We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived early in the morning without our luggage after an overnight flight from the UK. The staff were helpful, friendly and very welcoming. The room was a real treat with stylish touches and thoughtful additions. The bed was incredibly comfortable.
I liked the location halfway between the centre and St Kilda but don't stay here if you want to be in the middle of everything. It was not cheap but nothing is in Melbourne, and the cafe was delicious.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Many thanks Julia for providing us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. I have passed your kind words about our staff on to the team. All of our bedding is available for purchase so please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like any further information. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was in my room within minutes of arrival. It was very large, with plenty of natural light, nice furnishings and extremely comfortable.
I opted for room service, and enjoyed one of the best steaks ever.
Relaxed and content I slept in an extremely comfortable bed.
Check out was fast and efficient.
I will definitely return (indeed I did - to enjoy dinner in the restaurant with my wife soon after).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you Steve for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts following your stay at The Blackman. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left we had a fantastic stay. The staff upon arrival were so welcoming and very helpful. We were able to check into our room early and what a beautiful room it was, spotless & very clean. We had booked a bay view studio room. The view from our room was amazing. We were on the 17th floor overlooking Albert Park and the water. After a long day of interviewing, we were very surprised to return to our room and within 10 minutes a knock at the door offering us a complimentary bottle of champagne wishing us a happy anniversary. The next day we had breakfast at the French patisserie, food was fantastic and then used a corner of the patisserie to do a few more interviews. The staff were so accommodating and helpful. We had dinner at Classico's one night and again service was excellent. Great location, easy to get to either the city or St Kilda on the tram. Would definitely stay at The Blackman again.

Room Tip: Book a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Jodie S,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Blackman. It sounds like you got to experience every part of the hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed staying with us. If we don't see you before, we hope to have you with us for your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Blackman in Jan. The hotel is boutique and arty. It's a bit out of the way and hard to get taxis out of there. The staff at reception were rude and had attitude. I payed cash on checkout but took forever to get the money the held on my credit card released back into my account. Upon calling reception to to get the bill emailed and to discuss the release of funds I found the male receptionist very rude. Bad customer service. On a plus the food was good in both cafés on ground level

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariuccia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties with our staff in January. While this is unacceptable, we have put a concentrated effort into improving our team and customer relations since then and I believe recent reviews from February reflect this. We are continually working with our team to improve so we can offer the best service possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night after flying into Melbourne and enjoyed it. Our room, a deluxe studio suite, was very well furnished and had a kitchenette so you could self cater if you wanted to. The bed was extremely comfortable and they supplied all you needed, although some of the complimentary items such as tea, coffee etc and other bathroom items were hidden away in cupboards and not obviously noticeable.

The Blackman does not have a restaurant as such but there is a French Patisserie/Coffee shop by the entrance which provided an excellent breakfast facility and also an Italian restaurant on the other side of the entrance which does all meals. You do not have to walk far to find other shops and restaurants and there is a tram stop close by for transport into the city.

Our only criticism would be that you have to pay for Wifi, which most other hotels we have stayed in provide free.

Having said that it is a really nice hotel with helpful staff and located in a nice neighbourhood with a park and the Botanical Gardens close by.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you Julie for providing us with your review following your stay at The Blackman. I have shared your kind words with our team. We are in the process of offering complimentary WiFi, so hopefully this will be available when you next stay with us.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Blackman was a one of a kind feel hotel. The fixtures, fittings and decorations of the lobby and rooms suggest that this hotel is a recent refurbishment. The room we stayed in was brilliant, with exceptional views out accross St Kilda and into the city. Room was kept clean and staff were always friendly, and uninvasive. Travelling into the city was simple, as a main tram line ran in the adjacent street down St Kilda Road. A cab to the waterfront/Crown Casino was about $15.00. Downstairs features a small bar/italian restaurant and a small bakery, freshly baking each day -- both a magnificent standard.

Would definitely recommend as a couples retreat, as it's a quiet and intimate spot. If you're looking for a higher energy spot, I'd recommend something by the river, down by the Casino.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Many thanks Robert for sharing your experience following your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great hotel rooms and location. We stayed in a suite which had a balcony overlooking Albert Park Lake and out to the Bay. Check in was efficient, staff were professional but not friendly. They were understaffed on this particular Saturday evening. I called down to reception from my room and was on hold for 5 minutes and ended up hanging up and just walking down there. Not great.

The rooms themselves are the standout and the location is convenient to all that Melbourne has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvey2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you Harvey for taking the time to review our property after your stay. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service and I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we have not delivered. Our front desk always operates with a full team and while I am sure that you can understand that Saturday nights can be busier than others I am sorry that your enquiry was not dealt with in a timely manner. I am happy that you enjoyed your room and our location and hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,835 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing