We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favourite in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New favourite in Melbourne”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I travel to Melbourne a lot for work and have constantly favoured a particular boutique hotel for many reasons, at the same time as missing some of the features one enjoys at a larger hotel. I've finally found an alternative that combines the charm of a local hotel with 24 hour room service, movies on demand and the most comfortable beds and dark rooms one could want. The downstairs bar/restaurant is really nice and not intimidating for a female travelling on her own, the alternative patisserie fine but not my sort of thing. Both had great coffee which is important to me. The location is brilliant - not stuck in the gridlock of the city but easy enough to get to, close to parks and to where I usually do my business. My only complaint is the same as I have in my previous favourite - no little bottles of spirits in the rooms. Maybe spirits aren't trendy these days but I still love a G&T and get disappointed when I can't make one (and don't want to call in room service). A very small thing of course. Overall though there's a good reason this hotel is doing so well. As a final point, I have stayed at the other two in the Art Series and I think this is the best of the three.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essdee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Blackman. I was very pleased to hear that The Blackman is your new favourite hotel in Melbourne. We feel like we have a great product here with our fantstic modern rooms, great views, great restaurants and our location.
I would also like to thank you for the feedback on the mini bar, this is something that we are constantly reviewing and your comments will definately taken into consideration.
It is wonderful that you have now tried all three Art Series Hotels and of course we always love to hear that ours is your favourite.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    534
    132
    37
    27
See reviews for
226
904
115
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

stayed for a girls wk end away, for 4 days. lovely hotel & great service. The first room we had was a 2x queen double bed room-was lovely & the beds are so comfy, kitchen faculties also dining table, very big room. Great big tele massive balcony. Unfortunately the room we had over looked 2 massive air cons on another building, I am from the bush so the noise annoyed me all night so I could not sleep but my friend is from the suburbia & she slept like a log. Next morning I made a complaint, we were moved to another room promptly with no hassles : ). Room had similar furnishings & a partition wall & bathroom witch separated each bed & we had our big teles & privacy from each other. I loved the second room, loved how we could eat at a table the kitchen is great. Room service was fast & food was nice, prices were great too. 15 min walk to city or quick tram ride. All in all this is great hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Be selective of room if you are noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dspunkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Blackman for your girls weekend away. Our twin rooms are a fantastic option for guests such as yourself who are having a girls weekend away. I was sorry to hear about the small issue with your first night, but I was glad to know that we were able to rectify the issue quickly. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman next time you visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed for four days with a friend in the Twin deluxe suite. The whole place was prestine, the staff friendly and the two eateries there were wonderful. This hotel was recommended by friends that have stayed there and they too had a great time.

The trams are just 50 yards from the front door and its only a few minutes away from the Melbourne and CBD. One feels like they're not caught up with busy city traffic and yet its only minutes away to most popular areas.

Before one wonders off to another resturant try the two resturants at the hotel first. Everything I had there to eat was good and the resutrant staff were great.

Just not too far down the road is Cafe Vue and Rosco's. Want a big scrumtpous feed visit Rosco's. Want French cuisine visit Cafe Vue.

Room Tip: Book on line or by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losilosivale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Than you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. At the Blackman we love hearing that our staff were friendly and helpful. I was also very happy to learn of your fantastic experiences in our two eateries, please be assured that your feedback will be passed on at our next team meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman next time you visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed at The Blackman for a whole week whilst away from work, and all i can say is that they got it so right with this hotel. Everything i could have hoped for it, had. Especially as a female traveller I found all the small things made the differance - the decor was just stunning. The location was perfect being so close to the tram line and made it so easy to get around. Food was amazing, if anything the breakfast menu may have be a little limited, but you also have the option to cook your own with a small kitchenette available for use.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly..can't count the number of people I have recommended this to since staying.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for such a lovely review. I was very pleased to learn of your fantastic week at the Blackman and your thoughts on the decor within the hotel, with our large variety of Charles Blackman prints.
We feel very privileged to have these fantastic pieces all around the Hotel.
I was also glad to hear that you made use of the kitchenette in your room, they are proving to be a great asset to our hotel.
We thank you once again for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and look forward to seeing you back here very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Impressive building easy to find, greeted by courteous reception staff
Hotel room very clean and large, with quality kitchenette and furnishings
Bed very comfortable but traffic noise from St Kilda Road kept us awake until late at night and made for a "cranky" mood the next day.
Demand a quiet room !!

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing st kilda road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toorust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Blackman.
It is fantastic to hear that you had a great experience with our staff and the hotel overall. However I was disappointed to learn of the noise issues, At the blackman we take these matters seriously and we will look at ways to solve this problem at our next team meeting.
Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

First stay at the Blackman. Wow from check in to check out. Friendly generous staff who only wish to please. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The pillows are the best I have seen any any hotel in the world. Resturants for breakfast was very good with a distinctly different approach to the usual boring business hotel breakfast.
The Blackman will now be my home away from home when i am in Melbourne. Well done.

Room Tip: No need, they give you the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clooney16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. This really means a lot to our whole team who have been working hard to make this hotel special stand out from the rest. We feel very proud to be your new "home away from home" and look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Kind Rgards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Fantastic 'Art Design' Hotel in St. Kilda Road. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly reception team at all times. Great rooms product, fantastic 'French Coffee Shop' next to to the reception.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulgence_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. I was very pleased to learn of the great stay you had at The Blackman. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,410 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing