We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Classy Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Husband and I spent 2 nights at the Blackman, it was everything we expected it to be. Lovely rooms, and the most comfy bed.
The bathroom was a bit small...
The staff are exceptional, so friendly and bend over backwards to ensure your stay is pleasant. Loved the St Kilda location, definitely recommend as one of the best.

Room Tip: Our room had a small bathroom, other than that you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yenschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and helpful room tip. We constantly strive to provide outstanding service and I’m thrilled to read that you found our staff to be “exceptional”! We certainly hope to welcome you back for a “getaway” trip again soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    464
    116
    32
    24
See reviews for
187
762
94
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at The Blackman for our wedding anniversary.

A really nice, modern hotel just off St Kilda Road with a tram stop outside - convenient! Comfortable bed, thick pillows, Blackmans on the walls, good sized room and bathroom, kitchenette and a small balcony. The heating worked (a necessity in Melbourne in the winter!).

The cafe off the lobby serves good breakfasts, everything from fresh pastries through to cooked delights - not a buffet in sight!!!

Friendly, helpful staff added to the experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Chris,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! I was very happy to read that you found our location to be so convenient and our rooms to be spacious. We just love to hear positive comments and I’ve shared your review with the team. We do hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again the next time you’re in Melbourne.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely stylish, spacious rooms with stylish repros of Blackmans work throughout the hotel. One small disappointment for this baby boomer - bedside lighting levels made reading near impossible! We enjoyed a casual breakfast in the patisserie before jumping on the convenient tram to the art gallery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Nicky,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We’re very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the décor of your room! If you return, please let us know prior to your arrival and we’ll arrange to have some extra lamps placed in your room. We hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The stand out feature to my room was the unbelievably comfortable bed - great mattress, linens, pillows to die for, fluffy doonas, and a thoughtful wool throw to curl up in on the sofa. Best nights sleep ever in a hotel room.

Love the kitchenette and table area - great to work from. Lovely views and great balcony. Bathroom was very glam but could be a bit tight for anything more than get in-get out.

I've already booked for my next business trip..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VCD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your “fabulous” review! I’m thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our bedding to be so comfortable. (Our beds and linens are for sale, if you’re interested!) Your positive comments mean the world to us and we’ve shared your feedback with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Made a late booking for an overnight stay through Hotel Club. Had found the hotel through having breakfast at the French cafe below over the previous weekend and it looked interesting enough to stay in my head for the next trip up to Melbourne. Didn't relaise it would be in such a short space of time but I am very happy we did. The hotel is interesting and charming right down to the internals of the elevator with colourful prints of artwork on display. The reception staff upon arrival were extremely welcoming and efficient and were more than willing to offer me a change of floors when I mentioned my aversion to elevators. Great value for the room quality and we had the added bonus of a full terrace as well as the balcony - if only the weather was up for it! Dinner at Classico downstairs was top notch with friendly and efficient staff in a relaxed yet lively atmosphere. An extra bonus was not having to go hunting for a restruant still open and happy to serve at a late hour. Being able to get a take away cuppacino and warm pastry from the lovely FLEUR Depot de Pain french patisserie downstairs the following morning and sit up in bed enjoying it with the winter sun streaming in through the shades was the icing on the cake! Will definitely be visiting again! Easy drive from this location down to the Great Ocean rd as you are just aroudn the corner from the Princess Hwy and West Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outofplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a team, we strive to provide outstanding customer service, and I’m delighted to hear that you found our reception and restaurant staff to be so accommodating. We’ve shared your encouraging comments with the Front Desk as well as Depot de Pain and Classico. We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again soon- hopefully for a longer and sunnier visit!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at the Blackman for 2 nights recently. This is a well appointed hotel where most of the internal space is covered with reproductions of Charles Blackmans iconic paintings and imagery. The hotel room has a small kitchenette, balconies with a great view, and are reasonably spacious. The only negative is the bathroom is very small – definitely a space for one person at a time.

The only criticism of the hotel is that they could improve their service. I asked for papers and they were never delivered, I could not connect to the paid wifi as the system did not recognise my name or room number. The staff in both the onsite restaurant and café were a somewhat lazy – they were not particularly interested in being helpful, clearing the tables, or providing a menu. I overheard other patrons in the café making comments about the poor service. Although when they finally did attend to these matters the food was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeetagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We genuinely appreciate our guests’ feedback as we are constantly seeking means of improvement for our hotel operations.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the ambiance and artwork of the hotel as well as the set-up of your room. I was however very disappointed to read you that you felt that the staff service fell short of your expectations. We’ve used your review as a training topic for our employees and have passed your comments on to both restaurants. If you return, (which I hope that you do!), please contact me prior to your arrival and I’ll ensure that your stay is well looked after.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
03 9039 1444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am writing this after having only stayed one night at the Blackman and I would usually not write a review until after a repeat visit but the hotel and staff impressed me so much I felt I should review it straight away. Firstly, although it is on the other side of the CBD from the airport the cab fare from the airport was the same as a cab fare into the main hotels in the CBD. It is just off St KIlda Rd on Arthur St and only a minutes walk to a tram stop. It takes no more than 10 minutes to get to Southbank on the tram. The desk staff were very welcoming and efficient. I had booked a basic suite but I was upgraded to a larger suite. It was on the 8th floor and faced Arthur St and had a balcony with a lovely view over Albert Park and out to Port Phillip Bay. The living space was large, the sleeping area not so large but perfectly adequate and the bed was sublimely comfortable. There is a very serviceable kitchenette which included a decent sized fridge, hotplates and a microwave/grill oven. The choice of products, either included or to purchase, were all first class, e.g. T2 teas, Byron Bay cookies, Swisse vitamins etc, plus a well stocked bar range. I liked the extra touches like the various art books available to peruse in the room and loved the Charles Blackman art works on the wall. The etched glass door and wall of the bathroom were a particular favourite touch. Although it was a busy Saturday night the room was very sound proof and I heard no traffic noise and very little noise from within the hotel. The blind and curtains on the window completely black out the light and I woke at 10am on Sunday morning thinking it was still night.
There is an excellent coffee shop next to the foyer, which serves both locals and hotel guests a great breakfast. I liked The Blackman very much and look forward to my repeat visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your “excellent” review! We strive to give our guests a unique and memorable experience and we’re thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your mention of our Front Desk staff and our French bakery, Depot de Pain as well as your feedback on the suite, amenities, and location. We just love to hear such positive feedback and have passed your review on to the entire staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,399 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing