We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin share happiness!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed four nights here with a friend in a twin share room 404. The room was comfortable for two people and we appreciated the ability to get fresh air into the room via the balcony doors. The daily servicing was very basic, they left the room as is (no tidying, removing papers etc) but changed the linen and towels. Twice in four days the kitchen and mini bar amenities were not refreshed. A quick call to reception rectified the matter but in a 5 star hotel, should you have to call?? Those basic things make the difference - no one wants to feel like just because they aren't in the penthouse or a larger suite they just get basic service.

The ladies on front desk were friendly and very helpful with trams and getting around, the men were more business like and didn't go out of there way as much as the ladies did. The hotel is handily right across from a tram stop and we were able to get everywhere we wanted on the trams quick and easy.

The beds and pillows - amazing. The mini bar prices are not sky high but reasonable. Room service was super quick but uninspiring food (better off visiting the cafe or restaurant downstairs) plus had a $5 order charge on top. The artwork and atmosphere create a fantastic vibe that will keep many visitors coming back for more.

Room Tip: The rooms facing east get the sunrise but windows have roller blinds and curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22dannielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback Dannielle, following your recent stay at The Blackman. I apologise for the housekeeping issue that you experienced during your stay - you are most correct that you should not have to call - but I am glad that our staff were able to rectify the issue promptly. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our front office ladies. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our "fantastic vibe" and hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Blackman for 1 night in July between going from Mt Buller through to the GOR.

Arrival -
Hard to find a park outside the hotel but we were lucky, check it was quick and easy. The staff were very friendly.
The car park has a very low roof!

Room -
We booked the basic “Studio Suite Balcony”, fairly large room than we have experience before in Melbourne (comparing between the Oaks on Collins - Studio). Large comfy bed, small kitchen and modern bathroom. Plus this room came with a small private balcony with some great views, was a little to cold to hang out too much on it!

Food -
We have room service dinner which was excellent! We had a pizza and chips and Dessert - chocolate mousse and a lemon tart. (yummm!)

Location -
I really love the location, it isnt within the city (more on the outskirts) but still easy to walk into the city. You can also catch a tram but wouldnt suggest it if you are there for a short time as tram fares are expensive)

Staff Worth Special mention -
Phoebe who worked at the front desk and checked us in. She was very friendly and was able to suggest some awesome restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel

General Summary -
Greta location + friendly staff = wins mega points from us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you Samantha, for the feedback you provided following your stay at The Blackman. I was very happy to receive your wonderful comments. I have passed your feedback on to the team (especially Phoebe) and am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We a beautiful 2 night stay at The Blackman. So quiet! So comfortable! The bakery downstairs serves an awesome breakfast! The only concern we had was that we had booked a kingsize bed and they upgraded us to a bigger room with a magnificent view but a queen bed. They forgot to tell us! Just wish we had a choice! Also, be prepared to pay for the parking. The quiet and comfy compo ant definitely win us over though and the complimentary bottle of champagne! :-) Also, they are affiliated with the entertainment book.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available then ask if you got one and see what the difference is. We were in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feeback following your recent stay at The Blackman. I apologise for the error that was made regarding your upgrade - this was a mistake on our part. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the champagne and thank you for your lovely comments about your breakfast at Depot De Pain. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This time we booked a suite , 1509. Which I recommended as the views are great. Large room with kitchen, coffee machine, separate bedroom. Separate bathroom with spa.

The staff are very prompt no matter the issue. As we had booked this time to watch the football, the TV was cutting out terribly for the first half. They did have a look into it but really it was the terrible wind we had so not much to be done about it. They followed up with a call. Great people. I also mentioned to them the boys above who were urinating off their balcony which nearly hit me lol(as there are 2
more floors above) and they were prompt to put them in order :)

Great coffee downstairs and rooms very comfy. Recommended once more. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aknavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Blackman. We were very happy to hear your comments regarding the attentiveness of our staff. I sincerely apologise for the "balcony issue" that you experienced but thank you for your humour. Please be reassured that we do make all efforts to ensure our guests safety. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman (on a higher floor with no balconies above).

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

In August I stayed at The Blackmans sister hotel, The Cullen and the stay was marred with a few problems. Having read that The Blackman was the last of the art series hotels to be completed I thought I would give it a try in the hope that maybe they now had the 'formula' correct. I was not disappointed ... My room was quiet, well appointed and very clean. A request to have a light globe changed was welcomed by the staff and attended to quickly. There was a slight mix up with a food charge being added to my account in error but this was investigated and quickly rectified by the male staff member at reception. The Classico bar and Resturant on site are busy most nights but the food and service I received were good. Highly recommend staying at The Blackman and it will be my first choice in the future as I visit Melbourne regularly for work.

Room Tip: Request a room up on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hunterkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your stay in September. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that The Blackman is now your first choice for accommodation in Melbourne. I have passed your positive comments about the food and service you received on to the restaurant staff. We looking forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I normally stay at the Prince Hotel when I am in Melbourne, but unfortunately they were full and I therefore had to look for an alternative. The Blackman turned out to be an excellent alternative and will actually now become my first choice for Melbourne! The room was spacious and even had a mini kitchen area included. The mini bar / snacks were very thoughtful and not outrageously priced. Bathrooms are tiny (would have liked a little bigger and a bath), but it was functional, great shower and clean. The amenities although great smelling are really painful to get out of the containers - would definitely look at the packaging. I ate at both restaurants and both were really good - the cafe for breakfast also very good. I had room service really late one night and that was average. If there was an improvement I would suggest is that at all times when going to my room there was always room service trays outside many room doors, some being there for at least 18 hours and newspapers had been delivered in the meantime - I really found this to be a bit slack and do think staff should make an effort to check the floors and clear things away. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and its in a great location with helpful front desk staff and pleasant restaurant staff as well.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

I was very happy to read that The Blackman is now your first choice for Melbourne accommodation so thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please do not hesitate to provide us with your room preferences on your next stay (eg: bath). Thank you for your lovely words about our front office and restaurant staff - I have passed these on to the team. Please accept my apologies that your room service did not meet expectations and thank you for bringing the room service tray issue to my attention - I have discussed this with all relevant parties. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Blackman at the end of a one month trip to SE Asia. The hotel is delightlful, quirky and theatrical. We arrived early and we could have had a room straight away but were urged to wait and we could have a "nicer" room. We waited and it was a gorgeous room on the 15th floor with great views of the park and out to Port Phillip bay. The room was very well appointed and of course the Blackman art is the focal point. Unfortunately during the night I was taken ill, necessitating a visit to the nearby Alfred hospital (5 star service also!) The staff at the blackman assisted me and my husband in such a kind and supportive way and turned what could have been a very difficult situation in to one that was manageable. My only regret is that I did not get a full night's sleep in the supremely comfortable bed. Thanks to all at the Blackman, we unreservedly recommend your fine establishment and we will not hesitate to stay again

Room Tip: our room on the 15th floor was quiet and we had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloriaSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you Gloria for taking the time to review our property. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Blackman, even though you experienced some difficulty during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a memorable customer service experience, so your lovely words about the service and assistance your received from our front office team is wonderful. The comments we receive about our 'supremely comfortable beds' are a common theme amoung our guests - and as we do sell our beds - if you ever wanted to take a piece of The Blackman home with you, then do not hesitate to contact me. We very much look forward to having you back at The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
1,747 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,769 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,400 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $131 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing