We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory hotel without much to recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here as a single business traveller for 2 nights. The room was rather odd in that it had a full kitchenette within it which made it feel a bit like a student bed sit.
The bathroom was very small but as another reviewer has pointed out the bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast shop beside the reception was OK but I wouldnt put it better than that.
I did emjoy the art they have dotted around the place including the rooms, but all in all its nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us.
There were both positive and negative feedback in your review, of which we appreciate hearing all comments.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Blackman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not in the centre of Melbourne so if you need to be in the CBD it might not be convenient. If you prefer to stay somewhere quiet, but close enough to Toorak than its a good option. The rooms are modern and stylish, very clean with nice touches including a kitchenette. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and modern.... Make sure to read the bottles of your toiletries for light entertainment. Overall I would recommend it, it's not of 5 star standard but it's got a nice Melbourne style to it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review you have written.
It sounds like you enjoyed yourself here at the Blackman.
The toilities are a new product that we are using - a little bit different! I am pleased you have made a comment on them. I will pass this on.
Hopefully we will see you again when next in Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Blackman for 8 days and enjoyed the experience very much. I choose a studio suite with a balcony and was give a corner room with a view of the water. The corner room proved to be much nicer than some of the photos I have seen of the interior suites. The staff was very friendly but I wouldn't say that they provided "5 star" service. The hotel itself is fun, everything is artistic and themed. I found it to be one of the cleanliest hotels I have ever visited. The location is good but not with in walking distance to very much, though, there is a trolley stop near by. I would stay at the Blackman again and I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1StephB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am pleased to read that you had a great time whilst staying here at the hotel.
I agree - the corner rooms have the most amazing view. They are my favourite rooms as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Blackman for one night which we booked through Hotel Club. We had a studio apartment with a balcony, partially overlooking the river. I must say I didn't expect it to be such a treat! The views were fantastic, service was friendly but proffessional and quick. I had the best sleep since months. Room and bathroom were clean and ready for us. I think the only complaint is that we had to pay 25 dollars for parking at sight. If I knew we would have been charged for it, I would have probably just parked down the road where I work....
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to family and friends and would love to stay here again.
Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slav108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
It is lovely to read that you had a wonderful stay here at the Blackman. Thank you for letting us know.
We look forward to seeing you again when you have your next night out in town!
Regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wanting a night out in my home town and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay than the Blackman. Great location for any activity from a morning stroll around Albert Park lake to whatever evening entertainment you want in St Kilda just a quick tram ride away. We asked for a room with a bath and the staff provided us with a great room on the 16th floor. We also asked for the late checkout (till 4pm) which was a wonderful way to stretch out that weekend a little bit longer and good value. Very comfy beds and quirky mini-bar. This is value for money for the luxury end of hotels in Melbourne. I have stayed at all 3 art series hotels and they are full of personality and style for those that just done want the bland hotel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hula-girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am glad we could accommdate you with a Late Checkout, to extend the night's stay for you.
Have you heard about Overstay You're Welcome -
Experience the world's latest checkout!!!!
Check it out, for next time!
We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stay at the Blackman hotel whenever I'm in Melbourne for business. It's well designed, located close to the city and has a good restaurant downstairs to have dinner if you need something quick, simple & good. Themed on the artist, the rooms have beautiful interiors with prints & books.

The nice kirks - a paint set for those who want to take out their creative frustrations at the end of a busy work day. Haven't made use of one yet, though it is tempting. I also am a big fan of their mini bar selection. Yes, I will have a giant freckle. The beds are amazing - even better than the Westin's 'Heavenly Beds'.

Where it let's itself down is the service (why do they never have enough people at the desk at key check-in & check-out times?) and lack of solid breakfast options.

Room Tip: Sign up for their loyalty program if you're a regular traveller. I haven't and my rooms ten...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay at the Blackman.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all the 'quirky bits" of the hotel. It is certainly a pleasant change.
I will pass on your comments to management in regards to the lack of staff over peak times. We do try and roster accordingly to demand.
Both restaurants are open daily for breakfast. Depot de pain, is very casual, offering a quick option for breakfast, however, Classico, offers a full breakfast menu, with a large variety of dishes.
I do hope that you will choose the Blackman again to stay, when you are next in Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Going to sleep and waking up to Charles Blackman art-what a treat! The very comfortable queen size bed faces the spacious balcony that has a view of the park and lake on the right side. Modern, vibrant room decor with kitchen facilities, sofa, table for 3, working desk. The bathroom was smaller than usual but it was clean, well-stocked and worked perfectly. It's a tram ride to the city but I don't mind going home to this beautiful hotel. I just wish they had a later free shuttle to the city and not just the one 8am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armagutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to hear it was a treat!!
Your comments are very positive, We love to hear this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,632 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,173 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $130 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing