We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Got this as a mystery room on Hotwire. The Blackman was classed as a hotel in Melbourne CBD so was a bit taken aback when I found out it was 3 km out of the centre. I normally stay in the CBD to avoid taking public transport , took 40 minutes to walk to town and 25 minutes to Prahran Market. Certainly got some exercise! The hotel itself was great, lovely room with a very comfy bed, the bathroom was a bit cosy though. Having a kitchenette was fantastic- the microwave was also a convection oven so could reheat the sausage roll from Fleur Depot the Pain downstairs and it was not soggy! Room service was great- basically food from the 2 onsite restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doz y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    545
    133
    37
    27
See reviews for
233
924
119
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in late September. Great room (Deluxe Suite Balcony) but no mirror except the shave cabinet and the kitchen splashback! Hunted high and low for a long mirror and eventually found one outside the room in the dimly lit passage way. Spent my whole time thinking about where they could put a full length mirror so you could get some idea of what you actually look like. Otherwise all was great except bad odour coming from stagnant water in base of dishwasher which was there the whole five days. Although the hotel is lovely with considerate staff, nice restaurant etc I personally would not stay here again unless a mirror was installed as it is too inconvenient to manage for this length of time without one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasharasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review from your recent stay with us at the Blackman. It does sound like you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. You mention that you would love to have a full length mirror in your room, of which we are currently in the process of reviewing. In the meantime, when you stay with us again, we would be more than happy to pop a full-length mirror in your room, please advise us of this at the time of booking, and we will source one for you.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the The Blackman for 3 nights, everything about this hotel is fabulous! In addition to great room size and decor, the French cafe downstairs ensured we had a decadent breakfast everyday. The chocolate chaud is the best thing since sliced bread.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
"Love, Love,Love", your review. Thankyou, it does sound like you had a great time whilst staying here at the hotel.
Yes, the french bakehouse does have some amazing little treats, (you have to be very careful when you work here)!
We look forward to seeing you again one day soon.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Other than the dishwasher having water in the bottom of it and food stains and an unsanitary room with a band aid on the fire alarm, the hotel was very nice.

With the service they did not tell me that there would be a $100 night deposit when I was checking in and I couldn't get access to these funds on the last day that I was in Melbourne.

The bed was comfy and I had an excellent time. I was a bit disappointed to having to go to Olsen hotel to use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeReid1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us at the Blackman.
I am very disappointed to hear about the Housekeeping issues, and the service issue that you had. These comments have been passed over to our Management team and will be discussed at length. The hotel does pride itself in offering a very high standard to service, and I do apologise that on this occasion it has slipped.
Please do come back and stay with us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, North Devon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night before moving on from Melbourne.
It was easy to find taking one of the trams that run along St Kilda Road from Fed Square.
The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.
The room was incredible! Very cool decor modern fixtures and furniture and it came with the most well stocked mini bar and nibbles ever!! (Even had a canvas and paints to use!). There is even a kitchenette with hobs, microwave, dishwasher all very modern and sympathetically hidden in the room
Very very comfortable bed and the room service breakfast in the morning was excellent, if a little pricey.
We ate at the hotel restaurant "Classico" in the evening which is well with a visit. Great friendly service and super food and wine.
If we were ever to return to Melbourne we'd stay here for sure.... It's a stunning place!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab3b4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
What an amazing review - Thankyou for taking the time to let us know.
We are all very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and will be back to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Blackman is a fantastic city hotel. The location is perfect - just on the fringe of the city on the way to St Kilda. The rooms are super - we got a double room (two queen size beds) with a kitchen so our breakfasts and a couple of dinners were covered.
The staff are friendly and the room and common areas were immaculately clean.
This hotel will suit anyone - great for families, singles, couples and business travellers.
This was our second stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review that you have written on tripadvisor about your stay with us at the Blackman. The staff will be extrememly pleased with your comments that will be passed on to them.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is the only Art Series Hotel I've patronized. If it is any sign of the overall excellence of the hotels, then I look forward to trying others out. The Blackman features the lovely artwork of artist Charles Blackman, from its gigantic frontispiece to small framed details and books in each room, in every corridor, even in the passageway leading from the elevators to the underground garage.

I've stayed in two different rooms over the last year. They are beautifully appointed, with meticulous color and fabric selections and very comfortable beds. The rooms I stayed in are spacious -- I felt like I was in a studio apartment. The service is excellent, from the front desk, to room service, to the incredibly genial and knowledgeable servers in Classico, their small lobby restaurant lounge, where I have spent heaps of dosh on great beers and delicious tapas-style Mediterranean dishes.

The Blackman is centrally located, a moment's walk to trams, restaurants, and shopping, and easy by car to get on major motorways in every direction.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this absolutely top notch review from your stay with us. This review was wonderful to read. Service, is what it is all about working in a hotel, and your very favourable comments will be passed on to all the staff.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,013 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing