park underneath was full on our arrival, but we found a park within walking distance. Over all, a very good experience, and yes I would stay again and intend to.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 6 have the best views over the city.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review following your stay at The Blackman. I could not be happier to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Please be aware that our staff will assist in parking your car if you have trouble finding a space in our car park again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the suite with a kitchen and a balcony (cleaning crew forgot to clean it though). Even though the kitchen was a little close to the bed for our liking it was an overall great experience. The king bed was fantastic, had the best sleep ever. The reception was helpful and sweet. The fact that there is parking in front of the hotel is a plus in a city. It has a tram stop two minutes away. We booked online and then decided to stay another night by just letting reception know. Best to book it online for cheaper rates especially if you intend to stay over on a weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idurdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I love the art of Charles Blackman, so to stay in a hotel inspired by him was a great opportunity. Thankfully it was a great experience. Our room was very modern and well appointed with beautiful Blackman art placed strategically. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the hotel is within easy reach of the CBD. For its amenities I thought it was reasonably good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you Wayne for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts following your stay at The Blackman. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient customer service so thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman again.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews