We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in, staff, rooms, how clean it is. The best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the blackman for a business trip. It is the best hotel by far that olive stayed in. Everything has a special touch down to the last thing. The rooms are of good sizes, the beds are the most comfortable hotel beds ever, it's so clean and fresh. The only slight negative is the resturant is so so good with great food and cocktails and wine it should be bigger in size. So hopefully this a positive. I would recommend the blackman to everyone.

Bhavisha.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback and for recommending our hotel! We try to provide a unique and comfortable atmosphere, so I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurants, beds, and all of our special touches. We just love to hear such positive comments and have shared your review with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman should you ever return to Melbourne!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at the Blackman. Also in March. I love the extra touches which sets it aside from the regular hotels. The staff are more than accommodating and on several occasions provide spot on information regarding tram travel. The French cafe and Italian Classico provide excellent dining choices and above all the best coffee. For a smaller hotel they scrimp on nothing. Well done Art series and The Blackman you will always be my choice of stay when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Jen,

Thank you very much for being a repeat guest of ours and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide an experience a bit different from your stock standard hotels, and I’m so happy to read that you enjoyed our “extra touches”! We’ve shared your comments with Reception and both restaurants and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We travelled to Melbourne from Adelaide for 3 nights in a Studio room with balcony. We were greeted nicely and were very pleased with our room. The room was very stylish with everything you could need. The kitchenette had wine glasses, plates, cutlery and chopping board etc. Microwave, sink and hotplates. Many hotels don't supply all these things. Even has an iron/board, safe, gowns and slippers. Dining table, desk and lounge. Awesome quirky shampoo bottles etc. Good location. Trams only a short walk away and never had to wait long for one to arrive. Front desk helped us with easy directions to where we wanted to go. Enjoyed staying a little way out of the CBD. St Kilda is only a short ride away. We enjoyed a walk along the beach and had many great coffees in the cafes. Oh- and the Queen bed was super comfy. We will be back and had such a wonderful experience at the Blackman. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank SweetSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! Your positive comments mean the world to us and we’ve shared your review with all departments. I’m very happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and the room to be well-appointed and stylish. We strive to provide a quirky yet comfortable atmosphere, and I’m delighted to read that you enjoyable the hotel’s ambiance. We thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very friendly and polite staff- Paul the night manager was a big help! Very clean and beautiful place to stay! Great restaurants down stairs and located close near all trams, overall the experience was great! Absolutely fabulous

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaytlinburney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Kaytlin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and I’m delighted to read that you found our staff to be so accommodating. I’ve shared your comments with Paul as well as the rest of our team, and we all hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I wrote a fairly scathing review in October 2012 after complaining about poor service and a tiny room as it was a 50th birthday present from my mum.
The management eventually offered me a complimentary night which I took up in February 2013. I would like to say that we were upgraded to a beautiful big room with views over Albert park lake to one side and the Dandemong ranges to the other.
The service was great and everyone was very helpful.
Btw the beds are among the best I've slept in. ( I wanted to buy one.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up over looking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Lissa,

Thank you very much for choosing to return to The Blackman after your initial disappointing visit! We’re thrilled to read that your stay was much more enjoyable this time and that you found our service to be to a better standard. Our guests’ feedback is very important to us, so thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences. We hope you’ll try the Blackman again for any future special occasions!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a returning guest to The Blackman, it's time to sing out about the fantastic, warm, welcoming staff; the comfortable, inspiring yet restful rooms and the soul soothing ambience. It's close enough to stroll around Albert Park or cruise the city. I look forward to returning in November for 10 days! So wether it's for work or play - the Blackman's a cool choice for your Melbourne stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Nadine,

Thank you very much for your continuous support of The Blackman and for taking the time to share your feedback! We genuinely value our repeat guests and we’re thrilled to read that you’ve found our staff to be so accommodating. We’ve passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 10 day visit in November!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at The Blackman in a twin room for a 4 day R&R in Melbourne and were impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Lovely view - the beds were as comfortable as home - well appointed kitchenette - spacious and great location. We had a great view looking out over the city and toward the MCG - will be requesting a bay view next time though. Tram just a minute walk away and never waited longer than a minute or two for the next one to the city (about 5 minutes away) or to St Kilda.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita-Muecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Anita,

Thanks so much for choosing The Blackman for your R&R visit! I’m so happy to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the views we have to offer. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman for a repeat visit soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
1,747 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,781 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $131 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing