We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a very good hotel with excellent service and the best bed I've ever slept in. Warm greeting on arrival, arrived in our room which stank of cigarettes. Staff member arrived and said the room had been ruled okay by someone but then reeled back herself and was so apologetic and embarrassed that she made us feel that we'd be happy once we got another room and that turned out to be so.
One negative - The internet set up is crazy - you can't operate two devices at once. Very annoying that Australian hotels charge for wi fi anyway, but the fact that you can't both be online at the same time is idiotic.
We live on the north side of Melbourne and stayed for five nights while our floors were being repolished, so we were able to explore parts of Melbourne we didn't know well - especially South Melbourne market and St Kilda beach/pier. Being artsie types we loved the easy walk to the NGV and the theatres and concert halls. Superb parks in easy walking distance, especially the wonderful Botanical Gardens. Lovely short tram ride into the city from there.
It is a pretty big hotel, so although they do everything (except the wi fi) well, and the service is very friendly, it is not a boutique experience if that is what you prefer. You usually get cabin fever after a few nights at the one hotel, but our suite was excellent, even including a little kitchen and we could have stayed a lot longer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Executive suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasselas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Blackman. It was fantastic to hear your comments "best bed I've ever slept in". We have been selling quite a few of these over the past months, they are available for purchase by contacting us directly.
I was sorry to hear about the unpleasant odour in your room, but I was glad to hear that we were able to rectify the situation quickly.
Be assured that your comments on the high level of service that you received are greatly appreciated and your feedback regarding the internet will be discussed at our next team meeting.
Thank you once again and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    464
    116
    32
    24
See reviews for
187
762
94
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights recently.

When I initially arrived at the hotel it seemed fantastic - new, clean, modern, friendly staff, and excellent variety of teas and coffee - however the longer I stayed there, the more I realised that things were not quite right...

The room was quite cramped and overfilled with furniture - including some hard plastic chairs.
Finding a plug socket for the hairdryer was a challenge (it was inside the bathroom cabinet)
The location of the bed and tv was completely wrong - the TV was to the side of the bed fixed high on the wall. Very awkward for 2 people to watch.
The shower cubicle had gaps under the door and there was no bath mat - so water got everywhere unless you were careful.
The curtains didn't close fully - in a very modern hotel I am used to curtains with rails that overlap
Even on the 14th floor the noise from the traffic and trams was loud - I would have expected better sound proofing in a newly built hotel.
We ordered room service one night and tried to put the tray outside - however this would have been right outside 3 rooms and was impractical (we were in a corner room and 3 doors faced into the same cramped space)

Perhaps some of the impracticalities were due to the corner room location, but that combined with the distance from CBD means that I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you needed to be in that location

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Everything you can read about how comfy the beds are, how gorgeous the bedrooms are, how friendly the staff is, well, it is all true.
Great hotel, efficient, polite and professional hotel management.
Absolutely worth a second visit. Thank you all at The Blackman for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

What a great stay! My mother and I spent 4 nights here last week for a mother daughter shopping week in Melbourne, upon checking in at the Blackman we were early but they accommodated us and got us in a room which was great! The room was perfect with 2 double beds and a bathroom in between for privacy, even had a television each! Nice little kitchenette with everything you need. Every time we had a request on how to get somewhere the staff were knowledgeable. The hotel itself is located a little out of the CBD but with trams going along the main road there are no troubles, it worked out well as you are close to St Kilda and the amazing shopping at Chapel street!

The one thing that would make this perfect would be a pool! But there is one in their other hotel which is available for use.

On the last day I had a little accident, the staff were very helpful brought up the first aid kit and made a big fuss over me! Thank you!

All in all would definitely recommend staying here and we will be returning.

Room Tip: If you are sharing with a family member or friend and want privacy request a deluxe studio with bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgs1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Excellent stay during a brief trip to Melbourne for a business conference.

The front desk staff were polite, helpful and provided an excellent level of service.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, well proportioned, immaculately clean, and well decorated with designer furniture. Of note was the excellent shower, and widescreen TV - both a must for any business stay.

Highly recommended to all business and leisure travellers.

(A great tapas bar, and further cafe exist downstairs for a quick getaway in the morning or slow beer when you get back at night!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommandandConquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Blackman is a lovely hotel and I would highly recommend. The hotel has a really cool vibe and the rooms are huge, we even had a dishwasher in our room. The bed is huge and the fixtures and furniture are really cool. The reception staff are also really helpful - they let us check in at 7am after arriving on an early flight from the UK and we were incredibly grateful.

A tram stop is just outside on the main road so although the hotel is a little outside of the city you have the benefit of paying a bit less and staying some where quieter without compromising getting into the city at night and other areas like St Kilda.

The only negative I could say about this hotel was we didn't have a bath and the bathroom was quite small but the shower was huge and I expect other rooms had a bath.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Carroll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed one night at Blackman and it was perfect. Beautiful studio and spotless. staff was very attentive and the view from the balcony was... Impressive! Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vanemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,400 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing