We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Series - The Blackman
Nearby Hotels
$221
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$180
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$184
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$255
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,420)
Filter reviews
2,420 results
Traveler rating
1,558
628
158
45
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,558
628
158
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst kildafrench cafedeluxe studio suitealbert parkdepot de painrestaurants downstairssmart cartram stopsmall kitchenettebotanical gardensloved this hotelthe ground floorchapel streetmini barspa bathcomfortable bedmodern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,605 - 1,610 of 2,420 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

From experience hotel receptions can be as neutral as Switzerland but we walked into a vibrant light filled space with carefully selected décor and prints by the artist Charles Blackman.
The well-groomed staff were sharp and courteous with no attempts to upsell nor talk of discount sightseeing even though I detected a quiet confidence in their own knowledge of the city and ability to arrange for a helicopter at short notice if needed.
The rest of the establishment oozes uber-chic and one would be less surprised to find elevator music performed live by Kraftwerk than by the magnificent views over Albert Park and the Bay that greeted us from our room.
Our room was big enough to entertain our eight guests without feeling cramped, it was our anniversary after all, and the complementary bottle of bubbles delivered by a part-time model a nice touch and pleasant surprise.
Away from the tourist traps of Southbank and the Crown Complex the Blackman is but a few minutes’ tram ride into town and we enjoyed a night out in this great city to return to the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamianCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Damian,

What a great review! We strive to create a chic, but welcoming atmosphere and we’re so happy to hear that your time at The Blackman exceeded your expectations. I can’t confirm or deny whether we have part- time models working here, but our team members were all very flattered when reading your review!

Your positive comments mean the world to us and we’ve shared your response with all departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently celebrated my 30th birthday in Melbourne and after some research on Trip Advisor we chose to spend three nights at the Blackman.

The room was immaculate, modern and furnished in a wonderful quirky style; loved the rabbits! Kitchenette was functional with modern appliances and the T2 tea was a lovely surprise. The Bathroom was clean, new and chic; the white bathrobes and slippers were a wonderful touch. The Bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet with no noise from neighbouring rooms and minimal traffic noise.

We had a nice meal at the Italian restaurant on site and made use of the patisserie for breakfasts.

The staff members were great. It was wonderful finding a bottle of complimentary birthday bubbly on ice waiting for us in the room on the second day.

The price was pretty reasonable too, working out at about $170 per night.

It's very rare that we find a hotel that ticks all the boxes and we will definitely be returning for future Melbourne trips.

Room Tip: Our corner room had a double balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agathapanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Agatha,

Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We love to hear such positive feedback, and we’ve passed your encouraging comments on to the team. We’re thrilled that you chose The Blackman for such a special occasion, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel next time that you’re in town!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed this weekend. Room cost $355 for the two nights. Staff pleasant, location good with tram stop at the corner, elevators efficient, decor lovely, our room not large but had kitchenette and two small balconies, bed excellent. Downside - very dim lighting, could not see to read or see heating controls, asked for heating to be turned up but staff obviously inexperienced & it did not heat all night:(. Two bulbs in bathroom blown and sink would not drain properly even after telling staff. They knew there were problems, it's enough to make us think twice, unfortunate as it is so close to a top rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Glenda and Mike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We genuinely value our customers’ comments and I’m very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am however, disappointed to hear our staff did not immediately respond to the maintenance problems you experienced during your stay. This type of service is simply below our standards, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. I hope that you’ll give us another chance to provide the five-star customer service you both deserve!

If you return, please contact me prior to your arrival and I’ll make sure to personally look after your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
03 9039 1444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel aside from the smoke detector green light above my bed. This is obviously not an issue for most, but if your a light sleeper it is as if your sleeping under an exit sign. Consequently since the main reason for staying is to sleep...the excellent service, hotel and room design and quirkiness can't compete. We stayed in a deluxe studio suite twin balcony, beds separated by the bathroom (great) looking onto a building (avoid if possible). Easy access to city via Tram 3/3a, 6, 16, 64 or 72 from stop 23 slater st (across the road from hotel on st kilda rd). If you stay you will be amazed (just bring an eye mask)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiFind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate both your positive and constructive comments, as we are constantly searching for means to improve our guests’ experiences.

I am delighted to hear that you found our customer service to be excellent and our location to be convenient, but I’m disappointed that the smoke detector in your room had such a negative effect on your stay. As the main reason to use a hotel is to sleep, I can certainly understand how this must have been frustrating. I can assure you that not all of our rooms are set up this way, so we don’t find this to be a common complaint. If you return, (which we genuinely hope that you do), please mention this to our reservations department prior to your arrival, and we’ll do our best to ensure that you are allocated a room with the smoke detector in a different location.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A welcome sideways step away from the traditional 5 star beige formula, The Blackman is fresh, new, edgy and vibrant. Dark hallways to the lift area slightly reminiscent of a nightclub, but forgiveable amidst fresh stimulating décor and spotless rooms with quirky, artistic quality throughout. A pleasure to stay, and service was excellent. Faultless. The perfect base to explore the best of arts and culture in this amazing city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Jason,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We try to give our guests an impressionable and unique experience, and we’re elated to hear that your stay was “faultless”! We hope to see you again at The Blackman soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews