We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #15 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent value for money. The Beds are to die for. The room was clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly, professional and provided great service. Good location just off St Kilda's Road.
The Cafe downstairs coped superbly with post ANZAC rush.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

John,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your positive feedback means the world to us and we’ve shared your comments with the team. We hope to see you next time you’re in town!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Blackman continues in the vein of excellence for the Art Series Hotels. Service is excellent as are the rooms. The Blackman is also exceptionally well placed off St Kilda Rd so very close to the city (and St Kilda) yet in a quiet bubble only occasionally breached by a passing tram. The hotel is very close to extensive gardens and reserves around the city. And as always the artwork and interior decoration is fantastic and quirky. The beds ..... fantastic. Treat yourself ... go on!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for your great review. We love to love to hear such encouraging comments, and have passed your positive feedback on to all departments. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My absolute favourite :) Yes I have stayed at all three hotels.

As one of the Art Series Hotels, The Blackman does not disappoint with their signature bedding - still find it to have the best beds in the world ;) Stayed here last year, only bad thing is that we kept wanting to go back to the hotel for a nap before dinner. Love all the amenities provided, the excellent use of space, all the Blackman-inspired decor. Also love the pastries at fleur - depot de pain downstairs - freshly baked from French Fantasies in South Yarra. Nice 15-20 minute walk to Melbourne CBD, close to tram lines which makes it very convenient.

Room Tip: Forgot which room it was, but some with balconies are much more spacious than others (presumably Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swtmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback! We strive to give our guests an unrivalled and memorable experience, and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit at the Blackman!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Simply this place was great to stay at. A must if your looking for great value for your money. Staff were friendly, Service was efficient, Rooms were very spacey, Beds Comfortable, close to the city, quality pool, gym and spa great value all round.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hurricane04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back next time you’re in Melbourne!
Kimberly Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay here last week. The two rooms we got were both fantastic. Nice, clean, spacious, modern and relaxing that it felt like home. We slept comfortably well each night. It was quiet since it is outside the city and far enough from the busy roadways and yet very accessible via tram. Loved the views especially the golf course. We truly appreciate the fantastic service. I liked that we were able to book online without my credit card being charged until we checked out. Hey "The Blackman" we will be back man.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Severino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Severino,
What a great review! We genuinely appreciate your positive feedback, and have passed your encouraging comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Deluxe Studio Suite and found the facilities excellent. The room was large with very good cooking facilities enabling us to cook breakfast each day and have friends in for an evening drink. The art work around the hotel and in our room added to the pleasure of being here. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Ate one evening in the Italian restaurant and enjoyed the meal and service. The room was serviced daily and was spotlessly clean. Mini bar was very well priced. The Blackman is in a good position across the road from Albert Park, easy tram ride to the city or not expensive by taxi. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Mary,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Blackman, and for recommending our property! We strive to provide a unique and memorable experience, and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next time you’re in Melbourne!
Kimberly Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have just returned from staying at The Blackman, I cannot speak highly enough of the service I received. Upon check in I was informed that I had received a complimentary upgrade and free wifi. I cannot thank the hotel enough for this. The room was spacious and the bed one of the best I have ever slept in. I found the guest services menu on the tv be very helpful as it provided an itemised bill. Also the room service was prompt and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job at making the room up each day.

I found Mark to be very helfpul at the front desk and provided me advice as to what to do on one of the days I was there. There were also times throughout my stay that Mark had been of assitance and this was greatly appreciated.

I indulged in a massage at the day spa and I have to say that this was the best massage that I have ever had.

At the end of the stay I requested a late check out and requested how much it would be. As most hotels charge an extra fee. I was told that I could check out at 1pm and that it would be complimentary also.

I will be returning to this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Cassie,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for your mention of Mark! We’ve passed your encouraging comments on to him and the rest of the team. We love to hear such positive comments and we’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in town!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,773 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,485 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $129 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing