We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“melbourne perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

our stay at The Blackman was for our son's wedding nearby . The room, an executive suite , was ideal for our needs. Its location close to venue and city parks was exactly right. The room was quiet, bright , well equiped and spacious and the bed very comfortable. No A/C noise at all. We enjoyed the art work very much. Best of all the staff were courteous and helpful. We can not fault this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: our room an executive suite was bright, quiet and spacious. the bed was very comfortable. the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur4070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Arthur,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on such a special night! We were delighted to hear that our executive suite fit your needs and that our customer service exceeded your expectations. We love to hear such positive feedback and have passed your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic facilities, modern, funky, fun and friendly staff and all the magic of a winter wonderland in the presence of Greatness with the artwork of Charles Blackman everywhere. Special thanks to Alina and Nick. Xx

From the moment I walked into the reception area and was greeted by the Art work of Charles Blackman, I was sold! It was all up from there. Life sized replicas of Blackman wonderful art series, Alice in Wonderland embedded in the lift walls, the bathroom walls and on every wall of the hotel. What a treat, what an honour, what a legacy!

The loop video of Blackman's life playing in the room is education and entertaining and I am so grateful to the people who came up with the idea of honouring this great Australian artist in this way!

From the practical touches that make the difference, like shower taps on the inside of the shower entry rather than under the water spout, to the little mirror cut-outs of rabbits that appear throughout the hotel. What delight!

I'll be back! xxx

Bravo! xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairyspecialtrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Trish,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for your mention of Alina and Nick! We’ve shared your encouraging comments with them, along with the rest of the team. We just love to celebrate Charles Blackman’s artwork with our guests and we’re thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel. Good food in the cafe downstairs and very helpful people on the front desk. We were greated upon stepping out of our shuttle and were looked after throughout our stay. A short tram ride away from everywhere that you need to go. Thank you, we will definitely be returning. The bed was also SUPER comfy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Renee,

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We do our best to provide exceptional customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to your next visit at The Blackman.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Friday and Saturday in May 2013. Our room was superb, large with a table and chairs, desk and chair, couch, very comfortable bed, kitchenette with every convenience including dishwasher. Bathroom was large and all was spotlessly clean. Small balcony.One small thing, no light over the mirror in the bathroom and as make-up had to be just right for a celebratory function this proved difficult. Only a female would be concerned so all in all a very nice place to stay. On St.Kilda road so very handy to the city and easy access to other parts of Melbourne.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0b019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Rob,

Thank you very much for recommending our property! We aim to provide each guest with a faultless stay, so we loved hearing your positive comments in regards to our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and room cleanliness. I can understand that the lighting in the bathroom might be a bit inconvenient, so if you return please contact us prior to your arrival and we’d be happy to add an extra lamp to your bathroom.

Thank you again for your encouraging feedback and we hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

From experience hotel receptions can be as neutral as Switzerland but we walked into a vibrant light filled space with carefully selected décor and prints by the artist Charles Blackman.
The well-groomed staff were sharp and courteous with no attempts to upsell nor talk of discount sightseeing even though I detected a quiet confidence in their own knowledge of the city and ability to arrange for a helicopter at short notice if needed.
The rest of the establishment oozes uber-chic and one would be less surprised to find elevator music performed live by Kraftwerk than by the magnificent views over Albert Park and the Bay that greeted us from our room.
Our room was big enough to entertain our eight guests without feeling cramped, it was our anniversary after all, and the complementary bottle of bubbles delivered by a part-time model a nice touch and pleasant surprise.
Away from the tourist traps of Southbank and the Crown Complex the Blackman is but a few minutes’ tram ride into town and we enjoyed a night out in this great city to return to the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamianCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Damian,

What a great review! We strive to create a chic, but welcoming atmosphere and we’re so happy to hear that your time at The Blackman exceeded your expectations. I can’t confirm or deny whether we have part- time models working here, but our team members were all very flattered when reading your review!

Your positive comments mean the world to us and we’ve shared your response with all departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently celebrated my 30th birthday in Melbourne and after some research on Trip Advisor we chose to spend three nights at the Blackman.

The room was immaculate, modern and furnished in a wonderful quirky style; loved the rabbits! Kitchenette was functional with modern appliances and the T2 tea was a lovely surprise. The Bathroom was clean, new and chic; the white bathrobes and slippers were a wonderful touch. The Bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet with no noise from neighbouring rooms and minimal traffic noise.

We had a nice meal at the Italian restaurant on site and made use of the patisserie for breakfasts.

The staff members were great. It was wonderful finding a bottle of complimentary birthday bubbly on ice waiting for us in the room on the second day.

The price was pretty reasonable too, working out at about $170 per night.

It's very rare that we find a hotel that ticks all the boxes and we will definitely be returning for future Melbourne trips.

Room Tip: Our corner room had a double balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agathapanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Agatha,

Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We love to hear such positive feedback, and we’ve passed your encouraging comments on to the team. We’re thrilled that you chose The Blackman for such a special occasion, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel next time that you’re in town!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed this weekend. Room cost $355 for the two nights. Staff pleasant, location good with tram stop at the corner, elevators efficient, decor lovely, our room not large but had kitchenette and two small balconies, bed excellent. Downside - very dim lighting, could not see to read or see heating controls, asked for heating to be turned up but staff obviously inexperienced & it did not heat all night:(. Two bulbs in bathroom blown and sink would not drain properly even after telling staff. They knew there were problems, it's enough to make us think twice, unfortunate as it is so close to a top rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Glenda and Mike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We genuinely value our customers’ comments and I’m very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am however, disappointed to hear our staff did not immediately respond to the maintenance problems you experienced during your stay. This type of service is simply below our standards, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. I hope that you’ll give us another chance to provide the five-star customer service you both deserve!

If you return, please contact me prior to your arrival and I’ll make sure to personally look after your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
03 9039 1444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,724 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $124 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing